Urban Outfitters "minimum wage" Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Urban Outfitters Employee Reviews about "minimum wage"

Updated Nov 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
62%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Urban Outfitters Chairman, President, and CEO Richard A. Hayne
Richard A. Hayne
787 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours, sometimes working outside of office hours(in 138 reviews)

  • "Was only making slightly above minimum wage(in 75 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "minimum wage"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great People, Limited Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -The people are amazing! I loved all of my coworkers

    Cons

    -They judge your cash register expertise by how many emails you can get from people - Minimum wage with little incentive to move up

    Urban Outfitters2019-11-11
  2. "Good discount, bad pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Delray Beach, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    40% discount was nice, co workers were cool

    Cons

    Was only making slightly above minimum wage

    Urban Outfitters2019-09-04
  3. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Walnut Creek, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible scheduling, great supportive coworkers

    Cons

    Minimum wage pay, no benefits provided, little room for raises

    Urban Outfitters2019-07-24
  4. "Good flexibility and benefits but low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time

    Pros

    - Good flexibility - Opportunity for over time - Great staff discount

    Cons

    - Retail hours (early and late shifts) - Minimum wage

    Urban Outfitters2019-07-10
  5. Helpful (1)

    "The worst job ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in The Woodlands, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Discounts on merchandise and sale on sales. There is literally nothing else.

    Cons

    The entire time I worked at Urban, I felt like I had gone back to high school. People gossiped all the time and it was a very toxic and negative work environment. The managers did nothing to stop this, and even participated in some of the gossip as well. The employees were nice, but one wrong move and you would never live it down. The store is composed of cliques and is extremely childish. My time at urban was short..., but I will never forget how awful it felt to feel that people were always talking behind your back when you were just trying to do your job and get paid. Asking for time off is difficult, as you have to do it three weeks in advance and forget about emergencies. If you don't have your shift covered, its a write up, which is ridiculous and you are getting paid a little above minimum wage. Treat your employees like people and remember that life happens and one less employee for a day will be okay, especially since this store loves to schedule too many employees for one shift and constantly has to send them home. There was even a group chat where managers would make sly remarks about employees. This is unprofessional and not okay. This is one of the worst workplaces I have ever had the chance to experience. DO NOT WORK HERE- save yourself the trouble of having to deal with people who can't seem to wrap their head around not talking behind people's backs and creating a professional workplace.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you are a manager, do not participate in store gossip and make your employees feel that they cannot trust you. It is your responsibility to make your employees feel safe and secure, and if you can't do that- it is not the job for you.

    Urban Outfitters2019-05-27
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Worst experience in fashion retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Urban Outfitters part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Only the discounts ( but do they really matter when your income is less the minum wage?) Staff is friendly!

    Cons

    1) Unprofessional Admin 2) Unprofessional Training and Induction 3) Pay is less than minimum wage in UK 4) No benefits 5) No direct contact with manager

    Advice to Management

    I hope they will listen but they will probably to busy to look edgy or hipster. I've been working for this company so 1 month so far and I am going to quit soon. I advice you to hire competent people so your stockroom don't look like a 15 years room teenager girl in the middle of mental breakdown. Second your admin team DO NOT CARE AT ALL. They don't answer emails, they have many issues in regarding paying your... ( missing shift on the system). You also do not have an instant number to contact your Manager and you only way to communicate is your email ( but you do not answer emails) The training is not provided is literally survival mood, The Induction is useless. The way they present your contracts is absurd ( Printed wrong, I had to ask to correct the amount of hours printed on the contract because it didn't mach the offer they gave me) You have a lot to improve !!

    Show More
    Urban Outfitters2018-12-26
  7. Helpful (3)

    "GASLIGHT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Westport, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time

    Pros

    -Absolutely none. I met one good person and they were an associate.

    Cons

    My interview started off with a racist question, first red flag but I was broke so I smiled and ignored it. - Management is predominantly White and racist but even the one manager of color was a token. He bent his back for White approval (and got it) at the expense of women of color. - Same token manager is very gaslight-y. He would make you feel like you were losing your mind if you spoke up about being... mistreated in the workplace environment. -They give in to the capitalist ideology that "if you have time to lean, you have time to clean". This is a minimum wage job but you're expecting to have above minimum effort and you gaslight your employees by telling them if they go above and beyond, they will get the hours you promised during the hiring interview. - Scheduling was ridiculous: Work weeks begin on Sundays but the schedule would not be posted until Saturday evening. Inconsistent hours. - Management would profile Black customers and accuse them of theft. - Management also talks poorly about each other and throws everyone under the bus to try and get promotions. I feel so bad for y'all, doing this for a few extra bucks but you still struggling. -What is up with y'all letting nonBlack employees say the N word??? Get it together!!! Y'all are going to jail!!! PERIOD! -Misgendering employees is not cute, seen it happen a lot. -Making dark skin jokes also isn't cute and I found it ironic that a joke making fun of a dark skin Black man was next to the diversity and inclusion poster in the Break Room. I got photos to prove it. -I'm sure there's more

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -Hire a third party anti racism, sexism, ableism training program. Y'all need it. And don't say that you've done so much for Black Lives Matter as a White gay man. -Stop being shady and speak your mind to each other's faces. Not only is it better communication, but it's entertaining.

    Urban Outfitters2018-10-22
  8. "Traditional Retail Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Urban Outfitters part-time

    Pros

    There's a great discount on clothing.

    Cons

    Minimum wage paying job. Long hours.

    Urban Outfitters2018-07-30
  9. "Good working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Northampton, MA
    Recommends

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly co-workers, discounts, good manager, nice customers

    Cons

    minimum wage, busy working environment

    Urban Outfitters2018-07-29
  10. "Great Part Time Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Urban Outfitters part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - My department managers and store managers are very cooperative when it comes to scheduling which is important as a college student - They are also understanding and flexible to most situations - Fun, relaxed environment to work with - Great employee discount

    Cons

    - for a minimum wage job, it does require a lot of customer interaction

    Urban Outfitters2018-05-21
Found 75 reviews