Urban Outfitters Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Urban Outfitters Reviews

Updated 16 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
62%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Urban Outfitters CEO Richard A. Hayne
Richard A. Hayne
758 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours, sometimes working outside of office hours(in 135 reviews)

  • "Was only making slightly above minimum wage(in 75 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with and a really friendly environment. Management was always very nice.

    Cons

    Monthly pay for college students is very hard.

    Advice to Management

    More frequent pay for sales teams

    Urban Outfitters2019-03-12
  2. "Sales Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time

    Pros

    Fun to work for, great discount on clothes, perfect part-time job for college.

    Cons

    Sometimes tough to get good feedback about your work. The staff teams tend to get quite clicky.

    Urban Outfitters2019-07-22
  3. "Department manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Urban Outfitters full-time

    Pros

    Great benifits - discounts etc Ways of progressing up the career ladder

    Cons

    My store had very little care for loss prevention and it was tiring having to deal with shoplifting a lot.

    Urban Outfitters2019-05-24
  4. "Fun place to work - hourly wage is shockingly bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin

    I have been working at Urban Outfitters part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great brand with great team Can wear your own clothes, doesn't have to be the Urban brand.

    Cons

    hourly wage is shockingly bad should be 50% discount on products to staff - 30% is nothing!

    Urban Outfitters2019-02-01
  5. "Not the Best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time

    Pros

    Discount, Worked with my school schedule

    Cons

    On call shifts, very low hourly pay, weird corporate policies

    Urban Outfitters2018-10-15
  6. "well organised"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Urban Outfitters

    Pros

    Good discount, well-organised, nice staff

    Cons

    Long days and short breaks

    Urban Outfitters2017-12-05
  7. "Excelent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The staff is Really friendly

    Cons

    There are no downsides about working at urban, not an busy environment.

    Urban Outfitters2017-10-19
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Team Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Urban Outfitters

    Pros

    Good people, made many friends, relaxed working environment

    Cons

    poor benefits and progression opportunities, shift work has impact on personal and social life

    Advice to Management

    reward staff and improve training and development

    Urban Outfitters2016-02-26
  9. "Generous discount, bad basic wage."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Urban Outfitters full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Generous 40% clothing discount, cool in store events, trendy workplace, up to date in store music.

    Cons

    I was working full time for a year and only went up from 8.88 to 9 euro. Disgraceful wage for full time employees. Employees in different branch but same constituency paid 9.50, for doing same job. Extremely unfair. Low staff morale.

    Advice to Management

    Strongly advise reviewing basic full time wage.

    Urban Outfitters2013-09-14
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Corporate office - women’s team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Urban Outfitters full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice office / campus, lots of employee perks and you can bring your dog. Good benefits and employee discounts with other local vendors. No official summer fridays though generally a lot of people work from home on fridays all year, and depending on your manager you can usually leave early.

    Cons

    You will have to move to Philly to work here. Open office concept can be noisy / annoying at times but not a huge deal

    Advice to Management

    Kate Phelps’ buying team has a very high turnover because she is extremely difficult to work for and with. She is rude to her employees and not good at communicating in general - from her expectations to how something should be done, etc. Sadly this will continue as long as she oversees most of women’s. I was lucky to not work under her but witnessed the problems first hand.

    Urban Outfitters2019-11-11
Found 2574 reviews