UKG (Ultimate Kronos Group) Reviews

Updated Jan 26, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3,719 of over 4,060 reviews

4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
UKG (Ultimate Kronos Group) CEO Aron Ain
Aron Ain
1,874 Ratings
Pros
  • "Direct Management works with us to allow for an amazing work/life balance(in 568 reviews)

  • "Kronos Workforce Management is better than any other solution on the market(in 324 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "There is no place I would rather work whether it was Kronos before the merger or UKG after the merger(in 271 reviews)

  • "There are some parts of the business where work/life balance needs to be addressed(in 138 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years
      Featured Review

      Truly one of the best workplaces in the country & world

      Dec 15, 2021 - Principal Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      UKG walks-the-walk about taking care of employees. It's NOT just lip-service. The benefits are top in the industry - fully paid healthcare/dental/vision for the entire family (that's 0 out of pocket for a family), 45% company 401k match, cash bonus & RSU bonuses possible depending on performance, along with so many resources for growth & mental health. All the way up the leadership ladder, they truly care about employees & their mental health.

      Cons

      With the merger of 2 companies, stability can feel iffy with so many re-orgs. Some teams are affected more than others, and the support for members on those teams could be better. However, for those that

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      The Death of Excellence

      Jan 13, 2022 - Senior Manager in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Best in class benefits (100% employer-paid healthcare and 45% 401k match) - RSUs awarded as a part of performance - IPO coming in the near future - Has embraced virtual work - Tons of growth potential - sales are strong and we are acquiring the right companies to increase our global presence

      Cons

      How to approach this review? To start, context is key: UKG, or Ultimate Kronos Group, is a merger of two mid-sized, successful HR software companies: Kronos, mainly focused on timekeeping, and Ultimate Software, mainly focused on payroll. Both were well-respected, growing companies with extremely complimentary products but very, very few overlapping customers. The merging of the two companies was an incredibly smart business decision that tapped into a huge amount of potential growth. Truly a match made in heaven! Culturally, however, the merger was one of the worst fits you could imagine. I am a legacy Ultimate employee, and I admit my bias. I started with Ultimate fairly young and experienced tremendous personal and career growth during my tenure there. However, the reason for my bias was a once in a lifetime work experience at what now, sadly, seems to be a once in a lifetime company. Ultimate ranked as the #2 best company to work for in the United States on the Great Places to Work list the year before the merger. This reflected a work environment that went beyond just great perks and benefits. We are talking about a company (and a leadership team) that treated employees with respect, embracing their whole selves and promoting authenticity and diversity at the highest levels. There was a focus on working smarter not harder, embracing innovation, and constantly looking to improve things not just for our customers but for our employees as well. The tagline, "People first," applied from the lowest paid employee to the most profitable customer, and, I would argue, the lowest paid employee always got priority because it was the right thing to do. Ultimate never had a layoff and committed, publicly, to never having one. Ultimate paid for 100% of healthcare for its employees and their families from the day it was founded. Ultimate increased its 401k match over time, even when it was already wildly above industry standards. Ultimate paid for funeral expenses for every employee who passed away. And at the end of the day, Ultimate valued its employees and treated them with respect - we were, if not a family, at least a group of people who were deeply dedicated to helping each other and thriving together. I had the most fulfilling work experience of my life at Ultimate. I felt trusted, valued, and cared for. I woke up excited for work most days. I made lifelong friends and worked with some of the most passionate, intelligent people I have ever met. We were united around doing something amazing together, which led to a culture that truly, honestly, was excellent. That is not the case anymore. One only has to look at the composition of our executive levels to see the beginning of the end. They are ALL Kronos executives. Where once there was diversity of thought AND diversity of ethnicity and gender, we now have little to none of either. What's it like to work at UKG? Go back in time 20-30 years. Put authoritarian boomers in charge of everything. Employees are now numbers, data points on a spreadsheet that don't matter except in how they can provide more value at less cost. Watch as leadership chooses to run their new, larger, and incredibly more complex company in exactly the same way that they ran their mid-sized timekeeping company for the last 20 years. Watch that fail. Try to teach, share, and collaborate and instead deal with politics, power grabs, and black and white thinking. Watch as the failure to learn, to adapt, to even acknowledge another way of doing things causes an erosion in both the quality of the product and the quality of the service provided to customers. Watch as top talent drains away at a trickle and then a rush (or is aggressively driven out because they dared to push back against the status quo). Watch those jobs become outsourced to India, then rinse and repeat. Is UKG a generally bad place to work? Even after writing everything above... Not really, if I'm honest. There is real opportunity for growth over the next few years as well as the promise of stability that a company of this size typically offers. The amazing Ultimate benefits were kept (for now). Some parts of the org are more functional and have done better at adapting than others. I am not personally unhappy in my job as it stands, which I hope brings some context to the above word vomit - I am not a disgruntled ex-employee, but someone who has watched this process from beginning to end and still somehow has hope, even though it's small, for a better future. I truly want things to be better; I just don't see that happening anytime soon. Overall, UKG is an okay place to work. Nothing shocking when it comes to corporate America I suppose, and I've certainly worked at worse places than this. But the fact that we are just "okay" makes me sad knowing what was lost. The potential for excellence was there, but if you are looking for the excitement, engagement, and innovation that come with a best-in-class work culture, I'd look elsewhere for now.

      60 people found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      UKG is beginning to lose it's shine from Ultimate Software

      Dec 30, 2021 - Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      45% match 401k 100% paid healthcare

      Cons

      Raises have been blunted even in a year of high inflation. No more Club No more team trips It feels like the company has started to put people on the sidelines of short term corporate profits less money allocated to promotions

      Continue reading
      26 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Best place to work. Hand down!

      Nov 5, 2020 - Service Specialist II in Saint Louis, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Inclusive, People oriented, Smart coworkers and managers make this the best place to want to succeed. They promote self care, and create an environment where it is a joy to come to work.

      Cons

      No cons for working for this company.

      139 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Purpose is growth

      Jan 21, 2022 - Director, Executive Relationship Management 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      UKG provides many great opportunities to engage and work directly with Executives across the organization. Provides visibility to those that want the opportunity to grow and expand their impact.

      Cons

      Getting bigger and not as responsive as they were historically.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great start to a new company!

      Jan 25, 2022 - IT Support Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Just started a new career at UKG looking forward to a great experience.

      Cons

      I have not worked a single day for UKG yet, just for anyone reading this to scaled impact/perspective on the inner working of the company.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Awesome Company

      Jan 24, 2022 - Business Development Representative in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing Company, look after their employees really well

      Cons

      No Cons, they are amazing

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Benefits

      Jan 24, 2022 - Senior Financial Analyst in Noida
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work Culture, Benefits, People, So much to Learn

      Cons

      None as of now. Thanks

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Place to Work.

      Jan 22, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Place to Work. Work Life Balance

      Cons

      No Cons so far in this.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      They don't care about you

      Jan 17, 2022 - Senior Technical Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits, 401k match, average salary

      Cons

      They do NOT care about you. I'm surprised they even know my name. They don't care about my 10 years of service with them and don't care to take the time to ask me for my opinion. They have forced me out within 3 months. I'm already looking for another job which I think will be easy. Their security practices are deplorable and the recent hack is probably going to be one of many. Good luck UKG, you've mistreated your employees, and now it's time for your employees to mistreat you.

      Continue reading
      15 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 3,719 Reviews

    Popular Careers with UKG (Ultimate Kronos Group) Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at UKG (Ultimate Kronos Group)? Share Your Experiences

    UKG (Ultimate Kronos Group) logo
    or