Vaughan Systems Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Vaughan Systems Reviews

Updated Oct 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 48 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
  • "(in 8 reviews)

  • "(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Los profesores acaban agotados por los horarios agobiantes y por las horas de formaci(in 13 reviews)

  • "(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "English Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Vaughan Systems full-time

    Pros

    You are given great resources to use. Great team environment. Great opportunity to advance through company. Salary better than a lot of other English Language Schools

    Cons

    Pressure to constantly obtain high customer evaluation marks weekly. Strict about using Vaughan Method. Training is very intense but very relevant.

    Vaughan Systems2017-05-26
  2. "A good foot in the door but no long-term prospects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher in Madrid

    I worked at Vaughan Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Can work there without any previous teaching experience or qualifications -Help you get a NIE -Can take holidays within the academic year -Can make good friends with other teachers -Adult students are good fun -Small classes -Easy to plan for once you know the system -Not too much admin -Can work other programs outside of office like 50/50 residential -Teacher training is generally supportive -If you... teach the masters course you're paid slightly more and are paid for homework correction

    Show More

    Cons

    -Timetable is usually afternoons/late nights and working 6 days a week -No increase in salary regardless of how long you work there -Hourly pay so salary fluctuates depending if the salesteam sell enough classes -No prospects for professional development -As the teaching style is a method , your work experience may not help you in the ESL world -Method is repetitive -You are given a ranking score depending on... your evaluations. They try to keep things competitive among teachers. Sometimes feels like a popularity contest. -Big divide between teachers and back-office staff -Some unprofessional teachers who were hired merely because they're native -You are unpaid for writing evaluations for masters course -The trainers are inexperienced with young learners so they don't train staff to teach kids. Many teachers are put with them when they first arrive but they have no idea what to do. -HR seems a little incompetent

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -Listen to feedback from teachers. HR conducted a survey once but we were never informed of any changes. -Try to be more approachable -Offer more incentives so you can keep your best teachers

    Vaughan Systems2019-10-06
  3. "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - English Native Speaker Teacher in Valencia, Valencian Community
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Vaughan Systems part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent management friendly people great

    Cons

    None I can think of now

    Vaughan Systems2019-08-21
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great starting place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Master Teacher in Madrid
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Vaughan Systems full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Better salaries than most other academies in Madrid, nice office environment and the ability to work more hours if you want.

    Cons

    Very few people have fixed hours which means your salary can vary month to month depending on the hours you are given. Not much personal development on offer and once you know their material you don’t really continuously improve as a teacher as there aren’t that many different courses on offer.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure sales sell the courses

    Vaughan Systems2019-07-07
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Vaughan Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The other teachers are ok

    Cons

    Honestly stay away only consider it if it's your only option. You're just a number for them. Plus the method doesn't really work. Join if you're into cults

    Advice to Management

    Burn it to the ground

    Vaughan Systems2019-08-06
  6. "Good for a short time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - EFL Teacher in Madrid
    Recommends

    I worked at Vaughan Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay. You learn a new method. You gain confidence as a teacher.

    Cons

    It's a bit like a cult. Management aren't always well organised.

    Vaughan Systems2019-01-18
  7. Helpful (4)

    "DON'T"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - English Teacher in Barcelona
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Vaughan Systems part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    (In theory) One of the highest paying language companies in Spain

    Cons

    You are literally a number to them. There's no oppotunity to move up. You can be there 4 months or 4 years - it's all the same to them. Zero support when you get started - they throw you in the deep end and expect you to swim. You don't know English grammar? - well they're not going to explain it to you, so you better figure it out yourself. There are no grievance procedures (HR never responds) Pay is 15 euros... an hour (after tax it's actually about 12). They will not explain pay slips to you (dodgy) Poor communication between management and teachers AVOID THE BARCELONA BRANCH (the worst of all)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    My advice to management is to be a bit more human, remember we're all people with our own lives and issues, we are not English Teacher Robots.

    Vaughan Systems2019-01-28
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Better treatement of trainees needed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Vaughan Systems part-time

    Pros

    Intense and well organised training period.

    Cons

    Unreasonable amount of work needed to pass, little help given for mitigating circumstances

    Vaughan Systems2019-01-09
  9. "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Vaughan Systems

    Pros

    Good pay, nice place to start

    Cons

    anonymous work, very strict methodology

    Vaughan Systems2017-08-21
  10. Helpful (1)

    "English Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - English Teacher 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Vaughan Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility, no need for teaching qualification, dynamic atmosphere, challenging students but in small groups (max 6). The method is good and allows teachers to be creative.

    Cons

    No clear vision other than the method, undermining review and feedback system (in my opinion, little room for feedback from us to management and about students given the demanding role and use of teacher "rankings"). Difficult point of contact between teachers and back office. For being so demanding, benefits are almost inexistent.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your teachers better (i.e. don't focus on feedback triggered by negative reviews only). Invest in your employees regardless of how long they plan to stay and you will see better retention rates and overall success both at Vaughan and in their subsequent roles. Work on your culture, your vision and your values. They were not evident to many. I'm critical here even though I have recommended you to friends. I... think it's a good company and the method is good, but perhaps it requires some internal reorganization and a period of reflection.

    Show More
    Vaughan Systems2016-11-26
Found 48 reviews