Trailfinders Senior Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Trailfinders Senior Consultant Reviews

Updated 24 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
76%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Trailfinders CEO Toby Kelly
Toby Kelly
3 Ratings
  1. "Don’t bother"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Travel Consultant in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Trailfinders full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free lunch, staff are great on the level you are working on, ok travel perks (getting worse) fun training in London. Uniform so don’t have to think what to wear. Travel fun for your own trips.

    Cons

    Management in my travel center were awful!! Never taught how to be a manager and was only hired as had been there a long time. Would get angry and argue with staff, was out to get you if numbers weren’t great for one month, didn’t support you if you had personal stuff going on (got told couldn’t go to aunts funeral, still went). Targets are getting higher and higher compared to a few years ago. Upper management turn a blind eye and don’t listen when you try and express concerns, blame goes back to you. People in other travel centers can ruin your bookings or refuse to help. Literally little to no time in your personal life and almost impossible to take shifts. Have to book your annual leave nearly a year in advance, not everyone know what’s they’re doing that far. Can’t take annual leave on a Sunday! So regimented, if you’re off the phone more than ten minutes a manager is on your back. Have a stupid sales wheel you have to follow which doesn’t work with everyone’s selling styles, if you’re still selling and not following that wheel, you can get warnings.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Train your managers correctly like you do for frontline staff. Take front line staffs advice! The know what’s happening more than the people looking at statistics from a desk in Kensington. Be way more flexible with rosters, this is 2019, people can easily go somewhere else with a happier work life balance, which I am seeing as pretty high turnover

    Trailfinders2019-04-18
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Interesting enjoyable work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Travel Consultant in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Trailfinders full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Proud to work for a company that puts clients first and is well reviewed by clients -Tailor making holidays going to most of the world means the work is interesting and varied - Good pay - Excellent travel opportunities - Generous annual leave allowance - Like minded colleagues, easy to work with, I look forward to seeing them in work -Lovely clients - Lunch provided free of charge

    Cons

    -Extremely high expectations and targets -Long hours (although on the plus side we don't take work home so a day off is a day off) - Can be tricky to take certain days as annual leave particularly weekend days unless you can find a colleague who is available/willing to swap with you -Maternity pay and long term sick pay is not good

    Trailfinders2019-10-24
  3. Helpful (3)

    "High Standards, Good Rewards."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Bournemouth, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Trailfinders full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Expectations, and standards are high, but if you knuckle down and get through the first few tricky weeks/months as a consultant, growth can be achieved rapidly. With that growth comes better benefits and uncapped bonuses. I was promoted to team leader after approx 3/4 years and then again to a more senior position in the management team a few years after. The strength of the brand and the reputation of the TF product and, most importantly, the TF staff mean “twiddling of the thumbs” moments are non-existent. There will always be work to do and enquiries to book. Biggest pro working for the company; as a colleague said recently, we forget as staff, some of us are fortunate enough to go on “1 or 2 holidays of a lifetime every year”. Another great thing about TF, I’ve been with them nearly 10 years and met only a very few people in the company I didn’t like.

    Show More

    Cons

    Just some kindly advice for any potential candidate; This is not a Silicon Valley Tech company; there are no chill out rooms replete with bean bags, no complimentary smoothie bars, nor running tracks on the landscapes roof...it is a very client focussed company meaning you are expected to be at your desk pretty much for the whole working day. Multiple considerations, based on the company’s needs, mean although we get a lot of leave, it can be tricky to actually book the time off. Open pretty much every bank holiday inc Easter, NY & Xmas Eve, which, although of benefit to some clients, from a staff point of view, can be a tough one to swallow.

    Show More
    Trailfinders2019-07-18
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Bristol, England

    I have been working at Trailfinders full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Staff perks are great! Staff travel deals, familiar and educational trips are always something that is offered to you if you are hitting your targets and working hard. Lunch is provided and also break is paid. Social atmosphere and attitude is great and positive. Opportunities to try out new stores from 6 to 12 months and bonuses that come with the secondment.

    Cons

    Long weekend shifts- The importance of being open on a weekend is clear yet the shift patterns seem long. I can only comment on this store in particular , but being open until a 6 on a Sunday seems unnecessary when everything is closed around us and very rarely do we get business later in the day. The uniform, it is a great way to keep consistency across the company - yet the styles are limited. This is something that is being worked on, but maybe a few choices would be great. Taking holiday - The holiday allowance is fantastic , yet taking it can be difficult. single days leave and getting multiple weeks in a row off can prove hard to get.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Currently uniform is being addressed, but It is definitely something we could do with more choice in. When applying for new roles, try not to base all the application process on figures, I understand it helps whittle down numbers , but maybe make it a little more human.

    Trailfinders2019-03-06
  5. "Travel Consultant Newcastle"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Newcastle, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Trailfinders full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great opportunities to travel with generous leave allowance and other incentives. Love being able to talk about travel all day and being surrounded by like minded, supportive colleagues. Very good pay for the industry and not commission based so don't feel under pressure to 'up-sell'. The management actively seeks employee feedback and suggestions and it's also nice to see a greater focus in recent months on highlighting staff who have the most positive feedback from clients rather than just those who have the highest sales figures.

    Show More

    Cons

    Long shifts which are often extended due to being caught up with a client (overtime is paid which is great but also means it's kind of expected) which can make having a good work/life balance tricky at times. Very limited opportunities for advancement unless you are willing to move to another part of the country.

    Advice to Management

    * Look to reduce hours on a more permanent basis, especially on Sunday. * Allow staff to stop receiving incoming calls 5-10 minutes before the end of shift to help enable them to finish on time.

    Trailfinders2019-03-08
  6. "Great travel perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Travel Consultant in Saint Albans, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Trailfinders full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Trailfinders have a great reputation so proud to work for them. Fantastic travel perks. Great access to resources - have built up a wealth of knowledge about the world. Lots of support behind the scenes so we can focus on selling. Working with likeminded people. Innovative company always trying to improve client offering and streamlining systems internally. Comprehensive and continuous training. Everyday is different so a huge amount of variety.

    Show More

    Cons

    It is fairly regimented with many rules, but they make this clear at the interview stage. I'm a rule person, so I don't mind, but if you're not a rule person, this is not the company for you.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    Trailfinders2018-12-13
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Good experience in the short term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Trailfinders full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Discounted travel opportunities Free lunch Good salary/bonuses Good industry training

    Cons

    Lack of ability to manage people as individuals Constant pressure Heavy workload Automatic distrust of staff Promote excellent customer service but do not treat their staff with the same respect

    Advice to Management

    Treat your staff like you treat your clients. Exceed their expectations.

    Trailfinders2018-05-05
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Overall positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Trailfinders full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you are prepared to work hard and are good in a target driven environment you could be earning in excess of £30k within 2-3 years. The people are like minded and a great bunch, the travel perks are incredible with not only the offerings of free trips but also the use of great staff deals. Yes the hours are long but the pay reflects it, its the best in the industry. In a nutshell it's a classic example of work hard/play hard and reap the travel rewards.

    Show More

    Cons

    The long hours for me isn't a negative, however the hours we work on a Sunday/bank holidays I think is ludicrous . We are the only shop open in any town after 4pm on a Sunday (open til 6) and being open on Easter Sunday is so ridiculous is laughable. They get their money's worth out of us but as I said previous, the salary does reflect that.

    Advice to Management

    You allow people to work 15 days straight in January as it is "busy season" however when it doesn't suit you, if we are desperate for a day swap in week we cant do more than 6 days. Try being a bit more flexible and using your brain rather that just saying "its the rules!!"

    Trailfinders2018-02-09
  9. "Challenging but Rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Travel Consultant in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Trailfinders full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good salary with excellent opportunities for travel. Comprehensive training and plenty of chance for progression. Ever changing industry that forces you to constantly improve your knowledge and adapt to new trends. Always something new to learn, no two days the same!

    Cons

    Step learning curve Comparatively long hours Difficult to book single days / weekends off Constantly changing shift pattern

    Trailfinders2018-01-31
  10. "A balanced view of life at Trailfinders"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Travel Consultant in Canterbury, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Trailfinders full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have worked at Trailfinders for a while now and whilst there are a few frustrations (show me a job that doesn't) the pros for me are: I get paid for every minute I am at work I get a good annual leave allowance compared to other industries I can work locally and do not have to commute I am provided with a uniform which saves me a fortune in work clothes I am rewarded with a bonus structure, the harder I work the more money I make. I love the people I work with, we all get on really well. My training for this job was thorough and I am always well supported in the workplace I may only get 30 mins for lunch but I am paid for this time and I get lunch included There is a good educational program so I can enhance my destination knowledge and improve my sales as long as I am meeting my sales objectives We have a wonderful product to work with and great travel partners. I enjoy my job very much overall and feel we offer a great service and product to our customers. If you love travel, want to work in a challenging role and enjoy the benefits for working hard, then you are looking in the right place.

    Show More

    Cons

    There are times when I struggle with work life balance. Our daily roster is 9 hours and with the intensity of the work this can feel like a long day at times. We do not work every weekend. The roster varies a bit but we get mostly every other weekend off and when we don't we get odd days during the week. We can swap with other members of our team with their agreement. Sometimes this can be a challenge but people accommodate when they can. When we take annual leave we cannot have any Sunday that we are rostered to work and will need to swap this with others. This can apply to Saturdays if one of your colleagues already has this booked off for annual leave. This can be a challenge at times. I do understand that a business has to be run though, so not sure how this could be rectified. Currently we are open between 10am and 6pm on Sunday. I believe this is not necessary and should only be 10am to 4pm. We have old equipment and chairs and desks which are not ergonomic. Health and safety needs to be addressed more proactively.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    When making decisions at Senior Management level please be mindful of work life balance. We are all more productive when we are rested and rejuvenated. We need to address the health and safety issues within each travel centre and in particular, the issues around ergonomic desks and chairs.

    Trailfinders2018-01-30
Found 19 reviews