Urban Outfitters Sales Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Find jobs for Sales Assistant

Urban Outfitters Sales Assistant Reviews

Updated 28 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
16%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Urban Outfitters CEO Richard A. Hayne
Richard A. Hayne
7 Ratings
  1. "Excelent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The staff is Really friendly

    Cons

    There are no downsides about working at urban, not an busy environment.

    Urban Outfitters2017-10-19
  2. "Generous discount, bad basic wage."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Urban Outfitters full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Generous 40% clothing discount, cool in store events, trendy workplace, up to date in store music.

    Cons

    I was working full time for a year and only went up from 8.88 to 9 euro. Disgraceful wage for full time employees. Employees in different branch but same constituency paid 9.50, for doing same job. Extremely unfair. Low staff morale.

    Advice to Management

    Strongly advise reviewing basic full time wage.

    Urban Outfitters2013-09-14
  3. "Dead job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Shoreditch, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    the 40% staff discount was sweet

    Cons

    Horrible store mangers to work with

    Advice to Management

    stop acting like you're in some high position, be humble!

    Urban Outfitters2019-11-28
  4. "No more than part-time student work if you want to keep your sanity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Urban Outfitters part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Discount The people you meet

    Cons

    Management You’re a number rather than a person

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees with more respect

    Urban Outfitters2019-08-19
  5. "Abusive senior management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good discount, good shift times

    Cons

    Abusive and bullying team members, insane managers. Almost took the view that new recruits should be “hazed”

    Urban Outfitters2019-06-18
  6. "UO - Sales Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time

    Pros

    Lovely atmosphere and supportive staff

    Cons

    no downsides at at all

    Urban Outfitters2019-05-07
  7. "Part time christmas sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Christmas Sales Assistant in Marble Arch, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Urban Outfitters for less than a year

    Pros

    40% off all URBN brands. Fellow sales associates were lovely, managed to get along pretty well and shared a communal dislike for management. The demographics of people who shop at Urban Outfitters are also very trendy and definitely a crowd I really liked. Being in Marble Arch was good too as there was always something to do since it got very busy

    Cons

    There are so many cons I don't even know where to begin. The pay is so incredibly low for the amount of work you're expected to do. I've got friends at other retail stores and they earn a significantly higher pay than me. The store is massive, for starters, so closing the shop especially during peak seasons is a complete nightmare. Trying to find where the clothes are is an insane game of hide-and-seek that you'll... never win. Expect to be confused as to whether you were hired as a sales associate or a security guard. You'll be instructed to greet customers when they enter the store, and when you're in the middle of doing that another manager would come up to you and reprimand you for not focusing on loss prevention. Training was barely given on my first day, I was basically just given a tour of the entire store in about half an hour. Saving the worst for last, the management was probably the biggest uncoordinated mess I've ever had the misfortune of witnessing. It was the sole factor that made working there such an unpleasant few months. A couple of managers are lovely, but most are extremely entitled and rude. They will not talk to you at all. Looking at previous reviews about the Marble Arch branch, I can confirm that literally nothing has changed. Management remains incompetent.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat staff with respect for the amount of money we're being paid. Listen to them, be kinder to them and realise that the store won't even be able to operate if it weren't for them turning up for their minimum wage shifts

    Urban Outfitters2019-04-09
  8. "Sales advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Urban Outfitters

    Pros

    Discount on some clothing items

    Cons

    Is not a good place to work

    Urban Outfitters2018-12-21
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Worst experience in fashion retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Urban Outfitters part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Only the discounts ( but do they really matter when your income is less the minum wage?) Staff is friendly!

    Cons

    1) Unprofessional Admin 2) Unprofessional Training and Induction 3) Pay is less than minimum wage in UK 4) No benefits 5) No direct contact with manager

    Advice to Management

    I hope they will listen but they will probably to busy to look edgy or hipster. I've been working for this company so 1 month so far and I am going to quit soon. I advice you to hire competent people so your stockroom don't look like a 15 years room teenager girl in the middle of mental breakdown. Second your admin team DO NOT CARE AT ALL. They don't answer emails, they have many issues in regarding paying your... ( missing shift on the system). You also do not have an instant number to contact your Manager and you only way to communicate is your email ( but you do not answer emails) The training is not provided is literally survival mood, The Induction is useless. The way they present your contracts is absurd ( Printed wrong, I had to ask to correct the amount of hours printed on the contract because it didn't mach the offer they gave me) You have a lot to improve !!

    Show More
    Urban Outfitters2018-12-26
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in London, England

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Family friendly policies, adequate pay

    Cons

    Can work long hours without breaks

    Urban Outfitters2018-04-04
Found 24 reviews