USAA Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Find jobs for Manager

USAA Manager Reviews

Updated 21 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
62%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
USAA CEO Stuart Parker
Stuart Parker
53 Ratings
  1. "Lead program project manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Program Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Headquarters has a great office space and overall top tier employee benefits

    Cons

    Culture change for the worse. Employee experience initiatives are no longer a priority.

    Advice to Management

    Challenging environments shouldn’t kill the employee experience which is exactly what is happening on a daily basis.

    USAA2019-11-22
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great mission, heavy workload"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    USAA has a great mission of serving its members. The salaries and benefits are above average.

    Cons

    There's pressure to perform, but it really all depends on what area you work in. Staff jobs are coveted, front line member facing jobs are somewhat stressful.

    USAA2019-09-27
  3. Helpful (8)

    "Bait and Switch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Strong focus on the mission and serving the members.

    Cons

    I was hired for one job and, upon joining the company, was assigned completely different work. The work is also what you would typically assign to someone in a higher grade position, so not only does the job description I have not match the work I am doing, I am also underpaid for the work I am doing. I know of two other people that USAA has pulled the bait and switch on within the last several months. Is this... SOP?

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    So, you're in some regulatory hot water. Get clear on what you are doing and why before you post and fill positions. The bait and switch approach to getting work done will backfire and have a very negative impact on what seems to have been a very positive culture at one point.

    USAA2019-08-30
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to work so far

    Cons

    None at the moment tbd

    USAA2019-08-21
  5. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Project Manager 

    I have been working at USAA full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work, great benefits and facility

    Cons

    Can't think of any bad moments

    USAA2019-08-23
  6. "I'll never leave."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Digital Marketing Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Compensation, Service-oriented culture, family values, employee empowerment

    Cons

    Big company means less creative freedom in delivering campaigns

    USAA2019-07-26
  7. "USAA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Marketing Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at USAA full-time

    Pros

    amazing company to work for. I would not want to work for anyone else.

    Cons

    I have no cons for this company.

    USAA2019-07-16
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Caution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - IT Asset Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at USAA for less than a year

    Pros

    not many pros for contractors

    Cons

    if you're a contractor you're looked at like a second class citizen. work atmosphere not the best these days.

    Advice to Management

    senior management please think twice about the managers you hire to complete a high profile task. they lack prep work and are stuck in their "military" life style and think USAA is the military

    USAA2019-07-28
  9. "It is a great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Digital Product Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, benefits, culture, work-life balance, and people.

    Cons

    Pay is lower than expected,

    Advice to Management

    Practice what is preached. Ensure there is consistency in direction being given to drive our mission.

    USAA2019-07-08
  10. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Operational Planning Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Amazing pay and benefits. Room to grow

    Cons

    Lots of organizational change.

    Advice to Management

    Stop micromanaging

    USAA2019-07-03
Found 123 reviews