Twitch Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Twitch Reviews

Updated 27 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
59%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Twitch CEO Emmett Shear (no image)
Emmett Shear
174 Ratings
Pros
  • "And if you're into it, we get great perks and good Amazon benefits(in 20 reviews)

  • "And the work/life balance is pretty good, people rarely work nights or weekends on my team at least(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "Still some growing pains from being a growth focused startup to a more mature company(in 13 reviews)

  • "Because of mandates from upper management pushing a product or idea because they think it will drive minutes(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "you'll learn a lot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Legal Operations Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Twitch full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    work hard, much to digest, learn a lot, good pay and perks

    Cons

    stressful, good luck turning your brain off

    Continue reading
    Twitch2020-02-28
  2. "Becoming a fail-upwards country club for un-diverse MBA grads"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Twitch full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Amazing free food -A handful of good people in lower-mid ranks -Beautiful office -You get to work on a product that's beloved

    Cons

    What made Twitch great was its mix of passionate, multitalented people from all walks of life, but the recent C-level hires are farce of country-club nepotism (for people of certain skin colors. Can you guess which?). Does Twitch not vet the reputations of any of their exec hires? The COO chain-migrated a bunch friends from Pandora. The chief HR officer is famous of bungling Buzzfeed's recent layoffs. A recent CMO came in, fired a bunch of beloved Twitch vets, and left. The new CRO's first order of business was to hire 3 men who look very demographically similar to himself, and he spends meetings variously bragging about his connections to other powerful conservative men who look a lot like himself, telling people that they shouldn't have low morale, and wondering aloud why so many of the departing veterans are so critical of him (it must be because they're whiners and haters! Where have I heard this attitude before? Ah yes, from the famously competent and moral cabinet of the current White House... seriously, it's becoming like that).

    Continue reading
    Twitch2020-02-21
  3. "Good but not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Twitch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People who work here generally love the product. Great location in FiDi SF Relevant tech stack Good WLB

    Cons

    Compensation is tied to Amazon policies that can be uncompetitive for high performers

    Twitch2020-01-15
  4. "Worst Culture I've ever seen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Product 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Twitch full-time

    Pros

    Free food/snacks Gaming culture if you are really into games Cool office

    Cons

    If you are engineers, you are well treated at twitch. If you are in product, be prepared with political coworkers/managers. Majority of decisions here are top down.

    Twitch2020-01-26
  5. Helpful (3)

    "One of my favorite places to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Twitch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great product that overall has a lot of deeply passionate fans. TwitchCon is a blast - I LOVE my manager, and my manager's manager. Really enjoy working with my team over the past couple years. I have many close friends within the company now - I've learned a ton at the company and I get a lot of flexibility to pursue projects that are important to me (and add value to our team/company of course) - I can easily see it being a company I stick with for a long time (10 years)

    Cons

    - As with most places, work experience can vary by team - Collaboration within the company is a weak area. Everyone's trying to work hard on this but there have certainly been some growing pains - Compensation is a little too heavily indexed on Amazon Stock. Compensation adjustments due to raises or promotions largely come in stock grants which can take a couple years before you see that money - not the most immediately gratifying thing

    Twitch2019-12-05
  6. "Amazing!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Twitch full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Culture - Office Space - People The place is awesome, i have been working for twitch for 6 months and have loved every minute, there are a lot of opportunities to experience new things and to impact change within the business, its great.

    Cons

    None at present, keep up the great work.

    Twitch2019-12-13
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Join at your own Risk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People Operations 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Twitch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free food If you are lucky, great coworkers

    Cons

    Favoritism by the upper People Team leadership It's all about who screams the loudest Support is only provided after they've broken you

    Continue reading
    Twitch2019-12-25
  8. "Lost its Soul"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Twitch full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    still some amazing people, great mission...on paper

    Cons

    amazon has infected the company

    Continue reading
    Twitch2019-12-19
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great community"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Twitch full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Positive and supportive community, great benefits

    Cons

    Strongly suggest you like gaming to work here

    Twitch2019-11-10
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Great people, horrendous leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Twitch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Great perks on a dull spread of snacks and complimentary lunches - All of the benefits of working at Amazon while not technically working at Amazon, and getting additional Twitch-specific benefits like unlimited PTO, food, fitness reimbursement, etc - Amazing people get hired here that are truly passionate for the product and the customers and platform

    Cons

    -Leadership is a clown car, a constant revolving door full of people that don’t understand the product and don’t care about employee morale and work culture. Unfortunately this is a trickle down toxicity problem that starts with the CEO. -Strategic schizophrenia, constantly roadmap and prioritization whiplash, lack of clarity and vision, and reorg after reorg after reorg High turnover, so all those amazing people I mentioned in the pros...they all leave before long

    Continue reading
    Twitch2019-11-07

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 244 reviews