USAA Software Developer Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Find jobs for Software Developer

USAA Software Developer Reviews

Updated 7 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
56%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
USAA CEO Stuart Parker
Stuart Parker
47 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Great company experiencing many changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and good people

    Cons

    Large organization with numerous inefficiencies and red tape. Out dated technology

    USAA2017-11-21
  2. Helpful (8)

    "Undervalued and overworked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer and Integrator II in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone always mentions the benefits, but specifically there is a cash bonus. They have good talent. If you like working with offshore people there's alot of that. Able to work from home on occasion. Good intern program. 12 week paternal leave. Constant OT pay for Hourly employees. If you play nice and do what you're told and kiss up there's probably way more perks.

    Cons

    It is an unspoken mandatory rule you have to work 44 hours at the very minimum. Only when I'm sick do I ever only work 44, most of the time its more and I'm very tired. Because there is an annual cash bonus they underpay on average. a lot of meetings Finding a good manager is hard. For me, impossible because my bad manager is metaphorically strangling me to stay. I can't have open conversations with them. Despite my fantastic performance I am devalued based on my age and experience (which I'm up to 5-6 years in professional software development) Too many meetings As a "people company" you're required to have a relationship with someone before they'll do their job. Wouldn't be a problem if their entire infrastructure wasn't based on requests to other teams. Moving code takes forever. A lot of meetings Remote employees get forgotten. There is so much more. The culture feels more of a brainwashing as in all the stuff you get is sooo much better than other companies. Where some of that may be true, I feel like if it was good the company shouldn't have to tell you that every single day. Just an opinion. I care about their mission of providing services to the military and their families, that's not the culture I'm talking about. To me it seems borderline Stockholm syndrome.

    Continue reading
    USAA2017-11-08
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Software Developers if you actually want to write code and be technical avoid USAA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Light workload and very few hard deadlines. Pay is decent for spending all day in meetings and hanging out at Starbucks

    Cons

    All technical work is done by contractors. Difficult to advance if you enjoy coding. Raises are split equally across team so no reward for being a top performer.

    Continue reading
    USAA2017-10-31
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Stable for Good or Ill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stable position True appreciation of work-life balance Passionate people Corporate honesty

    Cons

    Very difficult agile DPOs Slow technical lifecycle Uncompetitive base salary Fear of remote workers

    Continue reading
    USAA2017-10-07
  5. "Software Development Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Development Intern in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at USAA for less than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful full time Team to work with. They gave excellent personal development advice as well as helpful work related advice Pay was great for an intern, plus food options were abundant Professional Training that helps me to this day

    Cons

    The location was undesirable to me, San Antonio is difficult to get around without a vehicle and it was difficult finding a place that would let you rent for 2 months. Instead of locating each intern team with their respective Full Time teams, they chose to keep as all together. Which in my opinion kept us from valuable lessons we could have learned from the full time team.

    Continue reading
    USAA2017-07-18
  6. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer/Integrator in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for! great benefits and great facilities!

    Cons

    San Antonio gets very hot in the summer and doesn't have much of a winter. Some might consider that a pro.

    USAA2017-07-11
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Great benefits, positive workplace, productivity stifled by bureaucracy and processes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer & Integrator I in Plano, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits: 8% match on 401k + some extra funds they put in a "retirement plus" account. Most people I've worked with are really positive and encouraging.

    Cons

    The Java development environment (The RSA IDE, running in virtual machine, with Websphere) is terribly slow to work in. Fortunately I have worked on a team where I was able to mostly program iOS, Node.js, and Python. But my team is not the norm.

    Continue reading
    USAA2017-05-03
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Software Developer - great place for long-term career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time

    Pros

    Awesome benefits: 8% 401k match, pretty great health insurance (80% paid by company, healthy lifestyle reduces cost to employee further), annual bonus, terrific mobility between teams if you want to switch up what you're doing, lots of integrity. There are many employees who expect to spend their entire career with the company... unheard of in the IT industry.

    Cons

    While the job security is unmatched for the IT industry, you sacrifice a bit in terms of salary growth. Too many levels of management; HR policies and tradition baked in deep to anything career-related.

    Continue reading
    USAA2017-05-03
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Non competitive pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work life balance and benefits are above standard. Positive outlook for most developer roles.

    Cons

    No matter your skill set every developer is paid approximately the same per level. During promotions, which are given and not applied for, it creates little room for negotiation. Too heavy a reliance on contractors and TCS/HCL.

    Continue reading
    USAA2017-04-05
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer & Integrator in Plano, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    USAA has a great mission and a great culture environment. Always ranks high on best places to work for in IT.

    Cons

    Still holding on to old world thinking. Although they could move away from systems they were written in the 70s they still hold onto since they work.

    Continue reading
    USAA2017-03-18
Found 96 reviews