VMware "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

VMware Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated 7 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
86%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
VMware CEO Pat Gelsinger
Pat Gelsinger
2,606 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "TSE Suppervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time

    Pros

    Good work-life balance in some areas The work environment is a good employee It's a pleasure to work among people who are absolute industry experts

    Cons

    I don't have any cons to highlight

    VMware2019-11-05
  2. "Senior Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager for A Team of 30 Reps in Cork
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VMware full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Strong team. Good working environment. Plenty of opportunities to learn and grow a career.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons to highlight.

    VMware2019-09-05
  3. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Cork
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Good working environment - Good salary and benefits - Good experience with my manager and director - People seem to stay here a long time which says a lot. - Promotion opportunities on my team are good.

    Cons

    - More chance to work remotely. At the moment it's a now and then, would be great to see that we could work from home once a week - as this would have such a huge impact of quality of life, as I'd get to spend 2 hours extra with my child that day, but not having to commute. I know on other teams people are fully remote - so it's a team by team decision.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up

    VMware2019-07-26
  4. "great atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at VMware full-time

    Pros

    salary and a great working environment

    Cons

    can't think of any cons

    VMware2018-05-10
  5. "Business Development Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cork
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time

    Pros

    Salary, Work environment, Competitions, Benefits

    Cons

    Long sales cycle with multiple touch points

    VMware2018-04-05
  6. "Sales person in a Specialist Role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Cork
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, comfortable and flexible work environment, growing company, exciting and rewarding place to work.

    Cons

    Fast pace of change can be unsettling, system and process challenges can result in admin overhead

    Advice to Management

    Better balance the need for operational excellence with the flexibility required to enable sales people to do their jobs.

    VMware2017-10-04
  7. "Inside Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time

    Pros

    - Work Environment - People - Vision - Salary

    Cons

    As a sales, not a lot of leverage according pricing

    VMware2017-07-20
  8. "VMware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work environment and potential to progress in the company

    Cons

    Too much work can be dropped onto you which leaves you burnt out

    VMware2017-08-01
  9. "Technical Support Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VMware

    Pros

    Lovely work environment. Great talented people. Easy, competency based interview. Easy to settle in. Great for people really into coding and those who don't like much customer face to face dealings

    Cons

    Training is badly organised. Poor staff turnover. Lack of opportunities to progress from internship role. Very much thrown into the deep end.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up alliances with universities and possibly review H.R strategies to match personalities to roles as opposed to how they answer a technical question off guard on the day.

    VMware2016-11-08
  10. "Payer view"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great work opportunities. Flexible working hours . Lovely working environment . Autonomy is given to us to make the relevant decisions in our roles

    Cons

    Continuous change of Executive staff at present seemingly instability within the company. You must be prepared to work hard with very little downtime

    VMware2016-04-17
Found 248 reviews