USAA Member Service Representative Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

USAA Member Service Representative Reviews

Updated 21 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
45%
Recommend to a Friend
USAA CEO Wayne Peacock
Wayne Peacock
0 Rating
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time

    Pros

    Great company Many benefits Child and elderly care assistance Gym Possible discounts on benefits Education assistance

    Cons

    High call volume Continuing changes

    USAA2020-02-21
  2. Helpful (3)

    "If you are a call center rep the opportunities for promotion are slim to none. Better jobs are mostly filled externally."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member Service Representative in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, they invest in lots of training to prepare you for the job.

    Cons

    It is so busy that you will be in a constant state of anxiety. I type over 100+ wpm and am considered extremely efficient, and I still can barely manage my workload. My coworkers are drowning.

    Continue reading
    USAA2020-02-04
  3. Helpful (9)

    "Definitely not what it used to be, just about numbers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Member Service Representative in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and pto accrual, great maternity leave.

    Cons

    The company is all about the numbers. Working on the phones, you’ll be micromanaged on ever changing metrics, you’ll be timed on how long your calls are, the time it takes you to solve the issue, did you comply with measures they’ve come up with (often not having anything to do with rules and regulations but more so just what they want), did you offer a product on every call and you’ll be timed on your time between calls. You're expected to take care of account follow up between back to back calls, you’ve got to convince the members to stay with the company even if our premiums are far higher than our competitors, they'll say they want feedback but it is lip service so they can say they stand for one thing but will not follow up and fix systems or processes unless profitable for them. Systems will go down and information will not be available to perform your job and you’ll still be held accountable. If bathroom breaks take you longer than 10 minutes, many managers are requiring reps to use pto. Once you’re on the phones, it’s incredibly difficult to get off. You’ll receive a precanned letter with no direction or guidance as to how to proceed even if you’re over qualified. It definitely a “who ya know” company, forget progressing if you’re not a “yes man” or if you don’t have the right connections.

    Continue reading
    USAA2020-01-08
  4. Helpful (1)

    "usaa is great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Member Service Representative in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's a great company and they care about their employees. Competitive pay and benefits.

    Cons

    I did not want to leave USAA, but a call center job just isn't for me. I hope to come back to USAA in the future.

    USAA2019-11-17
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Great Company, not for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member Service Representative in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    USAA has great flexible schedules, bonuses and education assistance program

    Cons

    Call volume isn't distributed fairly amongst reps, it's a call center so expect to be treated as just a number producing sales. For an insurance company, the health insurance provided to employees is incredibly awful. The bonuses almost make up for less pay but because this is a sales position, commission at any other insurance company would still out weigh total salary with bonuses included. Management and resources providing information on how to handle calls is inconsistent. Managers micromanage everyone regardless of performance. Promotions are dependent upon sales numbers, military service and who you're buddies with.

    Continue reading
    USAA2019-10-01
  6. "It’s pretty great so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time

    Pros

    Pay Frequent schedule bids Great 401k Good health insurance

    Cons

    I haven’t noticed much negative so far

    USAA2019-08-26
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great training and benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Member Service Representative in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Extensive training and guidance regarding insurance servicing.

    Cons

    Posting out of property and casualty department is difficult.

    USAA2019-06-10
  8. "Standard Call Center with Excellent Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Member Service Representative in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay, yearly bonuses, 401k match, health plan, onsite facilities

    Cons

    Same old call center issues. Management is all over the place and no matter what they say about "doing what's right for the member" you'll get the axe if you follow through.

    Continue reading
    USAA2019-06-04
  9. "Great Company for a Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member Service Representative in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive Pay, Bonuses, Culture and Ethics, Benefits.

    Cons

    Hard to Move Up within the company. Very competitive.

    USAA2019-05-02
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Going down hill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Member Service Representative in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits & serving the military! Training is bar none at USAA

    Cons

    Pay Technical requirements Favoritisms Sales requirements

    Continue reading
    USAA2019-04-11

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 62 reviews