Trident Media Group Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Trident Media Group Reviews

Updated 6 Nov 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
46%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Trident Media Group CEO Dan Strone (no image)
Dan Strone
1 Ratings
  1. "Dysfunction Junction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Trident Media Group full-time

    Pros

    Trident can be a great place if you work for a good boss, but there aren't many here. If you do have a good boss, the long hours and intensity will be an awesome learning experience, especially if you're looking for that first publishing gig. The base pay, benefits, and time off are better than pretty much every all small agency, and this doesn't go unappreciated. The CEO is as accessible as he can be given his... schedule and knows that the environment can be a little crazy and works to mitigate it as he can.

    Show More

    Cons

    Everyone in here lives in fear of the chairman and the intense hierarchy makes the whole environment fear-driven and gossipy- everyone is always looking for someone to throw under the bus. HR exists, but is absolutely atrocious and usually downright mean, so its not worth dealing with the HR woman for anything. The worst part is that they see bad reviews like this as someone an affirmation of how great they are-... they think they've fostered an intense environment of winners where only the strong survive here, but in reality, the strong usually work a desk for a year, wise up, realize that they're worth more than awful pay and constant terror and pressure, and leave for greener pastures.

    Show More
    Trident Media Group2018-11-06
  2. "great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Trident Media Group full-time

    Pros

    easy going atmosphere, numerous opportunities for advancement

    Cons

    none that I can think of at this time

    Trident Media Group2017-10-24
  3. "this company does not exist anymore, tried explaining but no use, this was a Belgrade, Serbia based culture portal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Photographer in Belgrade

    I have been working at Trident Media Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    was a great place to work at, inspiring team, cool assignments culture oriented

    Cons

    a bit stingy on the payout end

    Advice to Management

    create a new platform that doesn`t necessarily follow only the motto "what sells best"

    Trident Media Group2017-08-17
  4. "Trident Expects the Best, which is why they ARE the best."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Trident Media Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    High expectations, but those very expectations proved essential to survive the literary business, and put me ahead of the crowd.

    Cons

    Upward mobility is hard; only the best of the best end up an agent; you have to prove yourself.

    Advice to Management

    Allow for an office pet. Total morale booster!

    Trident Media Group2016-09-08
  5. "Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Trident Media Group

    Pros

    Great people Fun atmosphere Amazing management who knows what they are doing. Great hours Great size company. You never feel like a number. They treat their employees and clients with respect.

    Cons

    I am not working there anymore. If I was continuing my career as a literary agent, this is where I'd want to be.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Trident Media Group2016-09-08
  6. "A place to be the master of your own destiny"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Literary Agent in White Plains, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Trident Media Group

    Pros

    -The Chairman and CEO's doors are always open -Light and fun atmosphere -Peaceful work environment -Intellectually enriching work

    Cons

    I haven't found many cons at all in working here.

    Trident Media Group2016-09-07
  7. "Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Trident Media Group full-time

    Pros

    Most of the assistants are really smart, reliable people. You can trust them to do their work so that you can do yours. You see aspects of all of the various areas in publishing: marketing, editing, subsidiary rights, accounting, etc. So it's a good place to be if you aren't sure what area you like best. It pays well compared to other places, and they have good medical benefits.

    Cons

    Work might officially end at 6 or 6:30, but assistants either stay late, bring work home, or come in on Saturdays. Their winter holiday vacation is pretty liberal though. Little to no upward mobility. Look elsewhere for a promotion after you get some experience. It doesn't feel like a team. It feels more like a loose association of agents and their assistants sharing a space.

    Advice to Management

    Take time to get to know the assistants, their skills, and their ambitions.

    Trident Media Group2016-09-16
  8. "Adequate."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Literary Assistant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Trident Media Group for more than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed. Flexible Hours. Good location.

    Cons

    Small commission. Difficult to advance.

    Advice to Management

    If you want quality workers, pay quality salaries.

    Trident Media Group2015-07-28
  9. "It's not you it's them"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Literary Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Trident Media Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice fellow assistants to commiserate with

    Cons

    This place is awful, super corporate, absolutely no room for growth, ridiculous turn-over, agents are competitive with each other, people are backstabbing, assistants have absolutely no say in anything.

    Advice to Management

    Get off your high horses.

    Trident Media Group2015-07-14
  10. "Executive Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Trident Media Group

    Pros

    Great exposure to literary business

    Cons

    Zero opportunity to move up

    Advice to Management

    Hold on to the people who are the best at their jobs. Too much turnaround and favoritism brings down the office culture.

    Trident Media Group2015-03-18
Found 13 reviews