ThoughtWorks Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

ThoughtWorks Reviews

Updated Dec 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
89%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
ThoughtWorks CEO Guo Xiao
Guo Xiao
417 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Travel can be taxing to work life balance over time(in 44 reviews)

  • "uma empresa aberta, que escuta feedbacks e busca entender o que as pessoas est(in 34 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good place and great people to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ThoughtWorks full-time

    Pros

    Have the chance to explore different tech stack. Learn good practice and really fun to work with brilliant people.

    Cons

    Some times individual willing is not heard by the manager

    ThoughtWorks2019-12-05
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Software Consultant 

    I worked at ThoughtWorks full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Culture is the best thing about ThoughtWorks and clever people

    Cons

    Expect lots of travelling to client site

    ThoughtWorks2019-12-04
  3. "It's a not that bad choice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ThoughtWorks full-time

    Pros

    You will know some people who is funny, good at programming.

    Cons

    Some of them are not nice.

    ThoughtWorks2019-12-09
  4. "Amazing if you want to have a global career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Consultant 
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ThoughtWorks full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lovely people, company with purpose, offices all over the place.

    Cons

    Sold by the founder and now owned by a PR firm so things are likely to change.

    ThoughtWorks2019-12-08
  5. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Analyst 

    I have been working at ThoughtWorks full-time

    Pros

    Amazing place to work. Great policies

    Cons

    Not many challenging projects anymore

    ThoughtWorks2019-11-22
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant Developer 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ThoughtWorks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Awesome culture / people - I always had at least two other women on my team, often more. - Travel (which can also be a con sometimes) - You can live anywhere as long as you can get to an airport - Did I mention the people are awesome?

    Cons

    - Client culture is not always as great as TW culture - Personally, I didn't like that people leads are non-technical / do not have any experience in professional services, especially because as a new grad they play a big role in staffing you - Speaking of staffing, it's definitely dependent on who you know / how well you can network, despite leaderships attempts to change that. Senior people "staff themselves" on... the projects they want all the time. - What you work on depends on what projects are available, not a lot of opportunities to work on new and exciting tech - Your experience can vary wildly depending on project and client - Having to bill 40 hours to the client each week (on top of travel) makes people less willing to participate in office events, internal initiatives, etc. - Pay is low for tech - Ironically, I wanted to travel but kept getting staffed locally (lots of people have the opposite problem) - Certain leadership seemed more focused on selling work than making sure the consultants already at the client were happy there

    Show More
    ThoughtWorks2019-12-01
  7. "Best Work Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Applications Developer in Pune
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ThoughtWorks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Supportive People's Team Flat Hierarchy Feel at home environment

    Cons

    You need to be introvert

    ThoughtWorks2019-11-18
  8. "Overall a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Consultant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ThoughtWorks full-time

    Pros

    A great place gives opportunities to try different tech stack, and very important is it create the chance to learn how to switch context and pick up different knowledge shortly with team collaboration.

    Cons

    Some people become bureaucracy sometimes. And also individual willing has lower priority than the company decision.

    ThoughtWorks2019-11-26
  9. "Passionate about technology, people & the environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant Developer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ThoughtWorks part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Embrace diversity & inclusion Work with passionate, like-minded people Exceptional in current technologies

    Cons

    Everyone need to stay on top of the latest technology & programming languages

    ThoughtWorks2019-11-11
  10. "Great place to learn and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ThoughtWorks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Surrounded by brilliant yet kind colleagues

    Cons

    Career paths can be a bit nebulous

    ThoughtWorks2019-11-24
Found 1177 reviews