United Airlines Flight Attendant Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

United Airlines Flight Attendant Reviews

Updated 22 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
82%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
United Airlines CEO Oscar Munoz
Oscar Munoz
152 Ratings
  1. Helpful (159)

    "Friendly skies really are friendly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I started working for UA since February 2017 and I am absolutely loving it. This is my 4th airline to work for as a flight attendant and the people here are the biggest reason I chose UA to work at until I retire! I am overwhelmed by the welcoming atmosphere and all the fun we have on flights and layovers.

    Cons

    Depending on your base you might have to be on straight reserve for a while.

    United Airlines2018-08-21
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Very flexible working hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    As aviation industry, the world is smaller than other people who stay in same city all the time, the working schedule is very flexible since we don't work by 9-5 but we working when airplane flies.

    Cons

    Sine travel is strong part of the life, international flights means jetleg, day and night switch, summer and winter can be happening one day ( because at winter can be snow in the north and Hawaii still nice like summer right?) That means: not everyone can be flight attendant, if travel is something you don't like.

    United Airlines2020-01-13
  3. "Great job for people who love travel but hate 9-5 jobs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Flight Attendant in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at United Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. travel benefits 2. flexible schedule 3. benefits (medical, 401k)

    Cons

    1. relocation 2. seniority-based scheduling

    United Airlines2020-01-10
  4. "Too much management no clear direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Career opportunity, great benefits, growth potential

    Cons

    Too big of a company, too much management

    Advice to Management

    Streamline top levels too many chiefs

    United Airlines2020-01-23
  5. "Overall great job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really flexible schedule, especially for new hires if you know how to work the system. I’ve been employed for over a year and have had off every major holiday that I’ve wanted off. Pay is also great for what the job is and you have the ability to make extra money if you want to. It is what you make of it!

    Cons

    Some issues with scheduling very long duty days and other things. Hopefully they are sorted out when the company gets a new contract. Management also has a high turnover, but I have no input on why.

    United Airlines2020-01-04
  6. "Great people/ no work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Flight Attendant in Newark, NJ

    I worked at United Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great travel, great people

    Cons

    Standby tickets, on call forever (reserve), low pay

    United Airlines2020-01-15
  7. "Terrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant 

    I have been working at United Airlines full-time

    Pros

    Flight benefits and flexible schedule

    Cons

    Have to walk on eggshells

    United Airlines2020-01-15
  8. "great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    benefits, multi cultural, union proud

    Cons

    none really, great company over all

    Advice to Management

    Management has done a great job in listening to employees

    United Airlines2019-12-18
  9. "United Airlines Flight Attendant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Starting Salary, Flexible schedule, lots of International and Domestic destinations, Company values its employees.

    Cons

    Starting out as a Reserve Flight Attendant

    Advice to Management

    Keep working on ways to make quality of life better for Reserve Flight Attendants

    United Airlines2019-12-13
  10. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant 

    I have been working at United Airlines full-time

    Pros

    Benefits offered by the airline

    Cons

    You have to have a Flexible Schedule

    United Airlines2019-12-09
Found 352 reviews