Virgin America Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Virgin America Reviews

Updated 10 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
74%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Virgin America CEO C. David Cush
C. David Cush
195 Ratings
  1. "Flight Attendant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Virgin America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule, especially once holding a line. Flight benefits (domestic... international not as great as major airlines), nonroutine (I love it), new friends, chill culture, opportunity to make more money if you want!

    Cons

    Supervisors are awful and impossible to get a hold of, email, or get anything fixed. Pay could be better, but it will be changing soon with Alaska! Whoop!

    Advice to Management

    Please get supervisors who are willing to do their job, or replace them. It is very frustrating as an employee. Half the time we have no idea who to talk to because we are constantly ignored.

    Virgin America2018-01-07
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Flight Attendant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Flight Attendant in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Virgin America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You can choose your hours

    Cons

    Poor work conditions for workers - Work for little pay

    Advice to Management

    increase worker happiness and your customer service experience will improve

    Virgin America2018-01-04
  3. "I successfully completed the first step of the interview process but I am not employed currently"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for, great benefits, great people working for the company making it even better. I love working with people and this provides plenty of opportunity to meet many people from all walks of life.

    Cons

    I have not successfully completed the interview process so I am unsure of the cons of working for the company. I hope to be employed very soon. From what I’ve heard the schedule can be challenging for some if they are not used to it.

    Virgin America2017-12-19
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Low pay/No time to use travel benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers. VA seems to know how to find the best personalities.

    Cons

    Very low pay for employees. Very hard to find time to use travel benefits. Expensive health benefits.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your Customer Service Agents more!!! Make it easier to take time off to use the benefits.

    Virgin America2017-12-27
  5. "fun company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Virgin America full-time

    Pros

    does a great job at hiring good staff. great working relationships with other coworkers.

    Cons

    prior to getting union representation limited protections and sometimes uneven application of work rules and policies

    Virgin America2017-12-11
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Shame..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Virgin America full-time

    Pros

    Virgin America is such a great airline, really focused on doing the right thing for guests and employees. It's a shame that Alaska is going to dismantle the whole thing.

    Cons

    Acquisition by Alaska Airlines will ruin everything.

    Virgin America2017-12-04
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Virgin America full-time

    Pros

    Fun culture, got to build airline from scratch

    Cons

    Company sold to Alaskan Airlines

    Advice to Management

    Shouldn't have sold!

    Virgin America2017-11-29
  8. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Virgin America

    Pros

    Great Company filled with great employees

    Cons

    Never a boring day at work

    Virgin America2017-11-30
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great colleagues, poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin America full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Travel, flexibility, fun colleagues, beautiful planes, sexy vibe.

    Cons

    Poorly managed, lack of consistency with enforcing company policies, small route structure

    Advice to Management

    Please be more consistent and don't play favorites

    Virgin America2017-12-02
  10. "Awesome Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Virgin America part-time

    Pros

    The team, the flight benefits, and the flexibility.

    Cons

    If you require a stable, consistent schedule, this is not the role for you.

    Virgin America2017-11-10
Found 331 reviews