Vrbo Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Vrbo Reviews

Updated Nov 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Vrbo CEO John Kim
John Kim
187 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Austin are the ones that actually deliver value(in 21 reviews)

  • "Staff turn over for customer service was high(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Constant Growing Pains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support Representative in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vrbo full-time

    Pros

    The benefits are incredible. Insurance is good at an low cost, lots of wellness, tech, travel and metro discounts. Ample PTO. Good colleagues, fun and relaxed atmosphere.

    Cons

    Drastic policy changes are pretty constant and employees are often not given adequate training or resources to assist customers with adapting. Base pay is low for the cost of living in Austin unless you have years of previous experience. They present that options to switch shifts or departments are possible upon hiring, but they are dependent on performance targets that are hard to meet due to the aforementioned... changes and miscommunications to customers. The customers really hate the company and do not have a lot of trust in it. It makes it difficult to advocate for the changes. Training inconsistencies often results in a lot of time spent cleaning up other agents' messes (which again kills your numbers).

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Focus less on performance targets and look at the bigger picture. Delegate tasks more evenly between departments.

    Vrbo2019-11-17
  2. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant 

    I have been working at Vrbo full-time

    Pros

    great culture, access to many opportunities

    Cons

    i have none at this time

    Vrbo2019-10-30
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Empowering workplace where you can grow, enjoy awesome benefits and great work/life flexibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professional Services in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vrbo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Big investment in your development e.g. last week I attended Product Academy learning about design thinking in San Francisco, I'm a part of a coaching program, lots of investment in functional training - Awesome benefits including travel discounts, competitive salary, bonus, RSU's, health insurance for me and my family, dental insurance, health and wellness reimbursement and up to 20 weeks parental leave -... Open, transparent and empowering management - If you love to travel and want to travel with work - being a travel company you will have the opportunity to connect and be a part of global teams - I work from home once a week - great work/life balance - Lots of opportunities to be involved in projects

    Show More

    Cons

    - Old building e.g. bad plumbing, poor air-con BUT we are moving to new offices in less than 6 months

    Advice to Management

    I love coming to work everyday and appreciate the flexibility you give me to test and learn, grow and feel empowered at work.

    Vrbo2019-10-24
  4. "The best Expedia Group brand"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vrbo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Technical bar of architects, TPMs, managers and engineers is well above average - Latest tech (cloud native, micros service architecture in scala/cassandra/kafka, node and react) - The most helpful bunch of people I've worked with, everyone is nice and willing to help - Management is caring and gives us lots of freedom (too much freedom at times), tickets to conferences, opportunities to speak at events, travel.....

    Show More

    Cons

    - Office is in an old building, with old building problems (no air-con, water issues in kitchen and toilets). There will be a move to a new office in March/2020 and these problems are expected to be addressed

    Vrbo2019-10-06
  5. "Cool team, but work can get tidious"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vrbo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    *Working with great people. *Casual dress code

    Cons

    After about the six month mark the work can get a bit tedious.

    Vrbo2019-09-27
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Great team, but extremely underpaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vrbo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Excellent tech stack to work with (from React, Node to Scala, Akka and so on), CI/CD - Great team in London, everyone committed to doing high quality work to deliver value to customers - Caring management, encouraging and enabling the team to be vocal, collaborative - opportunity to work, travel across different cities in the world

    Cons

    - Austin gets paid, talks the talk, while teams outside of Austin are the ones that actually deliver value. - Because the company is predominantly in the USA, product and engineering teams there have no understanding of what local relevance means. All they know is the USA, all they have seen is how Americans use products, they do not comprehend what having a Global company means. - The team in London is extremely... underpaid, compared to the market

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees well.

    Vrbo2019-09-27
  7. "Didn’t meet any expectations states in training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vrbo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Wage was really good there

    Cons

    Management issues, opportunity issues among other things

    Advice to Management

    Be more approachable to your staff

    Vrbo2019-10-17
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Okay at First"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support Specialist in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vrbo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great People, awesome educational environment

    Cons

    Poor Pay for what the position calls for

    Vrbo2019-08-30
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Fear of getting fired is what HR do! Great company in the US, but in Madrid..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Costumer Service Representative in Madrid
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vrbo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great vibe from co-workers; Expedia Group Benefits; 25 days of vacation plus 3 compensatory days

    Cons

    VRBO Spain is managed by the UK, so all the benefits that Spanish companies have in Madrid, you can forget them at VRBO. Also I can see people aren’t motivated, all the departments complain about what is done to the teams, I see colleagues being fired constantly (some with reason, others without it, using metrics that are not real to fire you). Apart from my team, there is also a huge disappointment in the other... teams, from Partner Success to Finance to IT, so before joining VRBO, tray to see if you know somebody there that will tell you how managers and Human Resources treat the employees. Other cons of VRBO Spain are: - NO WORK FROM HOME: forget working from home (only IT can do remote work, the rest no), because that only applies to the US. When you see an American company without home office, sounds really strange but that’s what they have in the UK and Spain can’t have more than the main EMEA office; - NO FLEXIBLE WORKING HOURS: in Spain all companies do intensive work journey on Fridays and during summer time, finishing at 3pm. In VRBO that won’t happen because UK wants it like that (no respect for the cultural background of the country where VRBO office it’s based); - MANAGERS DON’T PROTECT WORKERS: HR is always getting people fired because that’s what they love to do. No protection of workers, managers are silent because they don’t want to get fired, and all you hear is “that’s what we have”, allowing stress to flow freely. Also you feel you don’t have a saying about your clients, because the management in Madrid only follows the orders of the UK, and if the UK thinks it’s black or white, that is valid, and not your point of view; - NO DOCTOR HOURS: if you need to go to the doctor you have to compensate those hours; - NO SICK HOME STAY: if you stay home because you have a cold or you feel sick, since there’s no work from home, they will take one day from your paycheck or you´ll have to spend a day of vacation in that (pretty amazing, right?); - EXTRA HOURS NOT PAID: you arrive earlier and leave after your hour, and you receive zero for the extra hours; - MICROMANAGEMENT: everything you do is controlled by your managers because in the UK they want to have full control of what you do – calls are nonstop, managers do PIP’s to employees all the time, they control the breaks to go to the bathroom, you must write down all the hours you spend doing something, you must, you must… Too much control because top management in UK want to control all movements of Madrid. In the US VRBO is way more flexible about these points, so if in Madrid they start to implement what they have in the US, people would feel happier and wouldn't leave. I hope in the US they will read this and start implementing changes in Madrid office, because you are losing your most precious asset - your workers!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Change the management in Europe because everybody is unhappy and want to leave the company. Tell the managers in Madrid to stay by the side of their subordinates, because people are unhappy with their incapacity of being managers and by their micromanagement style.

    Vrbo2019-09-25
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Test Engineer 

    I have been working at Vrbo full-time

    Pros

    Work flexibility and Benefits are good. Great work culture as well

    Cons

    Lot of Reorganisation causing the confusion in the roles

    Vrbo2019-09-04
Found 592 reviews
</>Embed