Vanquis Bank Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Vanquis Bank Reviews

Updated 3 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
57%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Vanquis Bank CEO Neil Chandler
Neil Chandler
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "some of the little things like free fruit, free lunch once a month are in place and are nice touches(in 14 reviews)

  • "Free fruit - when it arrives on time(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Miserable work place, rubbish progression, lousy team leaders(in 10 reviews)

  • "The diversity of the data is huge at Vanquis but it's the quality that we need to work on(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excited for 2020"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vanquis Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I’ve seen lots of change during my time at Vanquis but I don’t think there’s ever been a more exciting time to work here than now. This year, they’ve invested in defining our purpose, a 5-year plan and brand position into something that makes me feel proud to work here. It’s a real focus on getting the best outcomes for customers and there’s great passion around it. It’s being communicated very well, which makes... you feel part of a team with a purpose. For me it’s a good size business where you make genuine impact in your area – I imagine you wouldn't get the same feeling in bigger companies.

    Show More

    Cons

    Technology can sometimes be challenging. Hoping there will be more investment in this next year.

    Advice to Management

    There's been some good leaders appointed recently who are clearly very passionate about our customers and the 5-year plan, and are great communicators which makes a huge difference. It's good to see but it's still a bit inconsistent throughout the wider leadership team. It would be great to see more leaders on the same page, putting more time into communication and inspiring colleagues.

    Vanquis Bank2019-12-03
  2. "Good job but management is lacking experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Difficulties Specialist in Chatham, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Vanquis Bank part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of team events, opportunities to learn

    Cons

    Expect too much, do not care about staff health and wellbeing although this is promoted externally it is all for show

    Advice to Management

    Stop overlooking the experienced team members

    Vanquis Bank2019-11-30
  3. "Great at first bitter in the end"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - New Business Account Executive in Chatham, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Vanquis Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Paid training for 2 weeks , free water + hot drinks , free lunch voucher once a month, plenty of nearby canteens and food choices, weekly feedback and mentoring for new employees.

    Cons

    felt like a work slave- working around the clock for minimal pay like school again- must clock out to go to the toilet or get a drink and you have an allowance of how long you can have a toilet break outside of your two breaks Rude customers-You will get a few rude customers , however you have to be VERY careful how you respond because the manager will 9/10 side the customer (fair play) mangers are somewhat nice... - but beware that they will probably talk about something they are annoyed about whilst you are not there infant of other colleuges (as I found out was done about me) honestly I thought the mangers were nice , but at some point just a tad bit unprofessional. Shifts- ridiculous shift schedule , changes every single week on a rota for one month , so you can't even have a hobby outside of work at the same time every week

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Make sure managers are trained to keep things confidential and not discuss things infant of other colleges. Do better for breaks , the job is stressful at times and breaks can seem a bit too short The weekly rota system is a bit inconvenient for those of us who want a life outside of work

    Vanquis Bank2019-11-28
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Treated like machine not a person"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - New Business in Bradford, Yorkshire and the Humber, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vanquis Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good team spirit most of the time

    Cons

    Treated like machine not a person

    Vanquis Bank2019-11-19
  5. "Used to be a great place to work now the atmosphere is toxic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chatham, England
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vanquis Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Holiday Location Can’t think of anymore

    Cons

    Salary Bonus Parking Training All the above have been reduced or no longer exist

    Advice to Management

    Look back at why you were successful and stop dumping on the people that got you there

    Vanquis Bank2019-11-16
  6. "do not waste your time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Loans Collections Solutions in Chatham, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Vanquis Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Parking, if you are on an early shift.

    Cons

    If you are friend of Team Leaders you get promotion opportunities, responsibilities and easy tasks if not all your efforts will not be recognised.

    Advice to Management

    Treat people fairly.

    Vanquis Bank2019-11-06
  7. "Never again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service 

    I worked at Vanquis Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay was good, lovely building

    Cons

    Very clicky and people weren't very nice

    Vanquis Bank2019-11-21
  8. "Mixed bag"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Vanquis Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good colleagues and working conditions

    Cons

    Poor people development and career progression, lacking vision

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your people

    Vanquis Bank2019-10-27
  9. "Great starting point, no progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Team Leader in Chatham, England
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vanquis Bank full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good salary for the contact centre staff. Perks such as free fruit

    Cons

    Senior management seem to have no clue Favouritism - if you aren’t cherry picked for a role you aren’t going anywhere

    Advice to Management

    You have some great talent, use it!

    Vanquis Bank2019-10-26
  10. "Good career progression, poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Security Specialist in Chatham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vanquis Bank full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Free fruit Colleagues Benefits Opportunity for career development Flexible working

    Cons

    Poor management Pressuring environment Stressful Salary low-mid scale

    Vanquis Bank2019-09-16
Found 121 reviews