Sunrise Senior Living Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Sunrise Senior Living Reviews

Updated 16 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
53%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Sunrise Senior Living CEO Chris Winkle
Chris Winkle
394 Ratings
Pros
  • "It's a very good working environment and have excellent team members(in 45 reviews)

  • "Strong culture and work environment(in 40 reviews)

Cons
  • "Coordinators think your job is your life like you have to work overtime whether you want to or not(in 60 reviews)

  • "Hours are based on how much care is needed and that often leaves us short staffed(in 41 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Care assistant job interview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good colleagues, good neighborhood, the residents are part of the family

    Cons

    Poor management. Sometimes they can't deal with poor decisions they made.

    Sunrise Senior Living2020-01-14
  2. "Enjoying Seniors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Mn Cluster Dining Service Coordinator 

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Mission, Core Values, Training, Relationships,

    Cons

    Confusion from top to bottom, regarding new programs

    Sunrise Senior Living2020-01-13
  3. "summer job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Server 

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    chill and some good food

    Cons

    no tips and busy sometimes

    Sunrise Senior Living2020-01-11
  4. "Fulfilling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Manager in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with the residents, they become a family to you somehow. The staff are really nice, and our reminiscence coordinator supports the care managers.

    Cons

    The load gets heavy and sometimes we are short-staffed, and you go beyond what you are paid for

    Sunrise Senior Living2020-01-03
  5. "Housekeeping at Sunrise Senior Living"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Housekeeper in Playa Vista, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I get to work independently, my opinion is valued. At Sunrise, there are no big I or little u.

    Cons

    More training for the Housekeepers that relates to housekeeping responsibilities. The latest techniques and tools, in order to further sharpen or skills.

    Advice to Management

    Setup more training modules for Housekeepers.

    Sunrise Senior Living2020-01-02
  6. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff RN 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice people to work with

    Cons

    Short staff at times long hours and low pay

    Sunrise Senior Living2020-01-16
  7. "Residents are great, however management is not"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Caregiver, CNA 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Residents are outgoing, fun, and always loves to communicate

    Cons

    I've worked there for almost 4 years and the management was getting worse. There was favorites, did not really work with your schedule, lack of communication

    Sunrise Senior Living2020-01-01
  8. "Loved the residents. Hate the management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Care Manager in Sandy, UT
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Loved working with the residents and their families. Loved interacting with them.

    Cons

    The upper management sucked. I got let go over things that weren’t necessarily my fault. Upper management showed a lot of favoritism as well...

    Advice to Management

    Actually investigate things that have been brought up with you guys instead of saying, “everything is fine” and not investigate what has been brought up to your attention.

    Sunrise Senior Living2020-01-01
  9. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Coordinator 

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living part-time

    Pros

    it was good not much to say

    Cons

    not many cons that I could say

    Sunrise Senior Living2019-12-06
  10. "Horrible place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    You usually like some of the staff you work with.

    Cons

    Nurses are not allowed to call out sick or for emergencies, but must find your own coverage which is impossible to find most of the time. I went to work with the flu, pneumonia, and a sprained ankle on different occasions because I wasnt able to find coverage and your supervisor will not help you even if you tell them you have a high fever which I did. They told me to miss family funerals to work because I couldn't find coverage and my supervisor only response is it's not a good time and maybe in a couple of weeks they could let me take off one day for a funeral. You are constantly short staffed without enough supplies to do your job with more work added without extra pay or benefits. Management dont care about anyone. I was allowed to call in sick once to take my young son to the hospital but told me if he still in the hospital then next day I must come in regardless. And the entire time I spent in the ER with him I was calling every nurse to find coverage for that shift they let call out sick for instead of letting me care for him. He was 2 years old with special needs and fever of over 105 F. They even told me told me I need to find my own coverage when I was pregnant if I went into labor on a workday. I know of another nurse who tried to call out sick while on her way to the hospital because she broke her hand and was told no she couldnt call out and must go to the hospital after she completed her shift. This policy is only in effect for nurses. All other positions are allowed to call out sick with little notice. There is so much more things besides this but this is definitely one of my biggest pet peeves.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Change your policies and hire agency per diem nurses if you can not find coverage.

    Sunrise Senior Living2020-01-07
Found 1283 reviews