Virgin Holidays Limited Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Virgin Holidays Limited Reviews

Updated 22 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
69%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Virgin Holidays Limited Managing Director Joe Thompson
Joe Thompson
36 Ratings
Pros
  • "Supportive management team, great development, great incentives, overseas trips, great staff travel benefits(in 11 reviews)

  • "free flights - great staff travel(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Constant restructures leave you rebuilding relationships with line managers and senior management every few months(in 12 reviews)

  • "There could be more opportunities for progression in retail for part time staff(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Love Virgin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Travel Advisor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Holidays Limited part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Perks of job The staff members The customers The product

    Cons

    The salary for the amount of work and hours we put in Certain staff members not pulling their weight The rewards aren't what they were 2 years ago so a lot of staff are currently looking to leave

    Advice to Management

    Adjust the rewards, people are looking to leave due to what they are earning now compared to before head of retail changed it for the worse..the standby flights aren't keeping people anymore as they are harder to use and also need money to actually use them

    Virgin Holidays Limited2020-01-22
  2. "FANTASTIC PLACE TO WORK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager in Crawley, West Sussex, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Holidays Limited full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Progression Development Sense of humour Teamwork Staff Travel Benefits Work Hard Play Hard Culture Rewarding Very Family Like Fun

    Cons

    My Commute to and from work!

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up! Love the current internal communication, Always kept in the loop and love seeing how involved senior managers are with the front line day to day staff

    Virgin Holidays Limited2020-01-21
  3. "Best Company EVER!!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Crawley, West Sussex, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Holidays Limited full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working here doesn't feel like work. The people are incredible. The managers are so understanding, whenever you need anything. The benefits are out of this world! I been to places and experienced things i could only dream of before i started working here. Best Company EVER

    Cons

    I honestly cannot think of any! I am so grateful for my job.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing. keep playing those tunes, great atmosphere!

    Virgin Holidays Limited2020-01-21
  4. "LOVE MY JOB! THIS PLACE IS THE BEST"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Crawley, West Sussex, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Holidays Limited part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    So much fun Lots of laughs Hard work that’s recognised Brilliant atmosphere Superb managers Lovely colleagues Staff travel benefits Incentives every month Nice office Comfortable surroundings Caring department

    Cons

    Some staff lol (lazy staff that JUST moan) Salary could be a tad better No uniform- would be nice to have a uniform Apart from that there honestly is no real cons

    Advice to Management

    Our Lovely managers, dedicated hard working, just please ensure you keep up the great atmosphere and keep those 90’s hits playing Our service managers are so supportive so much fun and genuinely care about us Thank you

    Virgin Holidays Limited2020-01-21
  5. "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Holiday Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Holidays Limited full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Management are increasing development opportunities Staff benefits are unbeaten A growing team atmosphere within the company Amazing support for career development Opportunity to increase salary each year and earn commissions to gain further monthly payments

    Cons

    Big focus on hitting targets A lot a restructure to pay Hard to get a goodwork life balance sometimes

    Advice to Management

    Focus slightly more on overall performance instead of just sales targets

    Virgin Holidays Limited2020-01-09
  6. "Not appreciated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer Security Analyst in Reading, England

    I have been working at Virgin Holidays Limited full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Enjoyable job, flights and other benefits

    Cons

    Cutting commission Late nights Not appreciated

    Virgin Holidays Limited2020-01-10
  7. "If you like being treated like an animal work work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Crawley, West Sussex, South East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Holidays Limited full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The staff travel is good.

    Cons

    It is currently a busy period and during this time managers believe it is acceptable (whilst sitting there doing nothing) to ring a bell at staff like some sort of animal inches away from them - for 8 hours a day. I was speaking to a member of the public who had just lost their partner and was having a bell rung less than a metre aware I asked the manager top stop who just laughed and continued to ring the bell which made the woman break down and cry as she thought we were mocking her down the phone. This is not an isolated incident. The managers in the service team believe they are above anyone and refuse to do the basic job of dealing with anything that involves moving away from the desks with a large bullying culture and around it.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Common sense needed - if you think the behaviour above is acceptable then the issue goes higher. Current consultants go home and cry because of the bullying culture and being made to feel worthless. How would you feel if you had a bell rung in your face as “motivation” whilst managers/experts are sitting there, refusing to help, laughing about, thinking they are above helping out and on line shopping?

    Virgin Holidays Limited2020-01-16
  8. "Virgin Holidays"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Holiday Advisor 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Holidays Limited part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    flight benefits, private medical insurance

    Cons

    pay, constant structure changes to management and commission

    Advice to Management

    stop trying to fix things that are not broken. changes to the retail commission structure were not needed everyone was happy on the old scheme now nobody is motivated with this scheme, the pay is bad enough as it is without taking more away from us

    Virgin Holidays Limited2019-12-08
  9. "Sales consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Holidays Limited full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are great, Virgin look after you well

    Cons

    Not being able to progress as quickly

    Virgin Holidays Limited2019-12-06
  10. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant in Crawley, West Sussex, South East England, England

    I worked at Virgin Holidays Limited full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Benefits, Fun Atmosphere, One big Family

    Cons

    Low basic Salary, unsocial working hours

    Virgin Holidays Limited2019-11-03
Found 124 reviews