Urban Outfitters Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Urban Outfitters Reviews

Updated Dec 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
62%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Urban Outfitters Chairman, President, and CEO Richard A. Hayne
Richard A. Hayne
765 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Corporate office - women’s team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Urban Outfitters full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice office / campus, lots of employee perks and you can bring your dog. Good benefits and employee discounts with other local vendors. No official summer fridays though generally a lot of people work from home on fridays all year, and depending on your manager you can usually leave early.

    Cons

    You will have to move to Philly to work here. Open office concept can be noisy / annoying at times but not a huge deal

    Advice to Management

    Kate Phelps’ buying team has a very high turnover because she is extremely difficult to work for and with. She is rude to her employees and not good at communicating in general - from her expectations to how something should be done, etc. Sadly this will continue as long as she oversees most of women’s. I was lucky to not work under her but witnessed the problems first hand.

    Urban Outfitters2019-11-11
  2. "Ugh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not many, that's for sure. I could say the discount, but who wants to contribute to fast fashion anymore? If anything, I liked that there was no uniform and free will for presenting yourself and appearance in a unique environment. Very non-discriminative.

    Cons

    Poor management/leaders, no sense of team building, poor scheduling, annoying music, favoritism, unprofessional vibe, draining atmosphere, and overall highly disorganized. Training is nonexistent, the pay is little to nothing, payed to stand and look nice while folding t-shirts. 4 week call off period. VERY quick turnover.

    Advice to Management

    do better and treat employees with respect and the way they should be treated.

    Urban Outfitters2019-11-30
  3. "Good place to work while you are young"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design Coordinator in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Urban Outfitters full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Discount -Life long friends -Company treats their employees with free snacks, parties, and good morale boosting activities

    Cons

    -late hours -no HR to bubble up to -can be an unprofessional environment

    Urban Outfitters2019-11-27
  4. "Great place for retail!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Kingston, ON

    I have been working at Urban Outfitters part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great manager and team. Fun employee contests, events, and nights.

    Cons

    Sometimes understaffed, but otherwise not bad.

    Urban Outfitters2019-11-12
  5. "Great People, Limited Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -The people are amazing! I loved all of my coworkers

    Cons

    -They judge your cash register expertise by how many emails you can get from people - Minimum wage with little incentive to move up

    Urban Outfitters2019-11-11
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Good for your resume, bad for your life."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee - Home Office in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Urban Outfitters full-time

    Pros

    Great for your resume. The campus is in a pretty great location along a river in a lovely park-like setting ...which you will most likely be too busy to enjoy. Great health benefits, lots of perks like employee discount, sample sales, a free gym ...that you'll be too busy to ever use. Very relaxed dress code. You can bring your dog to work. Some friendly co-workers.

    Cons

    No HR department, long work hours, no time for a personal life, terribly low pay increase when you do actually receive a promotion, constant shifts in management, high turn around of employees. High stress: You cannot really manage your time because the calendar is always changing so just when you think you're on top of everything all your meetings get shifted around and you cannot easily prioritize your workload.... You can easily get burnt out in such a fast paced, speed-to-market driven environment and ever-increasing workload.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Slow down, respect your employee's time, and be consistent with your deadlines and calendar.

    Urban Outfitters2019-11-20
  7. "Good people, cute clothes, good vibes, cool clients"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Urban Outfitters full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Co workers You can dress however you want Open-minded people Fast paced but not in a bad way Good energy Humane boss Discounts

    Cons

    Not enough hours sometimes The store would be mess at the end of the week Rude customers

    Advice to Management

    None, y'all are bomb.

    Urban Outfitters2019-11-11
  8. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 

    I have been working at Urban Outfitters part-time

    Pros

    Great job, fun environment, I enjoy it there

    Cons

    None none none none none

    Urban Outfitters2019-11-11
  9. "nice to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project in New Delhi
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Urban Outfitters full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    culture good nice work and people

    Cons

    costly expensive but good development

    Urban Outfitters2019-11-23
  10. "Straight Forward Sales Associate Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Urban Outfitters part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours Decent part time pay Discount

    Cons

    Retail Customer Service Training

    Urban Outfitters2019-11-05
Found 2601 reviews