Cover image for United Airlines
Logo

United Airlines

Engaged Employer

United Airlines

Add a Review

United Airlines Reviews

Updated 27 Nov 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 5,163 of over 6K reviews
4.1
80% Recommend to a Friend
78% Approve of CEO

Found 5,124 of over 6K reviews

4.1
80%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
United Airlines CEO Scott Kirby (no image)
Scott Kirby
1,078 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flight benefits were really great(in 622 reviews)

  • "Great travel benefits for friends & family(in 401 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Always away from home but this’ll(in 67 reviews)

  • "Decent work/life balance (but you will have to pick up OT if you want to have bills paid which can bite into hours you’d spend with the family(in 54 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Zone industrielle setif

      16 Aug 2019 - Security Guard in Peoria, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have worked for this company because it is near to my home

      Cons

      I stopped working because the salary was little

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Fair

      21 Apr 2017 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good compensation for the most part, nice benefits, friendly customers, lots of travel, fair roster. Enjoyed going in to work every day.

      Cons

      Tough Managers and a hard to rearrange roster

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. Join the United Airlines team
      See Our Latest Jobs
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Global Services

      3 Apr 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very good flying benefits and hotel discounts

      Cons

      V bad working hours and days off

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Uneventful

      7 Dec 2013 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Large airline in a large hub city has its advantages. Good co workers and generally positive attitudes overall. Overall, good learning experience.

      Cons

      The airline industry is not without its difficulties and long term employment risks. Anyone seeking a long term career within one company may want to consider the history of the industry.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company to work with

      27 Nov 2022 - Ramp Agent 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexibility with schedules and great benefits

      Cons

      Weather changes dramatic in Houston.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Inflight Scheduling

      24 Nov 2022 - Assistant Manager in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Variety, ability to trade days / shifts

      Cons

      Complexities of job with limited training

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work

      23 Nov 2022 - Ramp Agent in Newark, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent pay and many available overtime

      Cons

      Poor management and a lot of favoritism

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Amazing

      23 Nov 2022 - Flight Attendant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Tons of pros and growing

      Cons

      Not many… growing company and staff

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Flying High

      22 Nov 2022 - Ramp Service Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The passengers, the flights, and the benefits

      Cons

      The weather in all honesty

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    11. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Company, Great Leadership, Great Perks

      20 Nov 2022 - Human Resources Specialist (HR Specialist) in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love United so much that I wouldn’t even consider leaving. I think we have a strong culture with a huge focus on diversity and inclusion efforts. Our senior leadership is also top notch and filled with very inspiring leaders. On top of all that, the flight benefits are top notch (and more flexible than many competitors) with an amazing route network.

      Cons

      While the pandemic proved that many job functions can be performed completely remote, most jobs require some attendance in the office and the remote/office balance largely depends on the leader. However, I hear we have a lot more flexibility in this area than the average for the airline industry.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 5,124 Reviews
    </>Embed

    United Airlines Reviews FAQs

    United Airlines has an overall rating of 4.1 out of 5, based on over 5,633 reviews left anonymously by employees. 80% of employees would recommend working at United Airlines to a friend and 67% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

    According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, United Airlines employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.0 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at United Airlines. This rating has decreased by -2% over the last 12 months.

    80% of United Airlines employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated United Airlines 3.7 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.9 for culture and values and 4.0 for career opportunities.

    Popular Careers with United Airlines Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at United Airlines? Share Your Experiences

    United Airlines logo
    or

    Reviews by Job Title

    United Airlines Photos

    + Add Photo
    United Airlines photo of: We encourage employees to give back to the community whenever they can
    United Airlines photo of: We're proud to take part in pride events all over the world.
    United Airlines photo of: Fantasy Flights bring together so many coworkers to bring the magic of the season to local families
    United Airlines photo of: Our Adventure Bears getting ready to send out some loving messages written by employees
    United Airlines photo of: Our interns ready to take off!
    United Airlines photo of: First view of the new livery
    United Airlines photo of: Customer Service Employee preparing for take-off!
    See All Photos

    United Airlines Job Seekers Also Viewed

    Southwest Airlines Logo
    Southwest Airlines

    4.5

    3,962 reviews
    Compare

    Glassdoor has 5,633 United Airlines reviews submitted anonymously by United Airlines employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if United Airlines is right for you.