Version 1 Reviews

Updated 13 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
78%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Version 1 CEO Tom O'Connor
Tom O'Connor
70 Ratings
Pros
  • "The core values listed on the webpage are for real(in 54 reviews)

  • "They do live by them which makes for a really great place to work(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "Well, they keep promoting their core values but in the end they are just cheating and taking advantage of you in any opportunity(in 14 reviews)

  • "I've seen only small increases are given to people who go through all the hoops of the CPD promotion process(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent Company, Team and Values"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Version 1 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent culture. Opportunity for growth working across multiple domains and industrial sectors, alongside great colleagues with a wide variety of skills. The core values can be seen in action from the top down.

    Cons

    Salary can be below market rates, periods where there is not a continuous work stream can be tough.

    Continue reading
    Version 12020-05-13
  2. "Overall its great journey"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Java Developer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Version 1 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company is very good , it does sponser the work permit to many who are in need. Its doing very good job. It listens for employees , Good management.

    Cons

    In most of the projects - the KT sessions are missing. Need to explore everything yourself

    Continue reading
    Version 12020-04-26
  3. "The Best Job I've Ever had"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Version 1 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Competent Team Leads, lots of opportunity to grow and develop skills, helpful colleagues and overall a great atmosphere, have to commend senior management on their handling of Covid-19. Brilliant place to work! Company really live by the No Ego Core value, as everyone from the CEO down to the Cleaners are treated with the same respect.

    Cons

    There are no downsides to working at V1

    Continue reading
    Version 12020-04-01
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company, Horrendous Clients"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Version 1 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Ability to move to do different client sites

    Cons

    - Some of their clients are terrible to work for - Salaries are very low, and wage increase is a joke. - Career opportunities are very poor for entry level - Management is extremely poor

    Continue reading
    Version 12020-03-06

    Version 1 Response

    March 10, 2020Marketing

    We are sorry that you didn't have a great experience during your time here. Working at a high-performance organisation like Version 1 isn't for everyone. Change is constant in our business, and we ask our team members to be agile in their approach to work, as we serve customers in an industry that changes daily. We reject the notion that these customers are "terrible to work for" and suggest that, as you stated yourself, consultancy work simply wasn't the best career move for you. We would prefer that you just noted it wasn’t for you rather than writing a review containing mainly mistruths, however we wish you, as we do all leavers, the very best in your future career.

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Managers need Bias training, not a great place to work"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Version 1 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Central location (for those lucky enough to not be sent full time to client sites) - Quarterly meetings and year end parties were good opportunity to meet other people across functions and learn about the work the company does - Very good internal help desk and HR support - Great people to get to know at a personal level - Good opportunities for grads as they can get to work on multiple technologies in the projects (if they are not on bench) - A great pro for me was to start looking at a new job and land my dream job way sooner than I would have tried otherwise (looking at the cons below that acted as a trigger for me)

    Cons

    I thought a lot about whether to write this review or not but I think it would help the company or atleast potential new recruits. My review is more based on the particular team I was in, so may not be reflective of the whole company (though what comes to the team may have percolated from the top) but does share the frustrations of a lot of my team members. - While the hiring programme for grads is good and has opportunities to socialise with senior management, for the laterals this is just one day orientation (no buddy programme as well and no inclusion with the new hire social events in which the last two batches are usually invited). This leads to a feeling of less inclusion for a lateral hire. - Line managers cannot be made based merely based on their years of technical industry experience. There were multiple instances of bad management in the team which I could spot easily due to my previous years of experience at other firms. The frustration with their line managers lead to some people in my team leaving, while the same managers continued to be given new grads to mentor even after this was shared in exit interviews. - No upward or peer feedback culture. In one instance, I tried to explain to my manager on how a peer's poor performance was leading to me and others taking on more of his work bugs but the manager told me that I should live by the company's 'No Ego' value and not be worried about anyone else's performance. There is no culture of giving feedback to the manager (apart from exit interview) and I feel in such a scenario there is no opportunity for anyone to grow if they don't know what they are doing wrong. - While the Diversity and Inclusion program is rolled out for everyone, an hour's online training is not sufficient to remove biases and the company should consider a more robust in person training. Coming from a minority group in the company, I was told 'I would have been given the project that i wanted if I was born in the UK/Ireland even though you were the better candidate' by my line manager. This was due to the assumption that the project may have needed travel (having said that visa costs are very minimal, and the person who got the project never traveled to the UK even once). So resourcing for projects is not based on a candidate's calibre but rather on their ethnic status and I find this discriminatory (after reading about this since my resignation). I did mention this in my exit interview so I hope some learnings would have come out of it and more sensitization would have happened. - While hiring they say that performance review is done every quarter. What they fail to tell is that pay review happens only one and on an average after 4 cycles at a minimum. - No pay hike in the first year is a company policy that is again not quoted anywhere in the contract. After mentioning multiple times that I was hired at a lower level than what I think was the company scale, I was given a promotion in 9 months but HR policy dictated that I could not be given a hike in the first year. And so my team managers put in a proposal for another promotion after 3 months so that I could get a hike. I find this policy very strange. - 2 months notice period is a lot more than industry standard, during which you don't even get the survey for 'Great Place to work' which clearly illustrates how biased the survey becomes if an employee spending 1 year does not have a say just because they are in the notice period. - From the above point, Great Place to Work is a great gimmick to hire people while we internally know that not all companies in Ireland pay to be included in the survey results. - Based on my interactions with people in the company, minorities (ethnic groups, women, etc.) find it hard in Version 1 to get recognition, promotions or projects they want over the more privileged group. - Very hierarchical company where you are only supposed to have conversations with immediate line manager and the senior management is out of reach (apart from the CEO Tom who personally takes interest in talking to everyone). - As a consulting firm, the company tries to take any and every project that comes their way, and not see what would be best suited for the company's direction. - I found a lack of balance between company and people objectives lacking in this company. I get that this is a consulting firm and work would be based on targets but I have never seen such imbalance in my years of consulting experience. - Senior managers hoarding up projects so that they are productive is very much visible. No leveraging of projects to junior members even if they could do justice to them just so that the manager can hit their own billable targets. This is not the way for any company to grow. - Not enough is done to retain employees till its too late (I know Tom also has had conversation with people who were leaving but it was just too late) - Pay is at least 20-30% lower than market as per my research when leaving Version 1. Or I was paid a lot less here which may well be the case.

    Continue reading
    Version 12020-03-02

    Version 1 Response

    March 10, 2020Marketing

    There is a lot to unpack here. Firstly, we acknowledge the time and effort it took to compile this review, so we want to provide as much feedback as we can for you. Next, we want to acknowledge and apologise for the fact that you didn't have a great experience during your time here. We always strive to empower our people and provide them with the best experience possible. Naturally, this isn’t going to be the case 100% of the time, but it’s never easy to say goodbye to great people. We hope you can at the very least take some new learnings and experiences on to your next venture, where we wish you the best of luck. We are keen to outline some actions on the back of your review, and we are actively listening and using staff feedback like yours to improve our policies for all employees: - The Graduate programme is going through ongoing changes in structure and format at Board level, and discussions are continuing around how we can make this experience the best possible for our new hires. - Our new Performance Management training (implemented, most probably, after you left) aims to help our line managers and people managers make better decisions, build stronger relationships and communicate more effectively with those around them. We are basing this training in the Personality Profile Analysis (PPA) assessments from Thomas International that you partook in when starting with us, and so far the tool has significantly transformed how individuals and teams across Version 1 are interacting and performing with each other. - Our “Diversity and Inclusion” team is – as of Q2, 2020 – becoming a “Diversity, Inclusion and Belonging” team, and as part of these efforts in-person training is on the agenda; we agree that the online training isn’t sufficient to ensure everyone feels that their differences are embraced. - We have now opened a 360° feedback facility for quarterly reviews which will further foster our culture of honesty, transparency and feedback. We take your feedback seriously and will use it to continue to improve and grow, regardless of how hard it is to read. We appreciate your candour and wish you the best of luck in your future endeavours.

  6. "Business Applications Consultant"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Applications Consultant in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Version 1 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good promotion opportunities Good benefits Regular feedback from managers is great Nice company vibe

    Cons

    Salaries are below industry standard

    Continue reading
    Version 12020-02-06

    Version 1 Response

    February 6, 2020Marketing

    Thanks for leaving a review of your time so far at Version 1 - we really appreciate your feedback and 4 star rating. It's great to read that you're enjoying our staff benefits and promotional opportunities. Talent development is so important here and we really encourage our people to progress their career and learn new skills through our Pathways portal. We hear your feedback around salaries and appreciate your advice. On this, please note that we are introducing a renewed focus on Employee Experience in 2020 which will look at all touch points and moments that matter to you. Keep an eye out for more information on OneV1 soon.

  7. "Great company, gets so many things right, and actively tries to fix things that are not."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Consultant in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Version 1 full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Core Values are REALLY observed day to day. The culture they express exists in everything they do. Flexibility is accommodated wherever possible. Great people, committed to doing things right. Where things aren't working not afraid to change it and improve. Overall experience makes you feel like you are contributing to something special. Lots of growth potential, merit is valued highly. If you do well it will be recognised.

    Cons

    Salary can be below market rates. Understandably difficult to hit the sweet spot given the market they are in, but more work needed here. Onsite workers can feel disconnected from the company.

    Continue reading
    Version 12019-12-29

    Version 1 Response

    January 15, 2020Marketing

    Thanks for your thorough and honest review, and for your commitment to Version 1 over the past number of years. An employee who is with us so long that still rates us 5 stars is a fantastic testimonial; here's to many more happy years for you! We agree wholeheartedly that our values, flexibility and projects contribute to making everyone feel as though they are part of something special at Version 1. As such, we really do take your salary feedback on board. Please keep an ear out internally for updates from management related to similar feedback soon.

  8. "Good work culture"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Version 1 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work culture. Good work to life balance.

    Cons

    Not clear strategy. Reactive work approach.

    Continue reading
    Version 12019-12-02

    Version 1 Response

    December 4, 2019Marketing

    Thank you for leaving a review of your time so far at Version 1. We appreciate you commenting on our strong culture and work-life balance; we're proud of our great place to work and like to reward our hard-working employees whenever we can. It's worth noting that change is constant in our business as we serve customers in an industry that changes daily, but our Board does oversee our strategy and growth plans throughout the year. Thanks again for taking the time to leave a review.

  9. Helpful (2)

    "Not a Great Place to Work"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Version 1 full-time

    Pros

    Profit Share Scheme Pension Scheme (to match 5%) Health Insurance

    Cons

    You are seen as monetary value, not as a person You will be sent to client sites without any notice or input for rolling contract positions You don't feel like you work for Version 1, you work for the client you're sent to Advertises a flexible work life-balance but it is the complete opposite with rigid structure Dublin Offices located centrally off Jarvis St makes commuting to the office a real pain with no employee parking available Avoid the Cork Office at all costs - some good people but horrendous management The treatment of Business Analysis staff is shocking, and they all quit the company one after the other. Haemorrhages staff in general, including "big" names/positions. Head of X, Head of Y etc. Overly concered with te image of the company which is a stark contradiction of the experiences of staff working

    Continue reading
    Version 12019-11-15

    Version 1 Response

    November 18, 2019Marketing

    We are sorry that you didn't have a great experience during your time here. Working at a high performance organisation like Version 1 isn't for everyone. Change is constant in our business, and we ask our team members to be agile in their approach to work, as we serve customers in an industry that changes daily. We know that without our dedicated staff we would not have achieved the success we have over the last 20+ years; our people are the core of Version 1, not a "monetary value" as suggested. Further, we endeavour to continually improve the employee experience here, with work-life balance being a major element of this. These efforts have seen us rewarded with Great Place to Work accolades for 8 years in a row, an achievement we are very proud of. We reject the notion that we are "haemorrhaging" senior staff; this is plainly untrue and the tenure of our management team averages 11+ years here, evidencing their continued commitment to seeing success for our customers, our organisation and our people. We accept and respect that some people just won’t get our culture, values and focus on performance. We ask the same in return and would prefer that you just noted it wasn’t for you rather than writing a review containing mainly mistruths. Regardless of your review, we wish you, as we do all leavers, the very best in your future career.

  10. "Good place for graduates to grow and gain experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Version 1 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great support staff, good culture, friendly people , insightful technology training sessions, promotion of self development through paid certifications and bonuses, innovation and new opportunities, health insurance coverage, quarterly profit share bonus

    Cons

    Salary growth structure could have been better

    Continue reading
    Version 12019-10-29

    Version 1 Response

    November 18, 2019Marketing

    Thank you for taking the time to review your experience of working at Version 1. We are delighted to read the positives listed in your review and have noted your advice for Management too; salary is an area we are aiming to add more transparency around in 2020. Wishing you continued happiness in your role.

Found 186 reviews