Thrifty Car and Van Rental Reviews

Updated 9 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
46%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
Thrifty Car and Van Rental Chairman Nigel Spokes  (no image)
Nigel Spokes
23 Ratings
  1. "owned by Hertz, they don't take care of their own"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Location Manager in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thrifty Car and Van Rental full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    As a manager, I got my car and gas as part of my pay, which is 150% the reason I stayed, however, it was the lowest paying management position I've ever had.

    Cons

    Upper management & corporate don't care about their frontline people, only themselves

    Continue reading
    Thrifty Car and Van Rental2020-05-09
  2. "Sales executive"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Heathrow, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thrifty Car and Van Rental full-time

    Pros

    Good commission structure You get what you earn

    Cons

    Lack of retail foot fall

    Continue reading
    Thrifty Car and Van Rental2020-03-02
  3. "An experience you wont forget..."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Thrifty Car and Van Rental full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Meet different types of people from all walks of life. Working with really nice cars. The challenge of dealing with different types of customers and situations.

    Cons

    The commission is the lowest in the industry. You will always be paid your basic salary. You will not be able to see how much commission you’ve made (only manager can) therefore you cannot dispute anything. I’m convinced i was always paid less and then they minus VAT. Not a single work perk such as (educational or health related). Managers can give themselves any perks they want but customer service team need to remember its not their dad’s company. The hierarchy from Area Manager down to Assistant Manager is like a family and the rest (including drivers) a guest staying over for a few hours a day.

    Continue reading
    Thrifty Car and Van Rental2020-01-25
  4. "Carp."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Valeter in Basingstoke, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Thrifty Car and Van Rental full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    [This space intentionally left blank]

    Cons

    You'd have a brighter future with a terminal diagnosis from your GP than as a Thrifty employee. Instead of claiming to offer ongoing training, they actually ought to offer ongoing counselling. But, if you're desperate and if meeting new people is your idea of fun, then you will be in your element as the company has a revolving door approach to staffing. Mainly zero-hours contracts paid at the minimum wage which, as others have mentioned, Thrifty managers like to refer to as a living wage. Which means you can look forward to working with all those social misfits your parents warned you about. One such being an individual who would disappear at random only to be overheard grunting and moaning in the ladies toilet. Layer upon layer of mind-numbingly thick management, drawn from a seemingly inexhaustible supply of hopeless cases, preoccupied with what mid-range BMW they'll be getting as their company car. Hard not to laugh. Especially at the younger staff members who carried on as if they were extras from an Ali G sketch. If you're ever in need of material for a sitcom, look no further.

    Continue reading
    Thrifty Car and Van Rental2020-02-20
  5. "I love my job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Administrator 

    I have been working at Thrifty Car and Van Rental full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    lovely team, free gym, onsite canteen,

    Cons

    Could offer a more valuable benefits package

    Thrifty Car and Van Rental2019-12-17
  6. "By name by nature"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Thrifty Car and Van Rental full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great cars ... not much else

    Cons

    No support, pay is bad, making us take sick days as holidays which is wrong

    Continue reading
    Thrifty Car and Van Rental2019-12-10
  7. "Dont"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Valet in Londonderry County Borough, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Thrifty Car and Van Rental full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Drive nice cars from time to time

    Cons

    Management look out for themsekevs

    Thrifty Car and Van Rental2019-11-17
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Ridiculous company for 2019"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Exeter, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Thrifty Car and Van Rental full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A gymnasium is good to work off your Anxieties. You do get a salary and there is off road parking if you're lucky to be the first in the building. Come early for no extra pay.

    Cons

    What a ridiculous company for the modern working world. How can you operate a company for humans and not have some sort of system in place for the middle management to adhere to. The middle management in this company are running wild and controlling not only the underlings but also the company owners. While the owners go and play golf the middle management think they can do what they like and that includes abusing the staff.

    Continue reading
    Thrifty Car and Van Rental2019-09-01

    Thrifty Car and Van Rental Response

    September 3, 2019Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for providing us with your comments. If you'd like to discuss your concerns further, please feel free to contact us directly on 01392 346003. In the meantime, I would like to thank you once again for providing us with your feedback and wish you all the very best for the future.

  9. "Work hard, play hard"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - C S R in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Thrifty Car and Van Rental full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good atmosphere. Easy work if not repetative

    Cons

    Long hours. Poor senior management

    Thrifty Car and Van Rental2019-07-16
  10. "Don't waste your time here"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Thrifty Car and Van Rental full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Colleagues at the branch were fab. Cars were nice.

    Cons

    Don't ever make the mistake of working here. They treat their staff like they treat their cars. UNITS......everyone is a unit. Long hours minimum wage. Not progression. No bonus unless you really really give day and evening to this company. No compassion No empatjy No progression

    Continue reading
    Thrifty Car and Van Rental2019-07-26
Found 44 reviews