The Institute of Cancer Research Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

The Institute of Cancer Research Reviews

Updated Nov 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
68%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
The Institute of Cancer Research CEO Paul Workman
Paul Workman
14 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free shuttle bus directly from Sutton station to ICR(in 9 reviews)

  • "Friendly working environment for researchers(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Little career progression apart from the post-doc track(in 6 reviews)

  • "Not many options for lunch, the ICR and hospital cafe are the only ones nearby (expensive(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - PhD Student 

    I have been working at The Institute of Cancer Research full-time

    Pros

    Friendly colleagues and good working environment.

    Cons

    Salary for PhD student does not increase over years at all.

    The Institute of Cancer Research2019-11-12
  2. "Depends on the PI"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - PhD Student in London, England

    I worked at The Institute of Cancer Research full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Depending on the supervisor you have the opportunity to do a great job, especially because it is linked to the hospital.

    Cons

    Some supervisors don't give you the chance to use some resources. The perks are also different between PhDs.

    The Institute of Cancer Research2019-11-22
  3. "Great institute. However, lack of real career development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientific Programmer in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Institute of Cancer Research full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good environment, resources and capable people.

    Cons

    Limited scope for promotion or career development. There's only various short training course that creates that impression of development but don't really lead to anything career-wise.

    The Institute of Cancer Research2019-11-20
  4. "PhD student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sutton, London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Institute of Cancer Research full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good supervisors, supportive culture (at least in my research group). Good reputation.

    Cons

    Limited opportunities to network outside of science compared to other universities

    The Institute of Cancer Research2019-10-27
  5. "Great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - HSO in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Institute of Cancer Research full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work environment and up-to-date scientific equipment and techniques

    Cons

    Little career progression apart from the post-doc track

    The Institute of Cancer Research2019-09-17
  6. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Clinical Trial Assistant 

    I worked at The Institute of Cancer Research part-time

    Pros

    Friendly staff and good atmosphere

    Cons

    There were none to note

    The Institute of Cancer Research2019-07-24
  7. "Cold and academic with poor transport links"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Scientific Officer in Sutton, London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Institute of Cancer Research full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The ICR has its own bar onsite.

    Cons

    Trickle down management, poor transport links and individual teams stick to themselves.

    Advice to Management

    none

    The Institute of Cancer Research2019-07-04
  8. "Great environment and good place for knowledge sharing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The Institute of Cancer Research full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Relaxed environment, good place to know professionals and share knowledge, great pension scheme, flexible hours.

    Cons

    Salary a bit underpaid compared to other institutes/universities

    The Institute of Cancer Research2019-05-23
  9. "No Guidance Given, but High Standards Expected"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - PhD Student in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Institute of Cancer Research full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The work environment is very friendly, and many opportunities for conferences, travel, and collaboration.

    Cons

    I was put to work in a highly disruptive work environment with no consideration for health and safety. When I discussed this with my supervisor, the only space I could be given completely isolated me from my team and most days, other people. The isolation and the lack of guidance have been terrible for both my learning and my mental health.

    Advice to Management

    If a PI wants to take on a PhD student, ensure they have appropriate space for the type of work. If a student is not handling biomaterials, they should not be sat in a lab.

    The Institute of Cancer Research2019-05-21
  10. "Top place for PhD!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Institute of Cancer Research full-time

    Pros

    -Freedom -Student community -Lots of courses -Seminars -Making friends

    Cons

    -time pressure, students often confused,

    The Institute of Cancer Research2019-02-09
Found 57 reviews