Vistatec Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Vistatec Reviews

Updated Nov 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
53%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Vistatec"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Vistatec full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible work environment, emphasis on employee engagement, good social side

    Cons

    Challenging clients, complex and dynamic industry

    Advice to Management

    maintain staff focus

    Vistatec2017-11-16
  2. "Fast-paced and lovely environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supply Chain Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Vistatec full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good promotion opportunities Nice working environment Training facilities

    Cons

    Lack of technology Lack of flexibility to change processes and tools

    Vistatec2019-11-11
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Close knit company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vistatec full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun young office people are nice and teams Localisation teams is mature and workload manageable (the other side seemed more stressful) Management we're very much part of the team

    Cons

    Systems were a antiquated (like billing) and the financial situation of the company was a concern There are peaks when it's real busy but I've not seen a localisation job that wasn't - it's got a similar workload to competitors

    Advice to Management

    Try to grow while maintaining the close knit atmosphere

    Vistatec2019-06-26
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good opportunity to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vistatec full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours Work from home Friendly environment

    Cons

    Micromanaging IT tools somehow outdated Too many processes

    Advice to Management

    Take more care of your employees

    Vistatec2019-06-08
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Genuine Former Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vistatec full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Vistatec was on the whole a good place for me to advance my career as project manager. I improved significantly my communication skills over email and on the phone with both vendors and clients, which has proven extremely valuable in my next roles. I also learned a good bit of Excel through the countless hours of spreadsheet project tracking (I heard this has changed a bit for the better now) and overall gained a... deep understanding of how the Localization industry works. I know some reviews mention issues with HR, but my experience with them was mostly positive. I do think they had a chance to take onboard feedback which they ultimately chose to ignore, but I did feel supported when I reached out for help most of the times.

    Show More

    Cons

    I never felt like I could put my background in Localization to much use while I was there. Having experience serves close to no purpose when you work with sales reps and clients who lack understanding of translation. In fact, it can work against you: as a project manager in Vistatec, I had little influence over the services sold, vendors used and delivery terms, so I would find myself at times coordinating projects... I felt would be far from a linguistic success, which was frustrating. The sad truth is that most colleagues I came across would acknowledge this situation as “it is what it is” or take comfort in arguing that the entire industry is the same. This culture of complacency and resistance to change is very unlikely to retain any young talent, so I would not be surprised if the company disappeared once senior management were close enough to retirement. It will become increasingly difficult for Vistatec to scale and survive without younger talent who know the latest about localization tools, machine learning or programming languages. To be clear, the minority I came across who who did embrace change have all left the company by now. The frustration Glassdoor reviews clearly display is fueled by the resistance they were met with time and time again when trying to improve things... not to mention the unpaid, excessive overtime on top of salaries who were at times quite low.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the dinosaur, not the creativity

    Vistatec2019-04-10
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Enter this company at your own risk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Vistatec full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Many young motivated global professionals pass through this company so it offers many opportunities for networking, sharing experiences and making friends from everywhere in the world.

    Cons

    No need to hold a PhD in content analysis to spot the impersonally fake positive reviews on this company. Vistatec is a terrible employer, the only thing they are good at is marketing themselves as being what they are not: cutting edge, transparent, and inclusive. The internally developed tools provided are out of date, unsuitable for the job and often just don't work. Vistatec is completely behind in terms of... systems and tools. Their business model as a whole is flawed and they don't add sufficient value to make big margins so their strategy is to pretty much always say yes to the client and then put pressure on everyone downstream to deliver. The culture at Vistatec is TOXIC. Anything goes for so long as jobs are delivered on time to the client: pressure to work overtime (unpaid), bullying, isolation of team members to prevent other members becoming aware of the bullying, etc. Not all line managers are bullies at Vistatec but those who are can do so with impunity. HR and middle management just look the other way and bullies are even been promoted. Working from home being listed as a benefit is an indication of just how poor the benefits offered are. Also, the approval process of requests to work from home is not very transparent and is impacted by how much HR likes/dislikes you. Needless to say that all the above as well as the low wages result in a rather high turnover. If you have any other options for employment, do yourself a favour and take a job at a company that sees value in its people rather than a company like Vistatec.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You should know better, but then at this point you obviously don't even care.

    Vistatec2019-04-26
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Extremely poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Language Quality Specialist in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Vistatec full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working from home privileges are useful (but HR only grant it if they like you) I made some good friends (who have all left now too)

    Cons

    Poor people management and completely unsupportive HR. If you get on their bad side they will make life hard for you. I've heard of several cases where staff reported bullying and no action was taken. Issues raised in exit interviews by staff leaving are not addressed. If you have a problem HR would rather you just quit. Salaries are very poor and generally not enough to pay rent and have a decent standard of... living in Dublin. Raises are hard to get, even if you take an additional roles and responsibilities. There is a defensive atmosphere where all departments are just trying to pin blame on each other and a huge resistance to change. This has resulted in loads of pointless and outdated processes that waste time and frustrate you. There is a lack of respect for staff: unpaid and unacknowledged overtime is standard and if you flag issues to management you are basically told to deal with them yourself.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees as human beings, stop being so defensive and vindictive

    Vistatec2018-10-28
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Genuine Current Employee Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Vistatec full-time

    Pros

    Reading some reviews on here encouraged me to write my own review. In my opinion Vistatec is a human company, treats employees well, provides good job security, well respected in the industry, always improving and most good people do very well here - either by carving out a career for themselves within or using the experience as a platform to opportunities outside of Vistatec

    Cons

    My experience is that there is much growth with some systems and processes needing to catch up, and this can be a slow process, making for a challenging environment that may not suit everyone. I have many years of experience in this industry so for me personally I enjoy problems and the opportunities that result from helping solve them but I have seen less experienced people and / or those with a negative... disposition struggle with the challenges. At times there is little room for creativity which can be frustrating, but that’s just the nature of this industry.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Look after your good people. Generally speaking I have no issues with management, some are better than others but that’s life. On a whole I think they get the important stuff right. Perhaps stating the obvious, but would suggest people take the extreme negativity written here with a pinch of salt. I would recommend anyone researching Vistatec to reach out to a real person for a more mature and balanced review.

    Vistatec2018-04-30
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Worst company ever , don't believe the fake reviews"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Vistatec full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some of the staff are pleasant. Weekends off Has running water available. Hot and cold taps. Doors and windows Electricity available Clocking off. Days off. Holidays. As far away from vistatec as possible.

    Cons

    They promise things then don't deliver. Expect too much pay too little . To many people coming and going . low pay across all the roles . Management are ignorant . Staff constantly complaining about the place . Filthy toilets . Unhygienic shower area . Management reep all the benefits . Company policy is unfair . Horrible office with crummy seats and out of date hardware . No progression. little... time off, open all over Christmas . Skimp on everything/cut corners mentality Cheep facilities . They don't allow you to take much holidays . Expect you to put work 1st and marry your job . Yes men only succeed . Rip you off with holiday days unless you keep track of them yourself . Top management are very wooden rude and ignorant. staff being bullied 24/7 365.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay market rates salaries , stop exploiting people that are new to this country. Offer realistic hours . Pay on the same date every month and not the last Friday of the month. Get rid of the upper management dinosaurs . Stop saying yes to clients when you can't keep up with the workload . Offer better pay and holidays. ”HR get current employees to write good reviews as its clearly a bad company... with a tarnished reputation .

    Show More
    Vistatec2018-04-06
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Only for starters"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Vistatec full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - flexi-time - that's really the only positive thing I can think of. Most employees just talk about how bad the place is on a daily basis.

    Cons

    - no career nor learning opportunities - progression is impossible; - low pay & little time off; - working from home is not really possible. HR tries to micro-manage everything employees do and is only flexible with some people; - outdated tools and unnecessarily complicated procedures; - middle and senior management does not trust employees and treats them like children, creating a stressful environment; -... managers are hardly qualified for the job they do. Most of them have no working experience outside of this company. They don't understand the industry and are not open to any type of changes; - no collaboration between departments; - really low morale: employees are continuously leaving the company, but nobody addresses the situation.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - stop writing fake reviews on Glassdoor; - get rid of your higher management, they may have been relevant 10 years ago. They don't know what they are doing!

    Vistatec2018-03-27
Found 35 reviews