USAA Financial Advisor Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

USAA Financial Advisor Reviews

Updated 2 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
52%
Recommend to a Friend
USAA CEO Wayne Peacock
Wayne Peacock
0 Rating
  1. "financial advice at Usaa investments"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor 

    I have been working at USAA full-time

    Pros

    great work life balance and environment

    Cons

    low base salary and hard to promote

    USAA2020-02-02
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Stuart Parker owns a private plane and has a picture of it in his office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Advisor in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    8 % 401k match PTO Education assistance

    Cons

    Where do I start. I started in 2008 and USAA was a great company then, but as the years went by the company got worse and worse. The executive management group are either people who have been with the company for 20 + years or rejects from bigger firms. The executives truly think they are better than the average employee. USAA uses Orwellian type language to create an internal class structure. If you work on the phone you are what is known as an MSR (Member service representative) doesn’t matter if you have a CFP and a MBA you are a MSR in their eyes. But then again you really are not a financial advisor, more like an annuity and life insurance salesman. USAA prides itself in what is known as the traditional approach to retirement, and what that means is that everyone gets fixed annuity with rates lower than 1.50%, doesn’t matter if you are 30 or 70 everyone needs an annuity. Honestly 8 can’t understand why FINRA hasn’t busted USAA on all of their crooked annuity deals. Compliance is a nightmare, the CEO has the whole company on becoming more compliant (BCC) reason being is because USAA had never been compliant in the past. Google USAA and recent lawsuits. I could say so much more but what is the point, this place is trash.

    Continue reading
    USAA2019-10-25
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Work/Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work Life Balance. Members first.

    Cons

    I really don't have any to put here.

    USAA2019-08-23
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Investments and Life Insurance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor 

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Coworkers are good people. Security is top notch.

    Cons

    Tools and IT issues are not good.

    USAA2019-08-16
  5. Helpful (6)

    "imprisoned"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They provide good retirement benefits

    Cons

    All over you like white on rice

    Continue reading
    USAA2019-05-22
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Decent place to start an investment career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Advisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Great benefits (401k match @ 8%, education benefits unmatched, PTO competitive)

    Cons

    You will stay tethered to the phones for years unless you brown-nose the right people, chug the corporate koolaid, and sell their underperforming products -Unrealistic goals -Poor products -Upper management could care less about front-line employees -Strange culture

    USAA2019-04-16
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Financial Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, such as 401K match, education card, free gym access and good selection in the cafeteria.

    Cons

    Compensation is low, difficult to get promoted, they try to find ways to keep you from getting promoted, even if you meet all the promotion metrics.

    Continue reading
    USAA2019-03-31
  8. Helpful (5)

    "It's a joke"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Advisor in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at USAA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good 401k and other retirement benefits.

    Cons

    bad corporate culture, poor pay, other departments were incentivized to just transfer calls to the financial advisor group so most of my calls were people with poor credit and trying to improve their credit score. I don't know how a financial planner can help with that!

    USAA2019-03-18
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Financial Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, Great 401k 8% match, excellent health, vision, and dental. Compensation is good could be better could also be worse.

    Cons

    Culture. They say they are a company that cares about deepening relationships but the role is sales based without commission. Metrics for promotion change every year no consistency. Very much a drink the kool-aid type of place. Management can be good depending on their style and most people are very fake in their personalities.

    USAA2018-11-02
  10. "Financial Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Advisor in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company with great culture, growth opportunities, work life balance, and benefits package.

    Cons

    Nothing but good things to say.

    Continue reading
    USAA2018-10-14

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 101 reviews