United Airlines Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

United Airlines Reviews

Updated Dec 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
80%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
United Airlines CEO Oscar Munoz
Oscar Munoz
1,110 Ratings
  1. "Leaders are fake"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at United Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flight benefits and working at Willis tower

    Cons

    Lots of backstabbing at corporate and lack of transparency by senior leaders

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees more!!

    United Airlines2019-11-13
  2. "spectacular opportunites"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    the opportunity to fly for free

    Cons

    not the people you work with but the passengers

    United Airlines2019-11-11
  3. "Love what I do & where I do it !!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Fort Myers, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The opportunity to travel, meet new people & share experiences. I work with an amazing team.Dedicated to providing great customer service while still having fun.

    Cons

    Like every job there are those bad days. Delays, cancellations, upset customers. The key is learning how to navigate through those days & enjoy the good ones.

    Advice to Management

    Lead by example, appreciate your employees & just be present. Being seen & having an open door policy is great.

    United Airlines2019-11-11
  4. "Flight Attendant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Flight Attendant in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at United Airlines full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It is a great opportunity to see the world.

    Cons

    It can be a very stressful working environment.

    United Airlines2019-11-25
  5. "Good Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Bonuses that motivate employees to work harder

    Cons

    Need to face a lot of disrespectful customers

    United Airlines2019-11-09
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome perks but tons of red tape"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The flight benefits are amazing and, for the most part, coworkers have kind, adventurous spirits There is a lot of good momentum at the company right now

    Cons

    There is a lot of bureaucracy and it can be difficult to get things done. Projects are constantly prioritized and then de-prioritized .

    Advice to Management

    Promote the right leaders - I have seen entire groups fall apart because we promoted good individual contributors and not true leaders

    United Airlines2019-11-06
  7. "For future employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ramp Agent in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at United Airlines part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Overtime equals more money , it’s like being paid to go to the gym if you like that sorta thing . You can travel anywhere on standby

    Cons

    I really don’t have any all my bad experiences were learning experiences that helped me grow.

    Advice to Management

    Non really Keep it up

    United Airlines2019-11-08
  8. "Welcome Aboard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service ATW Instructor in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    It's flexible, you get to interact with people across 7 continents and the different cultures within the company are endless. You get to travel the world.

    Cons

    work holidays, seniority based, long hours standing on your feet, mandatory overtime

    United Airlines2019-11-08
  9. "Great flexibility and growth opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great job benefits, growth in company potential and status flexibility

    Cons

    Sometimes as a customer service representative pleasing customers can almost seem impossible.

    Advice to Management

    Step up the "care" component of the Core4 values as it pertains to employees.

    United Airlines2019-11-06
  10. "SUMMER TEMP FUN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    GREAT TEAM SPIRIT . Everyone is really helpful and encouraging . Worked here in the summer as a temp and got rehired as a permanent part time employee . In the summer got to work at the gates and really enjoyed the experience . One can choose the department that one wants to work in and with many areas we get the exposure to all the departments . Fast paced environment and time flies by . This year we had a very... challenging and interesting summer and bad weather days but we persevered , and i feel if I could get through this then I can face any challenge . At United there is a great feeling of camaraderie . The perks of working at United is that we can get the travel benefits to send our family to any part of the world for free when space is available. One gets to meet a lot of people from different cultures and backgrounds . Would certainly recommend United as a good place to work .

    Show More

    Cons

    Very strict about attendance .Can have a lot of mandatory overtime on bad weather days. Sometimes one has to deal with customers who are rude and abusive . This year with so many bad weather days had to work extra hours . To enjoy the travel benefits one has to sometimes wait till the end or get transferred to the next available flight ,so kind of frustrating at times . Have to stand for long hours and deal with... crowds .

    Show More
    United Airlines2019-11-06
Found 2863 reviews