USAA Director Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

USAA Director Reviews

Updated 4 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
67%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
USAA CEO Stuart Parker
Stuart Parker
26 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Culture, benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Mission to help military members

    Cons

    Beginning to lose culture with growth

    Advice to Management

    Stop poor (unqualified) promotions

    USAA2019-11-04
  2. Helpful (13)

    "USAA gone forever, culture is in a death spiral"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Director in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Compensation and benefits, free fitness facilities, subsidized health lunches

    Cons

    Expense pressures are driving lay offs. Annual bonus has been declining the past 4 years and is expected to hit a new low this year

    USAA2019-09-12
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company, hard to move the needle though"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director, Product Management in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, friendly atmosphere, culture of respect and compassion.

    Cons

    Hard to see any real progress on your projects because of the sheer volume of people involved, and constantly shifting priorities, strategies and org charts.

    USAA2019-08-28
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director Decision Science Analytics in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits and work life balance

    Cons

    Pay based on tenure not skill

    USAA2019-07-12
  5. Helpful (16)

    "Deteriorating Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great benefits. Flexible on work hours and location. Focus on customers.

    Cons

    Where did my company go? Since USAA emphasized regulatory compliance, senior management has tossed any notion of respect for front line managers/directors. Deadlines are given without regard to any input on the actual scope of the work. A senior exec (EVP) was quoted as saying that "within a year, all of this compliance work will be behind us". In reality, we're on a 3-5 year journey best case. Our leaders are... making promises to regulators that are not logistically possible. The result is that the front line compliance folks we worked so hard to recruit will be yelled at and shamed to meet those made up goals. This will end badly.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't give up your core values to try and fix a long term problem. Our regulators expect discipline not short-term heroics. If you build a reputation for being an awful place to work good luck finding the people who can actually fix what is broken.

    USAA2019-06-03
  6. "Great company with a great history"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great mission, good compensation program

    Cons

    The industry is changing and the company needs to keep up

    Advice to Management

    Clarify the strategy, communicate to all levels and follow it

    USAA2019-03-03
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent employee benefits And positive productive work environment

    Cons

    Somewhat difficult to gain employment but once you’re in you’re never leave

    Advice to Management

    Always make sure the employees are the main focus

    USAA2018-09-19
  8. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Awesome employee centric and member centric company.

    Cons

    None I can think of

    USAA2018-07-13
  9. "Depends on Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Benefits, Fitness center, Amenities - cafeterias, onsite pharmacy, beautiful campus, covered parking, flexible work-hours for some areas, casual dress (shorts).

    Cons

    I worked in mortgage and there are limited opportunities if you speak your mind and don't play politics.

    Advice to Management

    Learn from other areas of the enterprise -- like IT, and take care of people who work hard and don't play politics.

    USAA2018-07-15
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Antiquated business culture in a modern world."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, Analytics in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Best in class mission and customer base.

    Cons

    Stuck with leaders and business though of yester-year.

    Advice to Management

    Reassess all executives, company wide, with more than 5 years tenure.

    USAA2018-06-06
Found 70 reviews