WE Communications Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

WE Communications Reviews

Updated 18 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
61%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
WE Communications President and CEO Melissa Waggener Zorkin
Melissa Waggener Zorkin
203 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Solid place to start a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WE Communications full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I recently started working here at headquarters in Seattle and already love it. Benefits are great, work-life balance is valued, and the people here are highly motivated. Pay is decent as well, compared to other mid to large PR agencies. Employees exhibit a great deal of pride in the service they provide to their clients. Work is work, but WE has built a company culture that makes work more enjoyable and immersive.

    Cons

    The agency is understandably tech-dominant in the Seattle office; most of the employees at headquarters provide support on enterprise tech company accounts, limiting some options in trying out different sectors. HOWEVER, working on non-tech accounts is entirely possible, just requires some forethought and research to find out what you want to work on.

    Continue reading
    WE Communications2019-01-31
  2. Helpful (12)

    "Account Servicing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Singapore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at WE Communications full-time

    Pros

    Diverse opportunities for work due to breath of clients. Direct peers and seniors are mostly driven and great to work with.

    Cons

    Blatant favouritism, especially when it comes to promotions. Hardwork is not recognised. Instead, those "chummy" with senior management get the best dips despite clearly lacking in expertise and workplace professionalism. Senior management is haphazard in the way forward. Toxic, abusive, and lazy employees are kept despite them chasing away good, honest ones. Tremendous focus on meeting plan at the expense of burnt out and overworked employees. Superficial means towards employee welfare. Little to no worklife balance. HR biased in judgement, proven to not listen to all parties before making conclusions and not the right channel to speak about workplace issues (more concerned with superficial things like gym discounts etc. and not addressing real problems). Used to be a great place to work, but things changed.

    Continue reading
    WE Communications2019-01-11
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to start your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WE Communications full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent internship to hire program, really great work life balance, opportunity to work on big client accounts, good benefits, learning and development opportunities

    Cons

    Not very competitive salary, once you hit a certain level difficult to get promoted because agency has low turnover, leadership on certain larger accounts can get political

    WE Communications2018-11-14
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Associate Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at WE Communications full-time

    Pros

    Collaborative environment, flat hierarchy, flexibility

    Cons

    Efficiency can improve, can work on review systems

    WE Communications2018-10-24
  5. Helpful (3)

    "A Mixed Bag"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WE Communications full-time

    Pros

    With the right manager, and the right opportunity, you really have the chance to flourish. My experience was exclusively with leaders who empowered me to excel and take on more responsibility. Some great clients. Working on larger accounts brings opportunities for travel and collaboration with other regions. Lucrative salary for junior staff members. Largely speaking managers and directors want to do a good job for their clients.

    Cons

    - Heavily governed by WE US which means bad new business decisions are made - Younger members of staff are entitled - promotions are expected, vs earned - Hiring is close to impossible at all levels due to issues with HR - Salary becomes less lucrative the more senior you become, until you're below industry average when benchmarked against other agencies and in-house salaries - Gossipy, cliquey culture among many staff members which detracts from work

    WE Communications2018-10-31
  6. "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at WE Communications full-time

    Pros

    Great people, quality work, great benefits

    Cons

    Outside of Seattle (in Bellevue)

    WE Communications2018-09-20

    WE Communications Response

    September 24, 2018Chief Talent Officer

    Thanks for sharing your experience, please contact me if you have other ideas or questions. I always appreciate hearing from employees. Have a great week.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (13)

    "Agency that produces strong work, but doesn't value employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Executive in Bellevue, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WE Communications full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The agency does great work for its clients. The brands that are part of the client portfolio provides great opportunities to work on accounts that are household names.

    Cons

    Extremely inconsistent promotion tracks. Incredibly poor managers. Extremely long hours with pressure to meet high billable hour goals. Bonus program is used extremely sparingly and oftentimes was used to keep employees who were clearly unhappy. Tremendous loss of middle level (AE/SAE) staff due to those levels carrying huge burdens of the workload while higher levels took credit. Benefits are mediocre. The agency touts cool programs like Global Exchange, but those programs are extremely limited in nature. Salaries are not nearly high enough to compete.

    Continue reading
    WE Communications2018-08-22

    WE Communications Response

    September 4, 2018Director

    Thank you for sharing feedback about your experience at WE, we’re disappointed to read that you didn’t experience how much our agency values employees. As a professional services company, employees are the heartbeat of our company. The ideas, energy and hard work from each employee is valued and makes us the company we are today. We aim to support every employee on their career path by providing tools and resources for employees and managers to work together on achieving team and individuals’ business and career goals. We offer a variety of programs available to every employee and have several signature programs such as Global Pro bono and Global Exchange that are available to up to 10 percent of the workforce each year due to the investment. Good luck with your next career step and thank you for your contributions at WE.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Executive Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WE Communications full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing benefit program, work life balance is real, strong leadership and thought leaders, organic culture, independently owned female founded agency.

    Cons

    Lack of synergy between global offices.

    Continue reading
    WE Communications2018-08-12

    WE Communications Response

    September 4, 2018Director

    Thanks for sharing your experience and feedback. We’re pleased to hear that your positive experience mirrors our aspiration. Have a great day!

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (9)

    "Limited opportunities for non-core PR employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at WE Communications full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Get with the right manager and things are great

    Cons

    Get with the wrong manager and beware I'm in IT and we are not understood or valued because we aren't core PR staff You have to fill out a time sheet every week like you work at Burger King or something - this makes sense for "billable" PR staff but doesn't make any sense for a role like mine

    WE Communications2018-06-30

    WE Communications Response

    September 4, 2018Director

    Thanks for your feedback. We are committed to supporting every employee, regardless of team and career path. Please contact Human Resources to further assist you.

    Continue reading
  10. "Good place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WE Communications full-time

    Pros

    Learning, Perks, Bonus's, Office get togethers.

    Cons

    Sometimes employees try and play politics

    WE Communications2018-06-26

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 332 reviews