Travelers Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Travelers Reviews

Updated Dec 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
74%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Travelers Chief Executive Officer Alan D. Schnitzer
Alan D. Schnitzer
697 Ratings
Pros
  • "You'd expect to get great benefits from a company with 30k employees and you'd right(in 191 reviews)

  • "Work life balance better than industry(in 184 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Summer Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Travelers

    Pros

    Great company to work for and everyone is very helpful.

    Cons

    Large company so it can be very isolating at times with everyone in their own cubicles.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    Travelers2017-10-15
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Dreadful Atmosphere, Constant Redundancies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Worker in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Travelers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Accounts Department, Regional Underwriting Officer

    Cons

    Atmosphere is terrible A lot of very two faced people

    Advice to Management

    Use your own judgement and stop letting the horrible staff use you as puppets

    Travelers2019-07-16
  3. "Underwriter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Travelers full-time

    Pros

    Access to senior management, knowledge accessibility.

    Cons

    Easy to get pigeon holed. Can be very colicky.

    Advice to Management

    Pay better and there might be better staff retention at entry level.

    Travelers2019-03-06
  4. Helpful (1)

    "fantastic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Actuarial Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Travelers

    Pros

    It was a great environment, very friendly and challenging. The work-life balance is ideal and the management are excellent.

    Cons

    Social events are very scarce.

    Travelers2015-03-30
  5. "Excellent Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant, Information Delivery in Hartford, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Travelers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Hip culture, for the insurance industry, that favors progress and innovation. Flexible schedule and the ability to work from home. Class leading compensation and growth potential that is only limited by work ethic.

    Cons

    Some areas still utilize niche, aging or out dated technology.

    Travelers2019-12-12
  6. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Workers Compensation Claims Adjuster in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Travelers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place, people, ethics.

    Cons

    Some software we used were very outdated.

    Travelers2019-12-11
  7. "Great adapter of technology in the industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Unit Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Travelers full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pension, Health benefits, Advancement opportunity, supports veteran hiring

    Cons

    Work life balance can be challenging

    Advice to Management

    Listen more to mid level

    Travelers2019-12-12
  8. "Travelers Provides Growth Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Hartford, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Travelers full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There are so many opportunities at Travelers so your career can be whatever you want it to be. Great benefits (medical, 401k match, PTO) and Executive Leadership makes employees their priority. In many positions you can work from home when necessary, which is very helpful.

    Cons

    It can be very difficult to understand where your specific role fits in within your department or the entire company as it's such a large organization.

    Travelers2019-12-06
  9. "Good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Travelers part-time

    Pros

    Relaxed, friendly environment, easy to make friends

    Cons

    Sometimes you have long hours

    Travelers2019-12-07
  10. Helpful (1)

    "The Culture and the People are Extrordinary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technology Leader in Hartford, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Travelers full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    * I was at the company for 7 years before I saw a politically motivated set of activities. Almost all people do have the best interests of the team and the company at heart. * Strong collaboration and a strong sense of team. * Very strong leaders and clear vision. * Adapting to market and best in class organizational principles.

    Cons

    * Not all parts of the large company are treated equally. * There is a handful of micro-managers but they can be avoided. * In some areas, the collaboration culture can become a culture of seeking permission. This slows us down.

    Advice to Management

    * Keep going. We are on the right track. Figure out how we keep the collaboration culture and at the same time empower our most valuable resource - our people.

    Travelers2019-11-27
Found 2488 reviews