Twilio Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Twilio Reviews

Updated Dec 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
76%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Twilio CEO and Co-Founder Jeff Lawson
Jeff Lawson
138 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance is amazing, and each manager I've had has been extremely reasonable with expectations(in 9 reviews)

  • "Great culture that doesn't feel contrived or forced(in 8 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fabulous place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Twilio full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work from home Travel (All expensed) Personal Laptop (MAC pro) Benefits - healthcare,pension,phone,gym Free lunches Free snacks/drinks (Alcohol too) Great people

    Cons

    Literally can't think of one

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing :)

    Twilio2019-11-13
  2. "Total Rewards"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Total Rewards in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Twilio full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere and constant new opportunities

    Cons

    Any cons, I would say the company is still learning so is just matter of time to improve internal processes

    Twilio2019-08-22
  3. Helpful (5)

    "All companies have their good and bad points - but Twilio is undeniably a really good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Twilio full-time

    Pros

    No company is perfect; and of course there are some things about Twilio that annoy or frustrate - but overall Twilio is a good company with a strong conscience - I do genuinely feel that they care about the welfare of employees, and I have found it to be a fun and stimulating work environment - but with a lot of stability and grounding too (1) Flexible working conditions -- my boss has always been... understanding with requests to work remotely, leave early if necessary, take time off for personal issues (2) Good work/life balance -- While you are at work in Twilio, you do work hard ; but once you are finished for the day - you really are finished. You can work as hard as you want and as long as you want - but overall, Twilio is respectful of people's time and personal lives (3) Fun work environment -- it's a fun environment to work in; Twilio seems to put a lot of effort into their facilities and employee experience offerings (4) Good benefits -- The benefits used to be kind of so-so, but they have overhauled them and now its actually really quite good (5) Respectful of diversity -- As someone who is from a minority, I feel that Twilio does a good job with fostering a safe work space - and it feels genuine to me, not like a company which is just paying lip service (6) Understanding and empathetic management and HR Department -- all the management which I have engaged with have been very supportive, understanding and empathetic. Of course, the role as a manager is to coach and help employees grow - so as in any company, managers are not shy about being honest with feedback - but this feedback has only ever been delivered in a respectful and professional manner. Similarly, Twilio puts a lot of effort into their HR and employee experience efforts - and I think that the HR function is probably the best and most supportive one that I have seen out of all the companies I have worked for. (7) A genuinely good quality suite of products that provides a tangible value add for customers -- It might be complicated at times, but at the end of the day, Twilio is a good quality product offering, and it's easy to see why people would choose to use our products. For me, this makes it easier to understand the product and do my job (8) Lots of mobility and opportunity to move around teams -- Twilio likes giving people the opportunity to move around and try different things and work on different teams, and its quite common to see people move around to different roles

    Show More

    Cons

    (1) Complicated products that change pretty quickly -- only a con if you are someone who is not comfortable in that kind of environment - but sometimes you do feel a bit all at sea with all of the new products (2) Sometimes lengthy chains of communication which make it hard to get tasks done quickly -- some teams have complicated structures with people in different time zones and with different... responsibilities - so it is hard to adopt a rinse and repeat methodology with workflow (3) Very San Francisco dependent -- this is improving, but we are still heavily anchored to SF for a lot of more important issues - with the timezone difference, this can sometimes be a headache (4) lack of precedence for certain customer situations which means that you are sometimes winging it and hoping for the best -- Twilio is an ever changing suite of products, and inevitably, there are sometimes new situations and problems) (5) Constantly changing priorities -- sometimes it is a case of something being important one day, and then low priority the next - the only way to handle it is to just ride the wave of whatever is going on at that time (6) Very "American" -- Twilio doesn't seem to full grasp a lot of the cultural differences that exist between the US and EMEA - so sometimes their methods can be a bit jarring for those not used to the more informal American work culture. Honestly, most of the time this is more of a source of laughter than a gripe - but its definitely something that they should address as they grow in Europe

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - put more effort into localizing the product and services for other markets outside of the USA - slow down with releasing new products until everyone is on the same page in terms of knowledge level

    Twilio2019-07-25
  4. Helpful (9)

    "All may not be what it seems. Welcome to Twilio Dublin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Twilio full-time

    Pros

    Some great people working in the office. Salary and benefits are good.

    Cons

    HR in Dublin is self a serving, spouting 'function', and is sure to tell everyone that they are all about the business and its people, its great sales talk. This person rarely shows up in the office. Only comes in when a senior manager or director visits from another office to give the illusion that they're usually there. This person does not want to deal with any issues that come their way, removes themself... from any possible grievance, and passes it onto another person so not to annoy senior managers and directors by highlighting grievances. Being ‘friends’ with these senior managers is more important then doing the job they’re there to do. The previous 5 star review for Dublin "Encouraged to be your authentic self" with the section about HR in particular being approachable and helpful, is the most self indulgent tripe I've ever seen. Obviously a fake review from HR.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    None. They won't listen.

    Twilio2019-07-21
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Encouraged to be your authentic self. Not big in hierarchy- Welcome to Twilio Dublin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Twilio full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Twilio is a great employer. I appreciate it especially when I compare myself to my peers in other tech companies. We get paid very competitively and the perks are amazing. The job itself is rather interesting as well. I love the very caring and chilled atmosphere in the office - coming from a financial background , the flexibility my managers give me and the autonomy is amazing and I for one am very appreciative of... it , we are given the tools to succeed. In no other company will you get so much 1:1 time with your manager and controller who will sit you down and ask what career path you're looking at and how they can help you get there. You're always encouraged to be your authentic self. Not big in hierarchy. - Sense of belonging: The people working here are usually passionate about what they are doing. HR team very approachable and helpful when anytime advice was required. Always available :-) Lot's of resources for learning and development while you work in making the world more open and connected

    Show More

    Cons

    - As in any company you will encounter issues and you will not be happy with many things, it's not Paradise.However , I found that the more we put in the more we get back. - Very fast paced environment. - You get a lot and you have to give back more.

    Advice to Management

    Work on the on-boarding process for new hires more so we can ramp up more quickly onboard people in larger batches and have events for them to get to know current full times because it can be a bit difficult when it seems like everyone already knows each other. More communication across departments especially with peers in SF.

    Twilio2019-05-24
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Great opportunities in an exciting company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Analyst in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Twilio full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of pros here: 1. Twilio is experiencing a huge amount of rapid growth. This gives employees an opportunity to get a vast amount of experience in senior tasks that may not be possible in more established companies. 2. The benefits are excellent - health insurance, well-being monthly allowances/perks and great stock plans. Parental leave and PRSA pension were also recently added, putting us on a level playing... field with other tech companies. Of course, there's lots of food/beverages to enjoy & social engagements too. 3. There is typically a fun and relaxed atmosphere. 4. Company-wide leadership is very approachable. 5. There is a lot of flexibility with work hours & places (e.g working from home is no problem & fitting hours around personal commitments is also very do-able as long as you are getting your work done). This is a huge perk. 6. Teams are so willing to help each other. Most people working at twilio are incredibly friendly.

    Show More

    Cons

    Some cons due to the rapid growth: 1. There is risk of burn-out for some employees, due to the rapid growth - however & keeping up with the pace of change, however, this is acknowledged by management and not ignored. 2. Internal processes are not yet where they need to be - but it is a case of progress over perfection. This is to be expected in a growing company. 3. Working across multiple timezones can... affect work-life balance negatively, however, as the company grows, I expect a more in-region business model to be put into practice. The flexibility available also counter-acts this.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep working on enablement & on-boarding. The culture & values right now are truly fantastic - so let's ensure we keep that same vibe as we grow.

    Twilio2019-05-22
  7. Helpful (11)

    "Very Sexist - Unqualified Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance Department in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Twilio full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free Food and Drink, Good salaries.

    Cons

    The Dublin Finance department is very sexist. I also question some of current managements qualifications as they don't even know basic accounting skills let alone management skills. Don't expect to be praised for your hard work (if you are a woman) you will just be told to work harder and ask why you are so busy while doing the work of four people while the male colleges pass all their work across to all the other... women in the team and do no work themselves while getting all the praise for others work. Don't even bother reporting to HR because it just makes it worse. Its a boys club.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Check the qualifications and experience of management before promoting or hiring them. Also manners and respect for staff goes along way. People leave bad managers not bad companies.

    Twilio2019-04-29
  8. Helpful (9)

    "valley startup prepping for exit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Twilio

    Pros

    loads of free stuff, very excitable environment, very talented crowd

    Cons

    massive age gaps between operations and management, all processes aimed at exit, negligence of quality outside of US, unsustainable people management, unequal compensation and benefits, technocratic management, massive turnover, huge losses of culture and talent over last 24 months

    Advice to Management

    employees do not exit

    Twilio2016-07-13
  9. Helpful (1)

    "A Place to Grow, Build and Have Impact"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Twilio full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've found that people at Twilio are smart, driven and want to do the right thing. There's a huge market opportunity where we're addressing real customer challenges in ways that make people's jobs easier. Love that we use our product for social good and appreciate the opportunity to make a difference in more ways that one. There's a lot of new management and they are people who have worked at scale and can help us... as we continue to grow and evolve. Good people, lots of challenging work, and great market opportunity!

    Show More

    Cons

    2019 was a year of growing pains. We doubled our workforce and don't have the infrastructure and processes that support our size and scale. We need to go slower to go faster long term since we're feeling the growing pains that come with this level of growth. We sometimes fail to live our value of ruthlessly prioritizing and try to do too much at one time. Have many first time managers who are learning on the job... which is hard, especially when you're working with a distributed team.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Love what I'm hearing about us investing more in systems and processes so please make certain we really do it and don't let other priorities get in the way. Need to invest in managers and make certain they are great and don't tolerate anyone, especially managers, who aren't great and who don't live our values. Continue to focus on our customer and wearing the customers shoes but make certain you pay attention to the... internal customers as well. Believe we can have an amazing future and be one of the best companies ever if we focus on these things.

    Show More
    Twilio2019-12-12
  10. Helpful (9)

    "Used to be such a great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Twilio full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great business. Incredible demand and minimal direct competition.

    Cons

    They work people to death and don't invest in systems or adequate human resources. They just don't care about people anymore. Profits over people is an understatement. Twilio rarely promotes from within, especially women and underrepresented minorities. Pretty much the only way to become a VP is to be hired in as one.

    Advice to Management

    Think about how valuable your human resources are and how costly it will be to replace them. Go back to being kind and caring human beings.

    Twilio2019-11-27
Found 181 reviews