Tufts Medical Center Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Tufts Medical Center Reviews

Updated Sep 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 240 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Tufts Medical Center CEO Dr. Michael Apkon (no image)
Dr. Michael Apkon
13 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people in all departments(in 12 reviews)

  • "Great place to work with great preceptors and amazing staff(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management only thinks of themselves, sad as I used to be proud to work at Tufts(in 7 reviews)

  • "Low pay for pricing of housing in Boston(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Anesthesia Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anesthesia Tech in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tufts Medical Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great job to participate in anesthesia procedure, know OR.

    Cons

    Nightshift is very demanding, but rewarding!

    Tufts Medical Center2019-09-04
  2. "OK Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Accountant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tufts Medical Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance, location, and health benefits

    Cons

    Low pay, no room for advancement

    Tufts Medical Center2019-09-12
  3. "Over all a good company, evolving, with some growing pains."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Assistant II/Flow Manager in Melrose, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Tufts Medical Center full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Job stability, up to date training, good benefits, with the addition of Tufts to the former Hallmark health sites we now have access to Tufts specialists in the community not just in Boston. Tuition reimbursement.

    Cons

    Constant policy change, little room for advancement in the outer offices, some site leads allowed to "make up their own rules". Sometimes real problems are not dealt with in a professional manor.

    Advice to Management

    Take a look at your company from the bottom up instead of just from the top. The "little people" are the ones on the front line with patients care and contact. Make clear paths for advancement for those who wish to do so. Don't just give the job to that one person who you know because there is a lot of talent being lost. Visit your off sites and include them in your perks. It's always nice to see that the hospital... staff can get a chair massage and go to the company BBQ. The staff in my office has a combined tenor of over 75 years and none of us have ever been to the employee BBQ. I know it seems small but as far as moral goes we always feel left out.

    Show More
    Tufts Medical Center2019-09-12
  4. "Could do better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Molecular Technologist 

    I worked at Tufts Medical Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy Commute, paid holidays, overtime, great learning experience.

    Cons

    A lot of unhappy employees .

    Tufts Medical Center2019-09-05
  5. "Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Health Analyst in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tufts Medical Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Employees are nice and you can make lots of friends.

    Cons

    Not much opportunity for growth.

    Tufts Medical Center2019-08-30
  6. "Amazing culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tufts Medical Center full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Love my co-workers! Everyone is so nice and not snobby like other academic medical centers.

    Cons

    People don't realize how good this hidden gem is

    Advice to Management

    Start those capital projects sooner than later.

    Tufts Medical Center2019-08-14

    Tufts Medical Center Response

    August 16, 2019Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for sharing your experience. The people are what make Tufts Medical Center great!

  7. "compassionate and dedicated to patients, lack of interpersonal coordination"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contact Center Coordinator in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Tufts Medical Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    focused on optimal patient care, caring and compassionate nursing staff

    Cons

    lack of coordination and streamline of information within departments

    Advice to Management

    develop standard procedures and guidelines for future all departments and future employees to follow as one streamlined initiative.

    Tufts Medical Center2019-08-08
  8. "Was great at one time."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Tufts Medical Center full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Coworker are great to work with.

    Cons

    Sr Leadership is out of touch.

    Tufts Medical Center2019-08-14
  9. "Great people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Administrator in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tufts Medical Center full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are great, including management

    Cons

    The pay is lower than other area hospitals

    Tufts Medical Center2019-07-24
  10. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student in Tufts University, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tufts Medical Center full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some of the best people to work with Very genuine and will help you succeed

    Cons

    Sometimes having time for yourself is an issue

    Tufts Medical Center2019-06-25

    Tufts Medical Center Response

    August 16, 2019Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for sharing your experience!

Found 240 reviews