Square Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Square Reviews

Updated 12 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 464 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Square CEO Jack Dorsey
Jack Dorsey
352 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Typical growing pains of a new office(in 28 reviews)

  • "Just starting 401k matching so the program is not as developed as some others yet (but will get there)(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Best company I've worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - New Market Success/Beta Programmer Success in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Square full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I've really gained some life skills working there. I was trusted the moment I stepped a foot in the door and was respected when asking questions and encouraged to change procedures and processes that slowed progression and did not benefit the customers. I was put in charge of new development projects with any guidance I needed and was told about what other teams were working on for the sake of transparency, clarity... and being able to help them if I could and wanted. Overall would definitely go back to square if I have the chance to move back to Ireland .

    Show More

    Cons

    Some of the work hours were long, but only by your own choice.

    Advice to Management

    Follow up with interview candidates to give feedback on the interview, I know it takes time but it's such a personal touch and really helps people apply for jobs in the future.

    Square2018-08-03
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic company with a great product and amazing colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Working with an amazing team. Everyone is hardworking, smart and super nice. - Everyone works cross-functionally and is eager to help out other teams. - Better than average pay, good benefits. - Fully stocked kitchen that will keep you fed and watered at all times. - Challenging work and an amazing product!

    Cons

    - No product in market means that you are sometimes feeling a bit 'remote' from the actual product. - No stock (RSUs) for entry level positions.

    Square2018-08-01
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Exciting time to work on the UK team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Having just launched in the UK a little over year ago, its a super exciting time to be working in Square UK. It has the fast-paced spark and passion of a start up, with the support systems of an established company. A win win! -Small, amazing team = getting lot of responsibility which leaves you feeling like you are making a true impact. -Tonnes of cross functional exposure -New hire training in San... Francisco - Great benefits, fully stocked kitchen with allll the coffee.

    Show More

    Cons

    Working from a location where Square is not available (Ireland), can lead to a feeling of disconnect at times. It would be great to see our products and merchants in the wild.

    Square2018-07-30
  4. "Square Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Representative in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are great as well as the culture

    Cons

    phones and schedule as well as work life balance

    Advice to Management

    n/A

    Square2019-09-12
  5. "Decrease in Transparency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Account Manager in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and great people

    Cons

    Lack of transparency, growing bureaucracy

    Advice to Management

    Be more proactive rather than reactive, trust your employees and communicate with them, be as transparent as possible

    Square2019-09-12
  6. "Great company culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Square has a great company culture - they really believe in creating a comfortable environment for their employees to thrive in. Great perks!

    Cons

    Pay is extremely low for industry standard

    Advice to Management

    You have to pay for talent!

    Square2019-09-05
  7. "Analyst position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Seller Risk Analyst 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture and environment to work in

    Cons

    Career progression lacks a bit as well as transparency

    Square2019-08-30
  8. "Seedy Underbelly of Square"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cash App - Customer Sucess in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Amazing Paid Time Off - Decent healthcare -Casual Dresscode -Free meals and snacks -Most employees are hardworking and friendly

    Cons

    -Shady management practices -Abuses their underbanked customers by running product experiments on the customer's finances -preaches a culture of transparency but changes practices and management like revolving door -no ongoing education for the customer success advocates -resistance to providing mental health allowances -Advocates encouraged to lie to customers -intentionally vague attendance policy -no... mobility to jump from advocate to management level -majority of the management is not required to have any product or role knowledge so they're unable to coach

    Show More
    Square2019-09-12
  9. "One of the best recruiting teams I've ever worked with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Recruiter in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Tons of collaboration and support for one another with a focus on doing the right thing rather than just trying to fluff your hiring numbers. Generally really great hiring managers who really care about being involved with the hiring process from sourcing all the way to closing. There's definitely some stand out hiring managers and some more apathetic ones, but our overall recruiting model rewards managers who are... more involved. As Square has grown we've needed to adapt and change our interview processes for specialized skill-sets and there's been more support for these kinds of changes than there has been blockers (across engineering and talent). High emphasis on work life balance and a culture within the talent org of trying new things like supporting remote recruiters/managers.

    Show More

    Cons

    As we've grown so rapidly, there's definitely a lot of things that are being done reactively and so there's a bit of pain in dealing with broken things as they are getting fixed. ie how often our comp bands get updated (this is gotten better!)

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to the teams and even though there's an endless amount of things to fix, find opportunities to be proactive on future problems.

    Square2019-08-28
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Manager in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture, benefits, competitive salaries, nice office space

    Cons

    No clear growth paths, lots of ambiguity due to the company being fairly new

    Square2019-08-19
Found 464 reviews