Thrifty Car and Van Rental Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Thrifty Car and Van Rental Reviews

Updated 1 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
62%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Thrifty Car and Van Rental CEO Nigel Spokes  (no image)
Nigel Spokes
18 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Ridiculous company for 2019"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Exeter, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Thrifty Car and Van Rental full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A gymnasium is good to work off your Anxieties. You do get a salary and there is off road parking if you're lucky to be the first in the building. Come early for no extra pay.

    Cons

    What a ridiculous company for the modern working world. How can you operate a company for humans and not have some sort of system in place for the middle management to adhere to. The middle management in this company are running wild and controlling not only the underlings but also the company owners. While the owners go and play golf the middle management think they can do what they like and that includes abusing... the staff.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get your finger out of your posterior and get some control of the middle management in all Departments

    Thrifty Car and Van Rental2019-09-01
  2. "Work hard, play hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - C S R in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Thrifty Car and Van Rental full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good atmosphere. Easy work if not repetative

    Cons

    Long hours. Poor senior management

    Thrifty Car and Van Rental2019-07-16
  3. "Don't waste your time here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Thrifty Car and Van Rental full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Colleagues at the branch were fab. Cars were nice.

    Cons

    Don't ever make the mistake of working here. They treat their staff like they treat their cars. UNITS......everyone is a unit. Long hours minimum wage. Not progression. No bonus unless you really really give day and evening to this company. No compassion No empatjy No progression

    Advice to Management

    Treat your staff as people and not UNITS. discriminating against someone and not giving them a pay rise because they were off work too many days is wrong. ESPECIALLY WHEN YOU DIDNT EVEN ASK THEM WHY THEY WERE OFF. DEPRESSION is a serious thing. But Thrifty only care about turnover and making profit. Absolute disgrace how Thrifty treat their staff.

    Thrifty Car and Van Rental2019-07-26
  4. "Don’t bother"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Thrifty Car and Van Rental full-time

    Pros

    This place has Good transportation links,

    Cons

    I work in the high Wycombe reservations department. It’s very dirty and unhygienic, management are basically jus shooting arrows in the dark, I don’t think any of them really know what they’re supposed to be doing. Overall smelly and scruffy office. You will not be rewarded for working hard, there is a constant negative aura about the office. The highest turnover of staff I have ever seen! BELIEVE ME THERE... IS NO ROOM FOR PROGRESSION YOURE BETTER OFF AT CHICKEN COTTAGE. I am extremely disappointed and after months of hard work I feel all this time was a waste of my time and talent.

    Show More
    Thrifty Car and Van Rental2019-04-28
  5. "Fraudulent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Exeter, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Thrifty Car and Van Rental full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Salary at the end of the month was as good as it gets.

    Cons

    Bad management, Bad company culture, No scruples,Low quality company and moral or ethical standards of providing work to people.

    Advice to Management

    Find yourself another occupation

    Thrifty Car and Van Rental2019-04-28
  6. "Rental agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England

    I worked at Thrifty Car and Van Rental full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good colleagues and branch management

    Cons

    Low salary not always the chance for progression as a lot of managers stay in post for many years.

    Thrifty Car and Van Rental2019-02-11
  7. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Thrifty Car and Van Rental full-time

    Pros

    Line manager is always very suportive and pushes you to go for promotions.

    Cons

    Many of the managers are young and inexperienced.

    Advice to Management

    Train people more when they get promoted.

    Thrifty Car and Van Rental2018-10-30
  8. "Good place of work but low salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Thrifty Car and Van Rental full-time

    Pros

    relax and professional working conditions

    Cons

    long days for not great pay

    Thrifty Car and Van Rental2018-08-13
  9. "I enjoy coming to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thrifty Car and Van Rental full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly managers, good working environment & staff events paid for. Business wins and growth mean jobs are secure.

    Cons

    Would prefer to have structured annual reviews & set targets for employees for areas to better the business.

    Thrifty Car and Van Rental2018-07-30
  10. "Really good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thrifty Car and Van Rental full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere and friendly people. Nice facilities & benefits.

    Cons

    None that I know of.

    Thrifty Car and Van Rental2018-07-26
Found 37 reviews