Square Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Square Reviews

Updated 13 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
78%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Square CEO Jack Dorsey
Jack Dorsey
364 Ratings
Pros
  • "High emphasis on work life balance and a culture within the talent org of trying new things like supporting remote recruiters/managers(in 44 reviews)

  • "Open, transparent, low ego work environment(in 26 reviews)

Cons
  • "Typical growing pains of a new office(in 28 reviews)

  • "Just starting 401k matching so the program is not as developed as some others yet (but will get there)(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Best company I've worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - New Market Success/Beta Programmer Success in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Square full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I've really gained some life skills working there. I was trusted the moment I stepped a foot in the door and was respected when asking questions and encouraged to change procedures and processes that slowed progression and did not benefit the customers. I was put in charge of new development projects with any guidance I needed and was told about what other teams were working on for the sake of transparency, clarity... and being able to help them if I could and wanted. Overall would definitely go back to square if I have the chance to move back to Ireland .

    Show More

    Cons

    Some of the work hours were long, but only by your own choice.

    Advice to Management

    Follow up with interview candidates to give feedback on the interview, I know it takes time but it's such a personal touch and really helps people apply for jobs in the future.

    Square2018-08-03
  2. "Good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Square full-time

    Pros

    Good employer that values employees

    Cons

    Not a lot of room for improvement

    Square2019-11-13
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic company with a great product and amazing colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Working with an amazing team. Everyone is hardworking, smart and super nice. - Everyone works cross-functionally and is eager to help out other teams. - Better than average pay, good benefits. - Fully stocked kitchen that will keep you fed and watered at all times. - Challenging work and an amazing product!

    Cons

    - No product in market means that you are sometimes feeling a bit 'remote' from the actual product. - No stock (RSUs) for entry level positions.

    Square2018-08-01
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Exciting time to work on the UK team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Having just launched in the UK a little over year ago, its a super exciting time to be working in Square UK. It has the fast-paced spark and passion of a start up, with the support systems of an established company. A win win! -Small, amazing team = getting lot of responsibility which leaves you feeling like you are making a true impact. -Tonnes of cross functional exposure -New hire training in San... Francisco - Great benefits, fully stocked kitchen with allll the coffee.

    Show More

    Cons

    Working from a location where Square is not available (Ireland), can lead to a feeling of disconnect at times. It would be great to see our products and merchants in the wild.

    Square2018-07-30
  5. "Great Place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Mission driven. Good people. Good work/life balance.

    Cons

    Not enough focus on building new products and expanding internationally.

    Square2019-11-12
  6. "if you have realistic expectations, this is a fantastic company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The fintech industry is still one of the most innovate/exciting industries out there. Square has a lot of interesting products. Mission of economic empowerment. Good food and benefits.

    Cons

    Growing pain. Signs of bureaucracy

    Square2019-11-10
  7. "realistically, you can't really ask for or expect more from a company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations in San Francisco, CA
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Square full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    surrounded by very smart people most of them are actually pretty nice and high quality individuals fantastic office with great perks

    Cons

    weird cult of personality around Jack Dorsey management can be hit or miss as many people are inexperienced many non technical roles have poorly defined career paths

    Advice to Management

    be real. people can handle it. i think

    Square2019-11-06
  8. "Good Company, Some Major Issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Square full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Strong people-first culture - Pockets of innovation - Smart, generally hardworking people - Interesting projects and lots of cross functional work - Good benefits and perks - Lots of freedom and autonomy

    Cons

    - Certain teams (most famously, Corporate Development) are horrendously low performing and mismanaged - Unclear ownership of key initiatives - Lack of executive engagement - Lots of unskilled managers promoted to oversee large / critical teams

    Advice to Management

    There are key functions with incredibly pervasive problems. Until management makes high performance a priority, these will persist and spill over to other parts of the company.

    Square2019-11-14
  9. "feeling lucky"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great team, smart coworkers, interesting challenges, good food and product

    Cons

    company getting bigger, growing pain

    Square2019-10-28
  10. "Good Experience Bad Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Professional Services 

    I have been working at Square full-time

    Pros

    Good Growth, Progressive Culture, good PTO

    Cons

    Pay below city poverty line

    Square2019-10-24
Found 487 reviews