University College Cork Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

University College Cork Reviews

Updated 13 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
84%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
University College Cork President Michael Murphy
Michael Murphy
36 Ratings
Pros
  • "Beautiful campus, good faciliites, great people(in 10 reviews)

  • "Great place to work and the people and the culture are great(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "relatively low pay when viewed against industry, constant contract work(in 3 reviews)

  • "Too many phishing attempts for UCC staff email(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "University college Cork"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University College Cork full-time

    Pros

    Excellent city centre unversity college. Great atmosphere. Very near the city centre. Great student life and housing is not too difficult to come across

    Cons

    A pity that the health courses are not on the main campus as the college lacks space for all its students.

    University College Cork2020-01-31
  2. "Good University that still needs admin development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PhD Candidate in Cork
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University College Cork full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    state of art technology, excellent student support,

    Cons

    Delayed IT help due to less personnel slow administration

    University College Cork2020-02-13
  3. "IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University College Cork part-time

    Pros

    Good benefits and much more

    Cons

    Mature organisation, other than that good

    University College Cork2020-01-25
  4. "Better than Nothing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Housekeeper in Cork
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at University College Cork full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Full-time summer job Standard 10-5 working days Holiday Pay

    Cons

    No rota provided in advance, days off/on can be given without due notice Difficult working environment Unapproachable higher management Lack of team unity

    University College Cork2020-01-13
  5. "Executive Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at University College Cork full-time

    Pros

    They pay into a pension

    Cons

    Parking, every one is micro managed.

    University College Cork2020-01-08
  6. "Great staff and job flexibility but lack of proper contracts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at University College Cork

    Pros

    - Flexibility, allowed to work from home at times - Great people - Nice grounds - flexibility in working hours, you can always make up Hours

    Cons

    - Poor wages that don’t match other institutions - No parking for contract staff only permanent staff You can only use park and ride and that’s shared with students. This fills up early and the busses are too full - Very few prospects for more substantial contracts or permanent roles, seems the university use contract staff and there is a high turn over of staff. - I work in admin, there seems to be a divide between Academic and Administrative staff. Academic staff always seem to be more important than Administrative and this adds to low morale

    Continue reading
    University College Cork2019-12-08
  7. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at University College Cork part-time

    Pros

    Great colleagues, relaxed environment , room for growth, good management

    Cons

    the food isn't great on campus, can't think of anything else

    University College Cork2019-11-19
  8. "Post Doctoral Researcher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at University College Cork full-time

    Pros

    Flexible working hours, independence, work from home, equal pay

    Cons

    Job Security, Expected work-life balance, Become a metric

    University College Cork2019-10-16
  9. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Student in Cork

    I have been working at University College Cork full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good environment, resources, food, people

    Cons

    I cannot think of any sorry

    University College Cork2019-10-14
  10. "Mandatory review for sign in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University College Cork full-time

    Pros

    Great lectures, great opportunities for work

    Cons

    Very big classes limits some people’s interest

    University College Cork2019-10-09

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 95 reviews