US Army Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

US Army Reviews

Updated 21 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20945 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
US Army CEO Robert
Robert
1703 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "good stepping stone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SSG in Kill, Waterford
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Army full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    travel pay experience guns fun

    Cons

    hard work the field is no good

    Advice to Management

    keep up the good work

    US Army2014-06-11
  2. "Infantry strong fun and crazy yes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Killeen, Mayo

    I have been working at US Army full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun building relationships strong craZy

    Cons

    Can get hard at times

    Advice to Management

    Work with soldiers more

    US Army2012-08-12
  3. "The Army is what you make of it....positive or negative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Training Manager in Fort Benning, GA
    Recommends

    I worked at US Army full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    benefits, college tuition, once you make rank and are married the pay is pretty decent

    Cons

    deployments because of the separation from management

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    US Army2019-08-21
  4. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at US Army full-time

    Pros

    Travel, Experience, Benefits, Great People, Service

    Cons

    Unexpected Hours, Time away from family

    US Army2019-08-20
  5. "Thankless work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Unit Supply Specialist in Anchorage, AK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at US Army full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits, 30 days of leave per year

    Cons

    Long hours, unexpected occurences, seniority rules

    Advice to Management

    Start from the top down

    US Army2019-08-20
  6. "Great Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fleet Manager 

    I have been working at US Army full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Geat benefits. Get to meet a lot of great people.

    Cons

    A lot of long hours and time away from family.

    US Army2019-08-21
  7. "Your career is what you make of it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fire Support Specialist in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at US Army full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Camaraderie, Leadership Experience, Introduction to Multiple Cultures

    Cons

    Time away from family, hazard potentials

    Advice to Management

    Continue to refine senior NCO selection criteria, give Soldiers the same PCS opportunities as officers.

    US Army2019-08-19
  8. "Best decision I ever made"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - O5 - Army - Lieutenant Colonel in Washington, DC
    Recommends

    I have been working at US Army part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I love being a member of the Army National Guard. It gives me a sense of community that is unrivaled in the corporate sector. I am able to have access to affordable healthcare, dental care, life insurance, receive education benefits, and work towards a pension. I think the people in my unit are very purpose-driven and I love our mission and culture.

    Cons

    It can be difficult to balance having a career in the Army National Guard with a civilian job. During months that you have a drill weekend, you will more than likely have to work 16 days without a break. I also live in a state different than the one I drill in and that adds a 3+ hour commute.

    US Army2019-08-19
  9. "Outstanding Military Service Branch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Colonel in Fort Meade, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Army full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Opportunity to service the Nation Great leader development Outstanding Teamwork Superb benefits

    Cons

    Can experience mid-to-long deployments (situation dependent)

    Advice to Management

    Continue to do community outreach to meet recruiting goals.

    US Army2019-08-20
  10. "Good for development if you are in the right unit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intelligence Analyst 
    Recommends

    I worked at US Army full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, lots of technical jobs to choose from. Potential to develop serious analytic skills that are easily marketable on they civilian side. Pay for college.

    Cons

    Good ole boys mentality. Aging leadership. Often managed by leadership that does not understand your role. Most of the units will waste your time having you do things that are honestly busy work. A lot of people are looking to write their own evaluations bullets to make themselves look good so your work often goes unaccredited to you. The promotion system is broken.

    US Army2019-08-19
Found 20945 reviews