Sunrise Senior Living Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Sunrise Senior Living Reviews

Updated Dec 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
55%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Sunrise Senior Living CEO Chris Winkle
Chris Winkle
391 Ratings
Pros
  • "It's a very good working environment and have excellent team members(in 45 reviews)

  • "Good place to learn how to interact with the elderly and vulnerable(in 40 reviews)

Cons
  • "Coordinators think your job is your life like you have to work overtime whether you want to or not(in 58 reviews)

  • "Short Staffed for weekend shifts(in 39 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Coordinator 

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living part-time

    Pros

    it was good not much to say

    Cons

    not many cons that I could say

    Sunrise Senior Living2019-12-06
  2. "Sunrise has the right structure and brand."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Director in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Sunrise takes care of their brand well, it's good. I believe that they have a phenomenal vision and on their way to continue to make things happen. I love working for this organization.

    Cons

    Chain of command and communication tend to fall off the crack. The corporate sense and being such a big organization, the flow of messages and communication needs to be looked closer. Maybe review tasks and responsibilities to get a more organized process. Otherwise - all is well.

    Sunrise Senior Living2019-11-26
  3. "Some helpful co-workers ( work as a team ) but some prefer to work independently ( sad )."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Manager in Loma Linda, CA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good management , training and some lovely residents

    Cons

    Low income , underpaid considering the physical labor.

    Sunrise Senior Living2019-11-26
  4. "Good Job, Bad Mangement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Care Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living part-time

    Pros

    incentives, and small yearly bonuses, Holiday gifts/party

    Cons

    Very bad management was not worth it anymore after I got let go for having car issues and not calling out of work the way my manager wanted me to.

    Sunrise Senior Living2019-12-10
  5. "Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Concierge in Smithtown, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly environment and great residents

    Cons

    Low staffing of care managers

    Advice to Management

    Hire more care managers

    Sunrise Senior Living2019-11-22
  6. "I enjoy working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Housekeeping in West Chester, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly environment genuine care is given !

    Cons

    Far from my house

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Sunrise Senior Living2019-11-19
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good to work there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Manager in Gilbert, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It a peaceful place that you can work for long years if only you have the resident well being at heart and treat them with dignity

    Cons

    A lot to do. Very busy place.

    Sunrise Senior Living2019-11-16
  8. "A solid cook Job for those who enjoy the kitchen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cook in Simi Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced and great coworkers

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Sunrise Senior Living2019-11-12
  9. "The residents are great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Care Manager in Greensboro, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living full-time

    Pros

    The residents and their families are great. The pay is competitive, but not enough for all of the work you actually do. You’re a CNA but also a waiter, housekeeper, launderer, and entertainer.

    Cons

    The management handles everything wrong. They make you almost fear reporting abuse and neglect. They start investigating YOU instead of the actual matter at hand.

    Advice to Management

    Stop trying to cover for staff members that you like. Don’t see things how you want, see things for how they AREZ

    Sunrise Senior Living2019-11-25
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Run while you can"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The residents are amazing, and put a smile on your face. Some of the other employees make the shift go by faster

    Cons

    No communication. Low pay. Greedy. Worried about numbers more than quality of care. Harassment is okay in the work setting. Coordinators are not willing to help team members due to being above us. Constant changes. High turnover rate with employees.

    Advice to Management

    Learn to communicate among yourselves and your employees. Lend a heping hand. You weren't always the high on the ladder and that ladder can break at any time. Show respect a bit more. Champion quality of life and not just $$$ signs. We hear complaints from residents because they are afraid of bringing it to management.

    Sunrise Senior Living2019-12-13
Found 1272 reviews