Spirit Airlines Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Spirit Airlines Reviews

Updated 12 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
77%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Spirit Airlines President and CEO Ted Christie
Ted Christie
32 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "1 on time departures, best low cost airline, etc(in 22 reviews)

  • "Low pay need to pay more to deal with passangers(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work, Unionized which was important"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Flight Attendant 

    I worked at Spirit Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and health insurance

    Cons

    New contract made it so that health insurance became not as good and more expensive. The passengers are all very angry all the time, besides a select few.

    Spirit Airlines2020-01-13
  2. "Positive Experience, Accepted Offer, Worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Agent in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spirit Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Long Process, Nerveus, Easy Questions

    Cons

    Nervous, the video interview wasn't working at first

    Spirit Airlines2019-12-30
  3. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Spirit Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Quite a few co-workers are wonderful and kind people who are enjoyable to work with and will have your back. Service is easy since everything is for sale. If you want to get your foot in the door before switching airlines, it could be decent.

    Cons

    The company keeps saying "your seniority is going to go up so fast!" but it isn't the truth depending on where you are based thanks to a change in how many months new-hires have to wait before they can transfer bases. If you have a base where flights aren't being added, expect to remain on reserve for a long time and to be overworked. I'm personally unimpressed and burnt out, which is why I've accepted an offer with a better airline and will be pursuing that shortly.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Work on how the reserve system is ran. Provide work tools your employees need to be able to best do their job. Change the base transfer for new hires back to 6 months.

    Spirit Airlines2019-12-28
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Flight Attendant in Fort Lauderdale, FL

    I worked at Spirit Airlines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The starting pay is good

    Cons

    The hours for new flight attendants needs to be increased

    Advice to Management

    Increase Flight hours

    Spirit Airlines2019-12-21
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great job, few hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spirit Airlines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers and flight benefits

    Cons

    Not a lot of trips while on reserve

    Spirit Airlines2019-12-03
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Becoming better every year"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant 

    I have been working at Spirit Airlines full-time

    Pros

    working here gives me great flexibility

    Cons

    You're away from home a lot and miss family functions

    Spirit Airlines2019-11-16
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Overall Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant 

    I have been working at Spirit Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Most flexibility you can have at any job (not required to work a minimum set of hours) Co workers are usually amazing Free domestic flights, international taxes for international flights

    Cons

    No bonuses, flaws in the current contract

    Spirit Airlines2019-11-15
  8. "Food"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Spirit Airlines full-time

    Pros

    Good to work for here

    Cons

    Badp Nothing really much here

    Spirit Airlines2019-11-19
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Ramp Agent 

    I have been working at Spirit Airlines part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Benefits and good schedule

    Cons

    Lack of organization within management

    Spirit Airlines2019-12-06
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Growing company but it's a business and what do you expect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Spirit Airlines full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, good people to work with, growing company

    Cons

    They want us to do things without them doing their part

    Spirit Airlines2019-11-13
Found 386 reviews