USAA Reviews

Updated 4 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
66%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
USAA CEO Wayne Peacock
Wayne Peacock
36 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Dont do it."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Msr 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time

    Pros

    There are no pros none

    Cons

    This place is a sweat shop. If you don't trick the member into buying something, you will get coached. If you use more than 7 minutes in the bathroom, you have to use PTO. Managers and coaches are bully's and you will always fear for your job.

    Continue reading
    USAA2020-04-22
  2. "USAA is still amazing"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Generalist in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Honorable mission, tremendous benefits, amazing people, beautiful facilities

    Cons

    Competing priorities and limited resources result in some increased stressed

    Continue reading
    USAA2020-03-18
  3. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefit. Corporate bonus and holiday bonus are plus. Flexible work schedule.

    Cons

    Lots of work and stressful at time.

    USAA2020-03-18
  4. "Good call center"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Sales Agent in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company and training to get you into the industry. Great leaders through out. Good shift availability to take advantage of.

    Cons

    Some numbers driven promotions rather than skills driven promotions.

    USAA2020-03-16
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Poor Transparency"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Solutions Advisor in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, Environment, work life balance

    Cons

    Upward Mobility, Transparency of Expectations

    Continue reading
    USAA2020-03-13
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company and Benefits as long as your NOT in the Auto and Property Insurance"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tampa, FL
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay, Office Amenities, Cafe, Benefits

    Cons

    Work life balance during probation period.

    USAA2020-03-27
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great if your ok with doing the same thing over and over, every day, non stop"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Member Service Representative in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great benefits, great people, gym/starbucks/multiple cafes, bonus structure all awesome. The training is perfect to help you succeed in the role you are in if you are a part of the call center. Also they pay for continuing education up to $10,000/yr.

    Cons

    hard to move off the phones, there isnt a big focus on internal hire for staff positions. If you do get off the phones its because 1. you know someone who knows someone or 2. your coming in on your days off or sacrificing breaks and lunches to shadow in other areas for up to 6 months-1 year. If you are not ok being tethered to your computer and every minute of your work day looked at for adherence purposes and doing the same thing over and over, then its not the job for you

    Continue reading
    USAA2020-03-11
  8. "N/a"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at USAA full-time

    Pros

    Mission, member, pulse, benefits and family

    Cons

    Not transparent, difficult to promote

    USAA2020-03-14
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Stay Away from Mortgage if you can"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mortgage Loan Officer in Brandon, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    8% 401k match is the best I have seen anywhere.

    Cons

    So I guess we can start with pay. Their base salary is lower then what you can get else where, also the bonus you get per funded loan is lower then anyone else I have spoken to. They had a system where if you hit certain numbers for so many months in a row you would get a promotion and earn a higher base salary, they tweaked the numbers around a few times, till they eventually got rid of it. Bonus structure has been changed so many times since I’ve been here no one including management really know if we are being compensated correctly. About 6 months ago they messed up everyone’s payout and over paid some and under paid others and we just had to take their word for it, because no one knows if they reported numbers are correct. The systems are the absolute worst!!! I have spent full 8 hour days sitting there telling people I can’t originate their loans because our systems is down. Management is just as bad. Upper management from CEO (out of nowhere chooses to retire), mortgage presidents (one fired, one quick after a year), VPs and Directors (quitting, fired, moving to totally different departments) all have no vision for this department. Direct managers many of them never do our job a day in their lives, but have the never to belittle you and tell you they couldn’t do our job in the same sentence. The training is the WORST experience I had ever had in my life. My entire class spent 3+ months completely stressed out with a trainer who had no clue What she was doing. She sat on her desk and looked at us for over an hour because someone asked her how interest rates work so we can explain to members when they had questions. She had no idea how they worked herself let alone a class of 15 people who never worked in mortgage before. Every week they pick a hot button issue that most of the time means very little in the grand scheme of things, but they get on your case no stop. Sometimes asking you to stop doing what makes us money just to make someone feel good about a report you were on. Just for following week they could care less about that issue and bug you with a whole new one. They want you to be stuck on the phones for forever!!! They literally were telling managers in other departments not to interview us, because they “need” us. Working Saturdays and nights is brutal! Best thing to do, is ask anyone who works in any department in mortgage would they get a home loan through USAA.

    Continue reading
    USAA2020-03-23
  10. Helpful (1)

    "USAA"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Associate in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It was a decent place

    Cons

    Nothing but 100s of calls all day every day

    USAA2020-04-17
Found 2928 reviews
</>Embed