UPS "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

UPS Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated 24 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
61%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
UPS Chief Executive Officer David Abney
David Abney
3,718 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Could have long hours and always on call(in 642 reviews)

  • "For the most part it's part time(in 608 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (3)

    "If you want a life - DONT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Driver Service Provider in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at UPS full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Regular drivers are decent lads and will help you however they can.

    Cons

    Integrad..... Like military school. Uniform inspections, polished boots, shirts ironed and must have sharp creases that would shave a hairy man in 20 seconds.. The job itself..... Long long hours, management don't give a crap how long you work for once you deliver every single parcel and pick up every request that's sent to you regardless of where you are on your route.... If you do 100 stops you'll be expected to do 110 the next day, without any thanks or recognition, but beware the day you can't complete all your stops.... You'll be hauled over hot coals to demand answers as to why you failed the company and didn't deliver everything... I lasted 2 months with this and left as soon as I found another job. Management will big up the company, the job etc but if you are seriously considering a position here find a driver and ask them what they really think as they will tell you the truth... Money is also rubbish for the hours you are expected to work.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat your drivers like humans and not robotic driving machines.

    UPS2018-01-04
  2. "Great pay and benefits, poor work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Strategy Associate in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UPS full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, pay and upward mobility

    Cons

    Poor work life balance. Long hours are expected.

    UPS2020-01-24
  3. "UPS Operations Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Supervisor in Delaware, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UPS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Learn a great deal about the transportation industry very quickly with this fast paced job.

    Cons

    Could have long hours and always on call.

    Advice to Management

    My Regional Manager was amazing!

    UPS2020-01-23
  4. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Driver 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UPS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay and good working relationships

    Cons

    Long hours due to short turnarounds

    UPS2020-01-23
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Could be better."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Automotive Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at UPS full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome manager, nice co-workers. I actually felt bad leaving (that is why I gave it a 4 star rating)

    Cons

    Dirty work enviroment ( yes it is a shipping company but the offices are dirty), management talks to each other over phone calls like garbage. Very degrading towards each other. The company will consume your life if you allow it to, they expect long hours worked with no overtime for management positions. Little to no appreciation. Management is extremely underpaid compared to the union workers who do get overtime and free benefits ( your expected to supervise workers who make more money than you and get free healthcare, figure that one out!) Your not going to make decent money unless you are with the company for well beyond 20 years, small pay increases on top of low pay.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Learn to better appreciate the people who keep the company running! Learn how to speak to one another in a non degrading way!

    UPS2020-01-16
  6. "Senior Warehouse Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Warehouse Supervisor 

    I have been working at UPS full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for and great benefits

    Cons

    very long hours during peak season

    UPS2020-01-15
  7. "WORST JOB"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Driver 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at UPS full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay nothing finding a new job losing weight stress

    Cons

    No time for sick days No free time Long hours Poor work life balance Management is looking for reasons to fire

    Advice to Management

    Give new workers time to get better if they are sick

    UPS2020-01-24
  8. "Pretty good job, tough though."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seasonal Driver Helper in Harrisburg, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at UPS part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay, no travel, flexible hours.

    Cons

    Long hours, cold weather, angry people.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more drivers next year. 500+ stops isn't manageable.

    UPS2020-01-09
  9. "Good only for a beginner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Logistics Administrator in Łódź, Lódz
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at UPS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good atmosphere, no weekend work

    Cons

    low salary, long hours during week

    UPS2020-01-07
  10. "Life at UPS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Package Handler in Kansas City, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at UPS part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Benefits, good pay for the time worked.

    Cons

    Requires lots of stamina, be prepared to work long hours in sweltering hot trucks during the summer.

    UPS2019-12-28
Found 642 reviews
</>Embed