TMP Worldwide Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

TMP Worldwide Reviews

Updated 6 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
69%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
TMP Worldwide President & CEO Michelle Abbey
Michelle Abbey
184 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Middle management has no idea about what is going On and translates half information to half the information to the upper management(in 19 reviews)

  • "It's become extremely stressful as account teams carry very heavy loads and accountability sits solely on account services' shoulders(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Work Hard, Play Hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Strategist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at TMP Worldwide full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I was with TMP for many years, and there was good reason for that. It is a flat organization, which means I had access to everyone I needed (across teams and functions and levels) to do my job well. This takes a good deal of initiative though, as nothing here (or anywhere for that matter) is handed to you on a silver platter. I grew a ton over the years and learned a great deal. Benefits were good, work was challenging and the people were great. TMP treated me very, very well and I loved working for them. When in the "right" office, the company is a fun and engaging place to work too - lots of outings, volunteer days, parties/celebrations, silly gatherings just for fun etc. Not all offices are like this, but great community in most of them!

    Show More

    Cons

    Managers don't seem all that well trained, and seem to be left to sink or swim with little support or training - which really impacts team synergies and trust. This is really unfortunate, b/c the company is filled with smart and motivated employees. Processes and systems can be disorganized and sometimes it took quite a while to sort through this - which is tough when you're on the front line with a client. I also would have loved more transparency from the "top" down - about the business, changes in benefits, company priorities etc.

    Show More
    TMP Worldwide2020-01-06
  2. "Digital Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Support Specialist in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at TMP Worldwide full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Employees are very helpful

    Cons

    Pay is not comparable to average in region Management does not believe in work/life balance Management is not loyal to employees

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees Value employees

    TMP Worldwide2020-01-03
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Alarming"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TMP Worldwide full-time

    Pros

    Casual work environment, good work life balance, 20 days PTO, and supportive colleagues.

    Cons

    It is alarming that a recruitment marketing and branding agency has such poor standards for its own organization from recruitment, benefits, on boarding, training, professional development, and exit interview. You know what I mean if you’ve worked here. All of these things are sub-par. Unethical practices to hit revenue goals and lack of marketing knowledge and experience is very evident with the lack of process and subject matter experts. I would not come here if you are looking to sharpen your skills because you will pick up bad habits. To make things worse, outdated coding and software technology, zero compliance and security protocol, thoughtless executions and zero accountability make it a nightmare to get things done. You will be going in circles for months trying to get the simplest things completed. Unfortunately, these attitudes are prevalent in the organization and you will find 98% of employees negatively poking fun at the organization (even leadership).

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take the opportunity to understand what’s lacking and create a plan for change... And don't create fake reviews to attract talent. Many of these Glassdoor reviews are suspicious. TMP’s company rating was at a 2 point something and mysteriously jumped to a 3.8 in a matter of 3 months. The smart candidates that you want will read through these reviews and pick up on the fake ones quickly.

    TMP Worldwide2019-09-19
  4. Helpful (1)

    "xxxxxxx"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive 
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at TMP Worldwide full-time

    Pros

    work life balance, not leaving very late

    Cons

    company doesnt do much to show employees are valued

    TMP Worldwide2019-10-09
  5. "Interesting place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Account Executive 

    I have been working at TMP Worldwide full-time

    Pros

    - work/life balance - colleagues are always willing to help - One a month Waffle Wednesday

    Cons

    - lacks growth opportunities

    TMP Worldwide2019-08-01
  6. "Flexible working"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Manager in London, England
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TMP Worldwide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working and good work life balance

    Cons

    Corporate, sales driven, no opportunities for training and development

    TMP Worldwide2019-08-01
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Eh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Account Executive 

    I have been working at TMP Worldwide full-time

    Pros

    There is not much I can say here

    Cons

    Not room to grow, poor management, long hours

    TMP Worldwide2019-07-23
  8. "Best Place to Work; Best People to Work With"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Director in Waltham, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TMP Worldwide full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Professionally relaxed atmosphere - Wide array of clients spanning across all industries - Close-knit group of employees - Room for growth - the RVP and senior leadership gives you plenty of opportunities to show what you got. I have been at TMP for several years now, and moved up from an Account Executive to and Account Director and am positive that I will move up in the future. I have been given every opportunity possible here and met them head on. My advice to all looking for a job here: when given the opportunities, take them and show your stuff. You will be noticed and management will respect you. Growth here is very possible, you just have to be willing to put in the hard work. I love working here, love the people I work with, and can't imagine working anywhere else.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Takes hard work to get to be a leader, but you gain your colleagues respect in the process - Not all positions receive bonuses Overall, I don't see too many cons here. I see reviews that say things like "cliquey atmosphere, and management only cares about some" but those are not true. What you become here depends on you and you alone.

    Advice to Management

    Try to find new ways to encourage entry level employees to stay with the company. A lot of them work longer hours doing the tedious work that helps the client. You do a great job recognizing those at the top, but pay more attention to the AEs who stay late and want to prove themselves.

    TMP Worldwide2019-07-04
  9. "Great Opportunity to Learn and Grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Waltham, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TMP Worldwide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have never worked in the marketing field before TMP. I have learned so much about recruitment marketing, challenges employers have and solutions from our seasoned management! 1. Work life balance - I have never worked for a company so understanding. There is flexibility when needed. 2. Helping you grow as a professional. As previously stated, there is a lot of flexibility; but you have to stay self motivated. You are not going to be micromanaged, which really helps you grow as a professional and find your working style. 3. Work culture. Upper management does a great job trying to keep the office together! Our RVP has done a great job letting people plan things to boost staff morale. Our RVP really invests in everyone at the office and inter-office relationships. 4. Staff Meetings are very productive, upper management has allowed AE's to start presenting. This is giving the AE's an opportunity to show their growth and knowledge about their clients and other products TMP is offering. By giving this opportunity it allows AE's to feel valued as employees. Feeling valued as an employee is key to flourishing in your job.

    Show More

    Cons

    The office is difficult to get to if you need public transportation, but we are moving to a more accessible location!

    TMP Worldwide2019-07-01
  10. "A good workplace if you know what you want out of it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Creative in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TMP Worldwide full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    My experience here has been solid overall. It's recruitment marketing, so you might not always be put on the sexiest campaign. But there have been plenty of interesting and engaging projects that I've worked on. You're also afforded the opportunity to work with bigger name clients which can be a great addition to your portfolio. The team has been really supportive. Everyone is very considerate about your projects and scheduling. Additionally, they're very respectful about PTO. Work/life balance is good at entry through senior levels, but seems to be harder for managers. You can advance here a lot faster than at other agencies. This has greatly benefited myself and plenty of my coworkers.

    Show More

    Cons

    Workload can be inconsistent Work can feel repetitive Clients' experience with engaging with agencies varies, which can lead to friction Consideration for promotions and raises can get caught up in bureaucracy

    TMP Worldwide2019-06-18
Found 344 reviews