Urban Outfitters Retail Sales Associate Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Urban Outfitters Retail Sales Associate Reviews

Updated 29 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
87%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Urban Outfitters CEO Richard A. Hayne
Richard A. Hayne
26 Ratings
  1. "Retail Sales Associate at Urban Outfitters"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Atlanta, GA

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to work with cool people

    Cons

    Customers can be rude and hard to deal with

    Advice to Management

    Great work

    Urban Outfitters2019-11-19
  2. "Ugh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not many, that's for sure. I could say the discount, but who wants to contribute to fast fashion anymore? If anything, I liked that there was no uniform and free will for presenting yourself and appearance in a unique environment. Very non-discriminative.

    Cons

    Poor management/leaders, no sense of team building, poor scheduling, annoying music, favoritism, unprofessional vibe, draining atmosphere, and overall highly disorganized. Training is nonexistent, the pay is little to nothing, payed to stand and look nice while folding t-shirts. 4 week call off period. VERY quick turnover.

    Advice to Management

    do better and treat employees with respect and the way they should be treated.

    Urban Outfitters2019-11-30
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Working as a Retail Associate was okay..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    40% discount on most clothing items, early access to sales, fun people, great experience as a beginner job, and you can wear whatever your want.

    Cons

    Management acts like children + UO is not eco-friendly by any means.

    Advice to Management

    Management needs to grow up a little. You're not better than your employees, so stop treating them like garbage. Drink a coffee and stop acting like an angsty teen.

    Urban Outfitters2019-11-07
  4. "Working Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Savannah, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Urban Outfitters part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Discounts, hours, people are friendly

    Cons

    Pay rate, parking for work is awful

    Urban Outfitters2019-10-23
  5. "Great environment but takes a long time to move up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate 
    Recommends

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Work with like minded individuals -Company discount -A great company to get retail experience with

    Cons

    -Takes a long time to move up, you have to be there a lonnng time -Only get a 25 cent-50 cent raise every 6 months-year

    Urban Outfitters2019-10-14
  6. "Average part time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice discounts, cool co-workers. If you work at a mall location sometimes you get discounts

    Cons

    entitled customers and terrible pay

    Urban Outfitters2019-09-19
  7. "Fun place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Paramus, NJ

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun team, positive vibes, very fair management at the store I was at. It's a good place to work while you're at school or pursuing other ventures

    Cons

    Don't have any cons for the time I was there

    Urban Outfitters2019-08-20
  8. "Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Urban Outfitters part-time

    Pros

    Great team, great managers, and flexible hours

    Cons

    Hours are not enough but that’s with any retail job

    Urban Outfitters2019-08-15
  9. "Okay environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate 

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time

    Pros

    They sell great clothes and shoes etc

    Cons

    Atmosphere, low amount of hours

    Urban Outfitters2019-08-26
  10. "Overall good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The casual environment allows for an excellent opportunity to bond with people and easily make friends. I'd say the company promotes creative freedom since associates are given opportunity to help with many important tasks like merchandising.

    Cons

    The downside is I feel that a lot of employees take on responsibilities beyond what is expected and the pay does not match how hard some people work. I would expect long term employees to get better raises.

    Urban Outfitters2019-08-15
Found 87 reviews