United Airlines Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

United Airlines Reviews

Updated 22 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
80%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
United Airlines CEO Oscar Munoz
Oscar Munoz
1,125 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "New flight attendants will most likely start as a reserve but it was no problem for me to be on reserve for a few years since I enjoyed the job(in 66 reviews)

  • "Upper Management are not willing to compromise or hear opinions of the people who actually work on the tools(in 61 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Zone industrielle setif"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Guard in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at United Airlines part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have worked for this company because it is near to my home

    Cons

    I stopped working because the salary was little

    Advice to Management

    Choose what your Heart wants to do

    United Airlines2019-08-16
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Fair"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at United Airlines

    Pros

    Good compensation for the most part, nice benefits, friendly customers, lots of travel, fair roster. Enjoyed going in to work every day.

    Cons

    Tough Managers and a hard to rearrange roster

    Advice to Management

    Focus on progression

    United Airlines2017-04-21
  3. "Global Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at United Airlines

    Pros

    Very good flying benefits and hotel discounts

    Cons

    V bad working hours and days off

    United Airlines2016-04-03
  4. "Uneventful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at United Airlines

    Pros

    Large airline in a large hub city has its advantages. Good co workers and generally positive attitudes overall. Overall, good learning experience.

    Cons

    The airline industry is not without its difficulties and long term employment risks. Anyone seeking a long term career within one company may want to consider the history of the industry.

    Advice to Management

    None

    United Airlines2013-12-07
  5. Helpful (159)

    "Friendly skies really are friendly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I started working for UA since February 2017 and I am absolutely loving it. This is my 4th airline to work for as a flight attendant and the people here are the biggest reason I chose UA to work at until I retire! I am overwhelmed by the welcoming atmosphere and all the fun we have on flights and layovers.

    Cons

    Depending on your base you might have to be on straight reserve for a while.

    United Airlines2018-08-21
  6. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Writer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flight perks, insurance, awesome team environment, transparency

    Cons

    None at this time, experience so far has been positive

    Advice to Management

    Don’t be too nice or I’ll never leave!

    United Airlines2020-01-23
  7. "Come Fly the Friendly skies with United"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent company to work for

    Cons

    Just the parking situation. Buses don't always run on schedule

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good customer and employee relations

    United Airlines2020-01-21
  8. "Pricing Revenue Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Young culture with many business resource groups to grow throughout the entire company

    Cons

    Some organizational issues with developing analysts

    United Airlines2020-01-17
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Very flexible working hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    As aviation industry, the world is smaller than other people who stay in same city all the time, the working schedule is very flexible since we don't work by 9-5 but we working when airplane flies.

    Cons

    Sine travel is strong part of the life, international flights means jetleg, day and night switch, summer and winter can be happening one day ( because at winter can be snow in the north and Hawaii still nice like summer right?) That means: not everyone can be flight attendant, if travel is something you don't like.

    United Airlines2020-01-13
  10. "Great job for people who love travel but hate 9-5 jobs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Flight Attendant in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at United Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. travel benefits 2. flexible schedule 3. benefits (medical, 401k)

    Cons

    1. relocation 2. seniority-based scheduling

    United Airlines2020-01-10
Found 2883 reviews