USAA Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

USAA Reviews

Updated 17 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
63%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
USAA CEO Stuart Parker
Stuart Parker
1,102 Ratings
  1. Helpful (16)

    "WM didn't work. Cutting it loose. Focus on core businesses"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits, most people, mission, employee-centric (treated as valuable), or and benefits.... competitive pay in most areas, but don't forget about the benefits.

    Cons

    Go along to get along. "Tell us what you think", but only if it supports what we've actually already decided and want it to seem as though you have a chance of being heard. Be sure you pick out friends who are moving into leadership early in your career. If you pick the right friends you have a chance of being promoted up the leadership chain as your friends become successful. Otherwise, always agree with upper leaderships idea, smile and support them and bide your time until you are high enough to actually make a difference. Bitter much?

    Continue reading
    USAA2019-08-18
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great mission, heavy workload"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    USAA has a great mission of serving its members. The salaries and benefits are above average.

    Cons

    There's pressure to perform, but it really all depends on what area you work in. Staff jobs are coveted, front line member facing jobs are somewhat stressful.

    USAA2019-09-27
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Deteriorating culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Auto Claim Adjuster in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent pay, and good benefits.

    Cons

    Upper management keeping departments understaffed to save money creates awful work conditions for front line employees.

    Continue reading
    USAA2019-10-31
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent company, excellent benefits, incredible culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SIU 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people. Feel appreciated every day.

    Cons

    Not necessarily for SIU, but the company is very military based and is preferential to veteran status.

    USAA2019-09-24
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Misleading"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quantitative Risk Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Flexible on location - Great benefits

    Cons

    - Salary is far too low for the job being done - Misled on career opportunities and moving up within the company - Despite being in a quantitative field, moving up within the company is largely political, and a popularity contest. - Job typically gets more difficult over time as new requirements are constantly added. - When hired, the offer is misleading in that it includes the annual bonus as part of your annual salary. The annual bonus widely varies; the reported average is often nowhere near what is actually paid out. In fact, it's usually far less.

    Continue reading
    USAA2019-10-07
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Bittersweet"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    • Amazing Benefits • Yearly Bonus • Parental Leave for moms and dads • Company mission • Serving our military men and women and their families

    Cons

    • Extremely stressful, especially during purchase season. • The culture has really changed since General Joe left, and NOT in a good way. • Management stresses that you should have a work/life balance but limits approvable PTO per team so severely that it is hard to get approved time off. • OT is micromanaged to the extent that you are made to feel like you are taking advantage of it when in reality you are already so exhausted by Monday at 5pm because you worked all weekend just to keep your head above water, and all you really want to do is spend time with your family. • Management does not appropriately plan for influx of loans and department turnover. Hiring additional staff in the middle of purchase season that will be trained by the END of purchase season is too little, too late. Current employees are already crying at their desks due to stress. • Loan processing system goes down at the most inconvenient times and there are so many work arounds to the work arounds that it’s ridiculous. • IT help desk is hit or miss. If you get someone that is competent your computer issue may be resolved in 10 minutes, otherwise your looking at a 45 minute phone call that accomplishes nothing and ends up in an escalated ticket with no ETA on when the issue will be resolved. • Quality metrics are laughable as 9 times out of 10 one hand doesn’t know what the other hand is doing.

    Continue reading
    USAA2019-09-30
  7. "Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Analyst in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and good pay.

    Cons

    No downside I can think of.

    USAA2019-09-26
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Great Company, not for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member Service Representative in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    USAA has great flexible schedules, bonuses and education assistance program

    Cons

    Call volume isn't distributed fairly amongst reps, it's a call center so expect to be treated as just a number producing sales. For an insurance company, the health insurance provided to employees is incredibly awful. The bonuses almost make up for less pay but because this is a sales position, commission at any other insurance company would still out weigh total salary with bonuses included. Management and resources providing information on how to handle calls is inconsistent. Managers micromanage everyone regardless of performance. Promotions are dependent upon sales numbers, military service and who you're buddies with.

    Continue reading
    USAA2019-10-01
  9. Helpful (8)

    "I*** was not a good fit for the job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Billing Specialist in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits are amazing and very family friendly and there is always work to do.

    Cons

    Everything else- Mind you, I am not a very good corporate fit, however there was a lot of micro-managing, CONSISTENCY, CONSISTENCY, CONSISTENCY- Not being consistent? Bad month for you, maybe 2 or 3 months?? I had that. I was told I was unreliable and in order for me to meet the "USAA Standards" I had to over compensate for my end of the year performance evaluation in order to get my bonus. Also, if you're giving the job 100%... you could give more- you could never be good enough- this made my morale plummet. In fact, speaking to individuals that left USAA for other work felt much the same. It is very much so a militant style management and corporation, should be expected I guess. However, like I said, as a creative, I felt suffocated. But others that I worked with, those that came from military backgrounds or similar just thrived! It was me, not USAA, it is TRULY a wonderful **COMPANY** **OVERALL**. I just wish I had more opportunity to be creative within USAA and growing the brand.

    Continue reading
    USAA2019-09-04
  10. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Intelligence Analyst I 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Bonus, parental leave, flexibility, fair

    Cons

    Can't really think of any

    USAA2019-09-24
Found 2782 reviews
</>Embed