Version 1 Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Version 1 Reviews

Updated 15 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
75%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Version 1 CEO Tom O'Connor
Tom O'Connor
61 Ratings
Pros
  • "Core values are genuinely displayed and lived through all levels of the company(in 50 reviews)

  • "Great People’ do join Version 1 and the people make Version 1 into the GREAT PLACE TO WORK that it is(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "HR too hung up about external perception, forgetting internal core values(in 13 reviews)

  • "I've seen only small increases are given to people who go through all the hoops of the CPD promotion process(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Honestly a great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Version 1 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * management are supportive * culture is strong. executuves will raised company values in meetings to ensure they apply to decision making. * Great review and bonus system. * interesting work * Working with cutting edge technology on high spec hardware.

    Cons

    * Doesn't have salary review mechanism which is seeing lots of otherwise satisfied staff leaving for better wages. * Requirements for high quarterly grades can vary wildly from manager to manager.

    Continue reading
    Version 12019-08-15

    Version 1 Response

    September 2, 2019Marketing

    Thanks so much for taking the time to share a review and for your kind words. We're delighted your manager is supportive and that you enjoy the variety of work we have ongoing internally. No two days are the same here! We take your comments on board regarding salary - we are always looking for ways to improve our employee's experience here at Version 1, so your feedback is appreciated.

    Continue reading
  2. "Not a Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Version 1 full-time

    Pros

    Profit Share Scheme Pension Scheme (to match 5%) Health Insurance

    Cons

    You are seen as monetary value, not as a person You will be sent to client sites without any notice or input for rolling contract positions You don't feel like you work for Version 1, you work for the client you're sent to Advertises a flexible work life-balance but it is the complete opposite with rigid structure Dublin Offices located centrally off Jarvis St makes commuting to the office a real pain with no employee parking available Avoid the Cork Office at all costs - some good people but horrendous management The treatment of Business Analysis staff is shocking, and they all quit the company one after the other. Haemorrhages staff in general, including "big" names/positions. Head of X, Head of Y etc. Overly concered with te image of the company which is a stark contradiction of the experiences of staff working

    Continue reading
    Version 12019-11-15
  3. "Good place for graduates to grow and gain experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Version 1 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great support staff, good culture, friendly people , insightful technology training sessions, promotion of self development through paid certifications and bonuses, innovation and new opportunities, health insurance coverage, quarterly profit share bonus

    Cons

    Salary growth structure could have been better

    Continue reading
    Version 12019-10-29
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good people and location, but poor salary pulling talent away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Consultant in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Version 1 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Profit share scheme Good location Core values screened early so most employees are great to work with Supports self-development e.g. obtaining certs

    Cons

    Poor salary compared to market On-site employees disconnected from the company

    Continue reading
    Version 12019-10-21

    Version 1 Response

    October 29, 2019Marketing

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review about your time at Version 1. We're sorry to hear that you wouldn't recommend working here despite the positives listed in your review. We do take on board your comments regarding salaries - as we grow Compensation and Benefits are becoming a renewed focus for us so we really appreciate the honest feedback. Please rest assured that this is a live topic of discussion within the Management team and is not being ignored. Thanks again for leaving a review of Version 1.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "BI team sucks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Consultant in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Version 1 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They hire anyone without thinking

    Cons

    They boast of their pathetic core values, but even the CEO doesn't follow them.

    Continue reading
    Version 12019-11-12
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good company with good people but doesn't pay the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in Dublin, Dublin
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Version 1 full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There are lots of good people and a very good culture. There is a big choice of projects and areas to work in. Management have acted quickly on feedback to address many areas that needed improving

    Cons

    Salaries in Version 1 are less than what other competitors pay. I've seen only small increases are given to people who go through all the hoops of the CPD promotion process. This is the main reason most of my former colleagues have left.

    Version 12019-09-10

    Version 1 Response

    October 7, 2019Marketing

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review of your time at Version 1 and thank you for the 5+ years you have put in with us so far. Here's to many more! It's great to hear that you're enjoying our varied internal culture and range of client projects - no two days are the same here. We do take on board your comments regarding salaries - as we grow Compensation and Benefits are becoming a renewed focus for us so we really appreciate the honest feedback and the 4 star rating. Thanks again for leaving a review of Version 1.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Service Desk Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Version 1 full-time

    Pros

    Good for gaining experience due to working with a lot of different technologies. Great for grads but not for professionals.

    Cons

    Low salary, poor management. Hectic work environment due to teams having at least 1 person who does nothing but is good with management so they are kept around. This one is a bit weird but the company has great culture and values on the paper but most people do not care about it so it is hardly noticable in the company.

    Version 12019-09-18

    Version 1 Response

    October 7, 2019Marketing

    We're sorry that your experience of working with us has not lived up to expectations and that you would not recommend working at Version 1. Whilst we agree that moving from a Graduate role into a new position can be daunting and the workload can be busy, we do have numerous resources to assist you should you find that you are struggling with this transition, including 1-2-1 meetings with your manager, quarterly performance feedback sessions, our dedicated Graduate Programme Manager Bridget, HR and much more. Would you be willing to reach out to your line manager/HR to discuss your thoughts? Regarding culture, we do not agree with your sentiment that our people do not care about it - we are consistently given Great Place to Work awards based on the anonymous feedback of our staff base, who remark often that they are happy and fulfilled with our diverse and inclusive internal culture. We do hope you will consider allowing us an opportunity to improve your experience - please consider reaching out as suggested. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your time working at Version 1.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Version 1 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good culture, people are good.

    Cons

    Sometimes no project allotment, whitespace a lot.

    Version 12019-08-27

    Version 1 Response

    September 5, 2019Marketing

    We really appreciate you leaving this nice review - thanks for taking the time to do so. We totally agree that our culture and people make Version 1 a great place to work every day. We hope Version 1 continues to meet and exceed your expectations as an employer of choice.

    Continue reading
  9. "good place for techies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Applications Consultant in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Version 1 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Positive work environment, approachable management, good benefits

    Cons

    Salaries are not competitive; over-reliance on 'great place to work' is wearing thin. Progression path for non-technical roles is non-existent

    Continue reading
    Version 12019-08-29

    Version 1 Response

    September 5, 2019Marketing

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your experience working at Version 1! We are delighted to hear that you enjoy our friendly workplace and that you would recommend us as an employer. We are continually focused on creating a great place to work for our employees; we don't measure this solely in monetary terms, but we have noted your salary feedback. Thanks again for your contribution!

    Continue reading
  10. "Graduate role in a Consultancy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Version 1 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people working there and they are always willing to assist you in any way they can. Senior Management are easily approachable Constantly striving to improve the employee experience

    Cons

    Salary is based of a leveling system which often allows good people to slip through its cracks. Your role is unlikely to be what exactly what was advertised.

    Continue reading
    Version 12019-08-29

    Version 1 Response

    September 5, 2019Marketing

    We are sorry that your time in Version 1 is not living up to expectations, and it's disappointing to hear that you would not recommend us despite the positives mentioned in your review. We would really appreciate a chance to change your view and improve your experience, though. Would you be willing to reach out to your line manager/HR in confidence to discuss your salary and issues with your current role? We don't want you to be unhappy, and we really do value the hard work and dedication from every staff member. Hoping your experience with us improves in the near future.

    Continue reading
Found 175 reviews