Thumbtack "growing pains" Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Thumbtack Employee Reviews about "growing pains"

Updated 9 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
97%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Thumbtack CEO Marco Zappacosta
Marco Zappacosta
227 Ratings
Pros
  • "Excellent vacation time with good work-life balance(in 28 reviews)

  • "The culinary team is amazing (3 homemade meals a day, can't beat it(in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • "There are little to no significant cons to working here, other than growing pains are causing parking to become an issue(in 25 reviews)

  • "They don't offer any 401K matching(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "growing pains"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Excellent Culture & Vibe"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Account Executive in Draper, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This company does everything to show us how valuable their employees are, and we feel that every single day at work. There are few companies out there that treat employees like actual assets, and Thumbtack does an excellent job providing positive reinforcement.

    Cons

    There are little to no significant cons to working here, other than growing pains are causing parking to become an issue.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to treat employees like assets.

    Thumbtack2019-10-09
  2. "Best Company I've Ever Worked For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Draper, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company Values - These are actually something that is lived and emulated from the top down. Thumbtack cares not only about their customers and Pros, but also cares greatly about the happenies and work-life balance of their employees. Benefits - The benefits are amazing! Comp - For B2B sales is very competitive. Growth - The sales team is growing with lots of opportunities to add value and grow into leadership roles Culture - It is not a cutthroat sales culture. The atmosphere is very competitive but also very collaborative. Managers - Those in management positions are servant leaders and care about their people

    Show More

    Cons

    Growing Pains - As the company continues to grow, finding and adopting the right tools will be crucial to maintaining an efficient productive sales teams.

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing in your people managers' development.

    Thumbtack2019-10-09
  3. "Textbook Example of a Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Thumbtack's greatest asset is the culture. The company provides benefits that go above and beyond industry standard. People are encouraged to be themselves. Diversity is celebrated here. While Thumbtack has been around for just over a decade, it still has the energy of a startup. I love the environment working here.

    Cons

    As the company grows there are also some growing pains. This can be difficult if you are someone who has difficulty with a fast paced environment and constant change.

    Advice to Management

    As the company grows I hope than management continues to stay rooted in continuing the healthy culture that we have today.

    Thumbtack2019-10-09
  4. "Great Place to Be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Strategic Account Executive in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A good work environment that supports a work/life balance. Management is supportive and always encouraging and helping you grow at the company. They have great benefits and leave you with the feeling that they really care about their employees.

    Cons

    Lots of growing pains. The company is growing fast so be ready to always be ready to adjust.

    Thumbtack2019-10-09
  5. "Great opportunities to grow at Thumbtack"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Designer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thumbtack full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Great food and working environment -Transparent management

    Cons

    -No 401K -Suffering from growing pains

    Thumbtack2019-05-25
  6. "Fun team with great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thumbtack full-time

    Pros

    -Opportunity for high achievers to excel -Well-respected CEO

    Cons

    -Some growing pains with management

    Thumbtack2018-12-31
  7. "Great Team, Meaningful Vision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thumbtack full-time

    Pros

    Helpful and motivated team, great perks, mission-driven,

    Cons

    Growing pains of a fast-growing company in a competitive sector

    Thumbtack2018-12-17
  8. "Great culture. Great mission. Big opportunity."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Learning in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Thumbtack has a huge opportunity to reshape the local services marketplace. Using tech to enable small business owners to do the work they love is meaningful. Senior leadership share their vision and instill confidence in what we can achieve. My manager focuses on my growth as an individual and drives our team to do interesting work. Great people all around. And good benefits that continue to improve with time.

    Cons

    In some ways, Thumbtack is at its awkward teenage years as far as org growth. Systems are formalizing. Good work and performance are more valued. The changes feel positive but there are some growing pains and cultural shifts. Hoping for more career paths and opportunities for internal growth; I believe they are soon to come.

    Thumbtack2018-05-16
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company - Some Bad Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive in Draper, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of growth opportunity. Fast paced environment. Innovative company. Free lunch daily and other incentives.

    Cons

    Underpaid, bad choices for Sr. Management, growing so fast it causes normal growing pains.

    Thumbtack2018-05-15
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Unique Culture & Start-up with Real Potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Draper, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have worked in many start-ups in my career and this is the first one with incredible potential. The executive team is engaged in the success of the business and with its employees. We are shifting the product and the culture to drive better outcomes for our pros, customers, and employees. Thumbtack is great to its employees. They are very transparent with how the company is doing, the company goals, soliciting feedback from employees, leadership is very approachable to all.

    Show More

    Cons

    Things have been really laid back and at times it is hard to drive accountability. The good news is the leadership team recognizes this and is making changes to address this. There are growing pains for sure but nothing that cannot be worked through.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to drive accountability and recognize your high performers.

    Thumbtack2017-11-13
Found 25 reviews