St. Jude Medical Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

St. Jude Medical Reviews

Updated 20 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
58%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
St. Jude Medical Chairman and CEO Miles D. White (no image)
Miles D. White
26 Ratings
  1. "SJM Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phila, PA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at St. Jude Medical full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good Benefits, Good people, Good products

    Cons

    Management sucks. Rampant nepotism. Toxic work environment. Products with lots of recalls

    St. Jude Medical2017-10-26
  2. "I had a great time working at St. Jude Medical."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at St. Jude Medical full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    At St. Jude Medical under our manager in the supply chain department, we were trusted to do our job and carry out our daily tasks and responsibilities. There was kniw micro-management in our departnent.

    Cons

    Upper managenent which was in an entirely different location did not always give us the full support we needed when making major changes in policies.

    Advice to Management

    Management need to be more open and inclusive with the subordinates in what's going on in the company because every decision made affects everbody.

    St. Jude Medical2017-09-11
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Stay away. No ethics or culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical in Denver, CO
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at St. Jude Medical full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent benefits. Other than that none. They expect work to consume your life. No camaraderie and people do not care about others. Sales reps are ruthless and will screw your over to get ahead. Sales reps lie and cheat just to makes sales

    Cons

    No ethics. Use clinical studies to promote sales which is illegal. Good ol boy network that if you aren’t a part of then your career will never progress. Don’t care about professional development or human capital management. Upper management is afraid of challenging sales team and sales team runs the company.

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees with respect and develop them. Promote those that deserve it and create a culture someone can be proud of. Need to drain the swamp there and get rid of a lot of upper management that is worthless

    St. Jude Medical2017-10-12
  4. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at St. Jude Medical

    Pros

    Good people to work with

    Cons

    You have to work long hours

    St. Jude Medical2017-09-05
  5. "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Specialist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at St. Jude Medical full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Direct team leads were very supportive and your sacrifice was recognized and appreciated.

    Cons

    Regional management dysfunction present from day 1 and seems to be on going. Unfortunate...

    St. Jude Medical2017-09-16
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production in Hackettstown, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at St. Jude Medical full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people Good benefits Invest in their employees Give their employees the tools they need to do their job

    Cons

    Culture from upper management can be negative at times

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing in your employees

    St. Jude Medical2017-09-01
  7. "Product Surveillance Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Surveillance Coordinator in Sylmar, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at St. Jude Medical full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of networking Accepts change and innovation

    Cons

    Rare appreciation for hard work

    St. Jude Medical2017-08-29
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Unstable due to Abbott Acquisition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at St. Jude Medical full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, perks and salary.

    Cons

    Acquired by Abbott. Many changes and layoffs

    Advice to Management

    More communication instead of just announcing major decisions the day of

    St. Jude Medical2017-08-14
  9. "Wonderful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at St. Jude Medical full-time

    Pros

    Clinical department is very supportive and the people are great!

    Cons

    Not a lot of upward mobility for those who want to go beyond senior roles

    Advice to Management

    More opportunities for CRAs

    St. Jude Medical2017-08-14
  10. Helpful (2)

    "My Time at SJM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Professional in Sylmar, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at St. Jude Medical full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are great! I enjoyed all of my colleagues i interacted with daily and those I got to know through passing.

    Cons

    I didn't know at the time but the company was being acquired by Abbott. So, to get ready for the sale years prior SJM started to "lean" out company taking away profit sharing, Learning courses for individual contributors, not back filling key positions, not promoting well-deserve individuals or paying them fair market value, etc.

    Advice to Management

    I hope with the Abbott acquisition that the culture will be to better take care of ALL employees and not just Director levels and above. This will create a rich and vibrant atmosphere and increase productivity therefore increasing profit.

    St. Jude Medical2017-08-21
Found 707 reviews