St. Jude Medical Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

St. Jude Medical Engineer Reviews

Updated 7 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
59%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
St. Jude Medical Chairman and CEO Miles D. White (no image)
Miles D. White
2 Ratings
  1. "Good work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering 

    I worked at St. Jude Medical full-time

    Pros

    Excellent Work life balance and exposure to cutting edge medical devices

    Cons

    Not enough effort is put into innovation

    Advice to Management

    Promote from within

    St. Jude Medical2019-09-07
  2. "My first step to medical device industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Clinical Engineer in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at St. Jude Medical full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Group of electrophysiology fans. Good learning environment.

    Cons

    Career development limited. Especially for clinical support team.

    Advice to Management

    Need to fight for more development opportunities for employees.

    St. Jude Medical2019-07-21
  3. "Great Place to Intern While In School"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Software Engineer 

    I worked at St. Jude Medical

    Pros

    I worked with a small team of highly qualified professionals, and gained valuable knowledge into the world of software development

    Cons

    The company was very large, and at some times, felt impersonal.

    St. Jude Medical2019-03-21
  4. "Big company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - ATE Test Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at St. Jude Medical full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance; Good benefits;

    Cons

    Very slow to make deicsions

    St. Jude Medical2018-08-23
  5. "The company is good but could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Engineer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at St. Jude Medical full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A profitable company with advanced technologies

    Cons

    A lot of bureaucracy. 1/3 resources are working, and 1/3 people created additional work for rest of 1/3 employees

    Advice to Management

    Unclear competition strategy

    St. Jude Medical2018-02-23
  6. "Senior Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Sylmar, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at St. Jude Medical full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Colleagues are very nice, and friendly. Team members and managers are understanding to your situations.

    Cons

    Like other big corporations, it has politics, and it is slow in technology adaptation.

    Advice to Management

    Streamline the management process

    St. Jude Medical2018-01-14
  7. "It is now Abbott"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Engineer in Arecibo, PR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at St. Jude Medical full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A fast pace company, lot of opportunities to enhance your career path local and in other plants, flexibles jobs hours

    Cons

    Disorganized, never you will end your day, pay and benefits are not the best (401k 3%, vacation license is 15 days per year for the first 5 years or so), high employees turn over, unbalance life style, disorganized onboarding

    Advice to Management

    unexperienced local mid-level management

    St. Jude Medical2017-11-15
  8. "engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering in Plymouth, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at St. Jude Medical full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great products and great impact in the medical device industry due to the mix portafolio! It is nice knowing we are saving lives!

    Cons

    If you are not part of the inner circle might as well forget any fairness on having the same opportunities as others specially if you are a foreigner!

    Advice to Management

    I am hoping Abbott will do something about it!

    St. Jude Medical2017-07-24
  9. "Sr Principal Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Principal Engineer in Saint Paul, MN
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at St. Jude Medical for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good environment to work, good technology

    Cons

    Limited growth opportunities; great place for good talkers Always playing catchup

    Advice to Management

    Focus on key products and leapfrogging competitors

    St. Jude Medical2017-05-30
  10. "Manufacturing Co-op"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manufacturing Engineer Co-Op in Sylmar, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at St. Jude Medical full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great exposure to biomedical industry; hands-on experience

    Cons

    Large company, being a cog in the wheel is inevitable.

    St. Jude Medical2017-03-24
Found 132 reviews