Square Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Square Reviews

Updated 10 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 448 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Square CEO Jack Dorsey
Jack Dorsey
343 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Typical growing pains of a new office(in 28 reviews)

  • "Just starting 401k matching so the program is not as developed as some others yet (but will get there)(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Best company I've worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - New Market Success/Beta Programmer Success in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Square full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I've really gained some life skills working there. I was trusted the moment I stepped a foot in the door and was respected when asking questions and encouraged to change procedures and processes that slowed progression and did not benefit the customers. I was put in charge of new development projects with any guidance I needed and was told about what other teams were working on for the sake of transparency, clarity and...

    Show More

    Cons

    Some of the work hours were long, but only by your own choice.

    Advice to Management

    Follow up with interview candidates to give feedback on the interview, I know it takes time but it's such a personal touch and really helps people apply for jobs in the future.

    Square2018-08-03
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic company with a great product and amazing colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Working with an amazing team. Everyone is hardworking, smart and super nice. - Everyone works cross-functionally and is eager to help out other teams. - Better than average pay, good benefits. - Fully stocked kitchen that will keep you fed and watered at all times. - Challenging work and an amazing product!

    Cons

    - No product in market means that you are sometimes feeling a bit 'remote' from the actual product. - No stock (RSUs) for entry level positions.

    Square2018-08-01
  3. "Exciting time to work on the UK team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Having just launched in the UK a little over year ago, its a super exciting time to be working in Square UK. It has the fast-paced spark and passion of a start up, with the support systems of an established company. A win win! -Small, amazing team = getting lot of responsibility which leaves you feeling like you are making a true impact. -Tonnes of cross functional exposure -New hire training in San Francisco...

    Show More

    Cons

    Working from a location where Square is not available (Ireland), can lead to a feeling of disconnect at times. It would be great to see our products and merchants in the wild.

    Square2018-07-30
  4. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Success Advocate in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced work place with room to grow.

    Cons

    The industry is changes a lot so some department see a lot of work force changes.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing a great job!

    Square2019-07-10
  5. "great mid-size company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineering Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great mission! Fintech space is very exciting! A lot of innovation is happening. Engineering talent is strong

    Cons

    Cloud migration is taking forever

    Square2019-07-03
  6. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Ho Chi Minh City
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Square full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good bonus and friends together

    Cons

    not focus on HR & high turnover

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Square2019-06-27
  7. Helpful (2)

    "come for the opportunity to impact, stay for the amazing people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Sourcer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's easy to connect with the mission that drives all of our product decision-making. As long as you're not a terrible person, you should be able to connect with our purpose of economic empowerment. We're all about helping our customers start, run, and grow their businesses. We operate on a win-win model, meaning that when our customers win, we win as well. Our growth history speaks for itself, and we expect to continue...

    Show More

    Cons

    We're not as large as some of the bigger companies out there, so we don't have all of the resources that the larger tech companies have. For this reason, we base a lot of our pay on stock and expected growth of stock. We don't have yearly cash bonuses either.

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to your employees/customers and doing the right thing!

    Square2019-06-19
  8. "Great experience working at square"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good benefits great office experience,

    Cons

    square is good , but your career will grow.more if you re in SF

    Square2019-06-25
  9. "Fast paste"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst - Strategy and Operations 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to experience the startup mindset of moving fast but also have the luxury to partner with lots of cross functional partners

    Cons

    Speed of execution is one of a key to success here imo

    Square2019-06-22
  10. Helpful (1)

    "come for the mission, stay for the tech challenges!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you are mission driven, then you would enjoy this company and it's mission of Economic Empowerment. Lots of interesting business problems to solve. These problems often translate into complex engineering challenges. Square also has scale both in terms of product and org. Most recently a lot of groups started the long journey of cloud migration.

    Cons

    Overall technical direction of the company is often missing and it's left to teams to get aligned. While this meritocratic approach can lead to best team's solution wins situations, this is not always the case. Technical decision making is often slow as a result of this approach.

    Square2019-06-11
Found 448 reviews