UserTesting Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

UserTesting Reviews

Updated 10 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
82%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
UserTesting CEO Andy MacMillan (no image)
Andy MacMillan
17 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work from home or where ever you are(in 16 reviews)

  • "Great product in a hot market, benefits (catered lunches, massages, yoga), career growth, great cultures(in 16 reviews)

Cons
  • "It seems like it's becoming more 'sales ' and no one cares about the professional service group anymore(in 7 reviews)

  • "Morale is dropping and upper management keeps letting people go so now people are leaving on their own as well(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "One of the best experiences I have ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Sales Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UserTesting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company is really taking off. The level of excitement and success I have seen over the last year has been amazing. Outstanding culture, really impressive management and an overwhelmingly positive environment.

    Cons

    Company is growing very quickly and that can lead to some disruption in certain departments, but management is responding effectively and overall, significant growth is a really good thing

    Advice to Management

    Please keep looking at areas to help grow our overall offering and strengthen our footprint in this market

    UserTesting2019-12-10
  2. "Great casual gig until recently - website issues now making it a waste of time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Tester 

    I have been working at UserTesting part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun! It's really great to review sites knowing that you can influence how they'll work for other people. Pay! It's really only casual money, $10 US per test, but most of them are less than 20 minutes, so the per hour pay is good.

    Cons

    The website seems to be working poorly these days. I've changed browsers and tried everything I can on my end, but I am accepted for tests and then immediately rejected. It's becoming a waste of my time to keep the window open. It's a shame since I've really enjoyed doing the tests and I have a 5-star rating along with positive comments from the people reviewing my responses.

    Advice to Management

    Value tester time more highly. Train your users on how to set up screening questions. Ask the most important screening question first, and then filter us out immediately if we're not qualified. I won't be offended! Consider putting the first (and most important) question on the Dashboard page. Then testers can screen ourselves out of tests that we're not qualified for without having to waste time clicking through a set of questions.

    Show More
    UserTesting2019-12-10
  3. "Best company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at UserTesting full-time

    Pros

    Good work culture..with best employment policy

    Cons

    I dont find any cons

    UserTesting2019-10-03
  4. "Great company to start your sales career in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive 

    I have been working at UserTesting full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and company culture

    Cons

    Constant turn over for a company this late in the game

    UserTesting2019-10-01
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Great Culture w/ Great Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Strategy in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UserTesting full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Kindness is a core cultural tenant that isn't just a slogan. For a startup the perks are pretty awesome 401k, lunches, fully stocked kitchen. The product is has a fantastic market fit and the company is significantly doubling down on R&D. Leadership is super accessible and the CEO is incredibly honest and transparent.

    Cons

    Sure, it's a startup so there are growth pains...but considering where the company is the infrastructure investment is much more significant then I have seen at some public companies!

    Advice to Management

    Keep it going, onward and upward!

    UserTesting2019-09-20
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Human Resources CAN'T be trusted - UNETHICAL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Facilitator in Mountain View, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at UserTesting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun perks, nice people, easy going environment

    Cons

    SOMEHOW what I told HR during my exit interview got back to me via another employee who was told by ANOTHER employee.

    Advice to Management

    HIRE A HUMAN RESOURCES TEAM THAT IS ETHICAL AND TAKES THEIR JOB SERIOUSLY

    UserTesting2019-10-11
  7. "Good to make some money on my spare time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tester in Ciudad de México
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UserTesting part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Easy money, you do not spend a lot of time on each test, unless you take a 60 min live interview but which pays 60usd per hour which is totally worth it. Help center is really friendly and always understand any problem, they actually care about you and guide you in any matter.

    Cons

    What you'll get paid each month will be really random according to how many tests you take.

    UserTesting2019-09-04
  8. Helpful (16)

    "Potential could be good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tester 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UserTesting part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible, $10 per test and the scenarios instructions are very clear and easy to understand.

    Cons

    * It’s hard to get a website to review, seems like the screening questions can go on and on to boot you out of being able to do it. * Sometimes it seems like you get the same ones because the screening questions are exactly the same.

    Advice to Management

    It would be easier to have the qualifications listed on each assignments, it’s very time consuming to keep answering question after question just to say I’m not qualified. There should be a system that can match up assignments with our qualifications.

    UserTesting2019-04-23
  9. Helpful (15)

    "Dreadful and tiring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at UserTesting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Colleagues are great and we always try to lift eachother up

    Cons

    Morale is dropping and upper management keeps letting people go so now people are leaving on their own as well. I don't see a future here anymore and I don't know where the company is going. It seems like it's becoming more 'sales ' and no one cares about the professional service group anymore. Everyone just keeps working hard for nothing so its dreadful and tiring to go to work now. Some people on the PM team doesnt even know what they are doing anymore, morale is at an all time low.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Have a plan when you lay someone off and be transparent about it and guide the team if you're a leader. Don't just have us figure it out ourselves, although its challenging to do that but some guidance would be nice.

    UserTesting2019-04-11
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Stellar place, getting better every day!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Sales Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UserTesting full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's awesome to be with the leader in the UX space, and growing to Product, Marketing, etc., and to have 98% of your customers genuinely appreciating what you're doing for their business. New management is awesome, and the team keeps getting stronger and stronger. Great product continues to improve.

    Cons

    With great growth, comes change. If you can't handle change, that's a con.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work. :)

    UserTesting2019-03-05
Found 131 reviews