Vaughan Systems Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Vaughan Systems Reviews

Updated Nov 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
45%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
  • "In theory) One of the highest paying language companies in Spain(in 7 reviews)

  • "The academy had a nice feel since it was not like the big offices in Madrid(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "They "trick" potential employees coming to Madrid with very clever lies and deceit on-line(in 11 reviews)

  • "Big divide between teachers and back-office staff(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "English Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Vaughan Systems full-time

    Pros

    You are given great resources to use. Great team environment. Great opportunity to advance through company. Salary better than a lot of other English Language Schools

    Cons

    Pressure to constantly obtain high customer evaluation marks weekly. Strict about using Vaughan Method. Training is very intense but very relevant.

    Vaughan Systems2017-05-26
  2. "A good place to start, but that's about it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Profesor in Madrid
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Vaughan Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - good training and good support from most teacher training staff - a good environment mostly build your confidence as a teacher

    Cons

    - a company stuck in its old ways and reluctant to change - no career progression/qualifications/additional skills - indifferent to staff turnover - outdated top-down management style

    Advice to Management

    value your staff more and give them a reason to stick around. Otherwise you'll continue to lose them to your competition.

    Vaughan Systems2019-11-20
  3. "A good foot in the door but no long-term prospects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher in Madrid

    I worked at Vaughan Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Can work there without any previous teaching experience or qualifications -Help you get a NIE -Can take holidays within the academic year -Can make good friends with other teachers -Adult students are good fun -Small classes -Easy to plan for once you know the system -Not too much admin -Can work other programs outside of office like 50/50 residential -Teacher training is generally supportive -If you... teach the masters course you're paid slightly more and are paid for homework correction

    Show More

    Cons

    -Timetable is usually afternoons/late nights and working 6 days a week -No increase in salary regardless of how long you work there -Hourly pay so salary fluctuates depending if the salesteam sell enough classes -No prospects for professional development -As the teaching style is a method , your work experience may not help you in the ESL world -Method is repetitive -You are given a ranking score depending on... your evaluations. They try to keep things competitive among teachers. Sometimes feels like a popularity contest. -Big divide between teachers and back-office staff -Some unprofessional teachers who were hired merely because they're native -You are unpaid for writing evaluations for masters course -The trainers are inexperienced with young learners so they don't train staff to teach kids. Many teachers are put with them when they first arrive but they have no idea what to do. -HR seems a little incompetent

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -Listen to feedback from teachers. HR conducted a survey once but we were never informed of any changes. -Try to be more approachable -Offer more incentives so you can keep your best teachers

    Vaughan Systems2019-10-06
  4. "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - English Native Speaker Teacher in Valencia, Valencian Community
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Vaughan Systems part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent management friendly people great

    Cons

    None I can think of now

    Vaughan Systems2019-08-21
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great starting place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Master Teacher in Madrid
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Vaughan Systems full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Better salaries than most other academies in Madrid, nice office environment and the ability to work more hours if you want.

    Cons

    Very few people have fixed hours which means your salary can vary month to month depending on the hours you are given. Not much personal development on offer and once you know their material you don’t really continuously improve as a teacher as there aren’t that many different courses on offer.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure sales sell the courses

    Vaughan Systems2019-07-07
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Vaughan Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The other teachers are ok

    Cons

    Honestly stay away only consider it if it's your only option. You're just a number for them. Plus the method doesn't really work. Join if you're into cults

    Advice to Management

    Burn it to the ground

    Vaughan Systems2019-08-06
  7. "Great opportunities with Vaughan"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Radio Personality in Madrid
    Recommends

    I have been working at Vaughan Systems part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Opportunities to try a variety of roles Opportunities to teach and grow beyond the classroom.

    Cons

    Limited geographical mobility options available

    Vaughan Systems2019-06-21
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Used to be focused on Quality, after buyout, focused on money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Madrid
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Vaughan Systems full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for when Richard Vaughan was at the helm. His vision and expertise drove the company forward with efficiency and ease.

    Cons

    After it was bought out by a VC, the company took a rapid downturn. Many mediocre senior managers were hired, bad decisions were made, and lots of ego , little care for product / service quality.

    Vaughan Systems2019-05-02
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Worst mistake I ever made..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - English Teacher in Madrid
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Vaughan Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They will help you to get your NIE which is the official residency paperwork in Spain. This is literally the only pro.

    Cons

    Well, if you've read the other reviews, you'll know some of these already. Vaughan is, quite simply, a bit of a scam. You train for two weeks in Madrid without pay, and the training is intense. It doesn't make you a better teacher so you can't use this training anywhere else in your career, it makes you a follower of the so-called Vaughan System, which has been debunked as ludicrously inefficient by various... educational studies. I saw this for myself in my second week of real teaching when I realised my advanced level students could perfectly parrot a sentence drill, but couldn't speak freely. After you pass the training, they finally tell you whether you will be a contract teacher or a freelance and in both cases you do not get paid for your prep time, and prep time is EXTENSIVE. Please don't believe what they say in interview when they tell you there is minimum preparation - it's just not true. Teachers are exhausted by the gruelling schedules and hours of unpaid prep, but most of them don't have TEFL certificates or teaching experience so they're stuck here until they qualify for a real teaching job. Most jobs are freelance, and most of the time you're travelling up to four hours a day depending on the size of your city. If management likes you, they'll treat you well, but you can't question them. God forbid you question anything, and never ever question the 'messiah' Richard Vaughan, or you'll be fired immediately. Most of the staff (80%) are miserable. The 20% who are not, are management. Teachers are treated abysmally and are indispensable. If you put one foot wrong, the management will literally obliterate you. I've seen this happen publically to a colleague and I was appalled. As soon as I finish my TEFL, I am leaving, I have been told that teaching is not supposed to be like this, that overally its an enjoyable job and can be fun, so I don't want to put anyone off being a teacher - just please please don't make the mistake that me and the rest of my training group did and join Vaughan. All but one member of my training group say they regret joining. It really is a terrible company to work for and you're probably good enough to get a higher salary and better working conditions elsewhere, after you get your CELTA or TEFL. Hold out my friends. Don't come here....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You think you're so much better than the teachers and your communication with teachers is shockingly bad. But you're just people, like we are. Show some kindness, show some damn humility once in a while. Earn your respect, don't demand it without demonstrating that you deserve it, and then you just might see your abysmal turnover rate improve. You are the reason teachers are leaving. Nothing else.

    Vaughan Systems2019-04-20
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good standards and pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Freelance Teacher in Valencia, Valencian Community
    Recommends

    I have been working at Vaughan Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to work lots of hours and earn potentially a lot of money. High level of independence and varied client base allowing for an opportunity to be exposed to many different industries as an external teacher.

    Cons

    No summer work. No real career progression. Very repetitive.

    Vaughan Systems2019-02-21
Found 49 reviews