Spiceworks Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Spiceworks Reviews

Updated Oct 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
66%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Spiceworks Chairman and Founder Jay Hallberg
Jay Hallberg
61 Ratings
Pros
  • "When going through the interview process a lot of promises were made around the company culture, the autonomous nature of the role etc(in 15 reviews)

  • "Casual dress code, approachable team members, free food(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "It’s a mid-size company that has experienced some growing pains over the past few years(in 12 reviews)

  • "Company either can't or doesn't want to invest in developers in Austin(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Great people, bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Art Director in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Spiceworks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Good work/life balance - Smart, talented workers - Opportunities to make projects fun and creative - Support and trust from middle management

    Cons

    - Confused overall business strategy to the point where even executives can't tell you what exactly the company really does or how it makes money - Frequent mass layoffs - Highly political - Roles actively being exported to India - Dishonest positioning about state of company upon hire

    Advice to Management

    Be upfront about what's happening before laying off half the company without warning.

    Spiceworks2019-10-04
  2. "Great place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Director in Austin, TX
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Spiceworks full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people are amazing to work with.

    Cons

    Lots of change happening, that is taking away from the work.

    Spiceworks2019-09-17
  3. Helpful (8)

    "Sinking ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Spiceworks

    Pros

    The people. That's about it.

    Cons

    Everything else. Well I guess you can consider snacks a pro but they are seriously lacking there too.

    Advice to Management

    I've never worked anywhere in which upper management was so tone deaf to the morale of their employees. But if you're someone who likes to see it for yourself, by all means, feel free to. If nothing else you might make a new friend.

    Spiceworks2019-08-16
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Brand Designer in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Spiceworks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits and okay culture

    Cons

    There is no clear company direction

    Spiceworks2019-08-03
  5. "Nice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sr in New Delhi
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spiceworks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Best salary in industry.nice environment

    Cons

    Management, slow process for appraisals

    Spiceworks2019-05-01
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Used to be a great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Spiceworks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Good people -Products that help I.T. pros do their job. -Decent benefits.

    Cons

    -Lack of direction. -Applications that customers depend on are becoming neglected and outdated. -Bleeding employees. A whole lot of turnover in development. The engineering department is a shadow of its former self. -Company either can't or doesn't want to invest in developers in Austin. Now opening an engineering office in India. -Terrible commute on 360 -Below average pay

    Spiceworks2019-01-03
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Culture shines through as company evolves"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spiceworks full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The recent unveiling of the three year plan and the vision for the company in the future is compelling. Spiceworks adds value for IT Pros and the Vendors they connect with. This enables their businesses to move forward on their goals.

    Cons

    Some growing pains as the company transitions and aligns with the new vision.

    Advice to Management

    Get after the new vision and help transform the IT industry

    Spiceworks2018-11-06
  8. Helpful (10)

    "No clear company direction or focus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Spiceworks full-time

    Pros

    - Solid coworkers - Solid benefits

    Cons

    - It is hard to get things done when the CEO wants to micro manage every aspect of the business. - Lack of employee investment by the company, and career development here is non-existent - Without clear direction or focus on updating product technology, the company continues to fail users and customers while ultimately missing target sales numbers.

    Advice to Management

    The company has fallen off the 'best places to work' lists and employees are leaving in droves yet it seems leadership is not interested in improving sentiment....or maybe just not equipped to drive meaningful change?

    Spiceworks2018-10-09
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Loving it so far!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spiceworks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I’m fairly new so this review is based on my experience so far, but I’m loving Spiceworks! The people are so, so nice and helpful. The perks and benefits are great as well! I’ve had good and really bad jobs in my career and I can tell you that I’m very happy to have joined the SW team. I don’t dread going into the office everyday and feel at peace for the first time in years! Thumbs up so far!

    Cons

    Its pretty structured, but I personally love structure and process. If you’re used to lots of WFH days, may be a change. WFH may vary from department to department. Again, I don’t think this is really a con because it’s still very flexible and the work life balance is fantastic.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    Spiceworks2018-06-16
  10. "Account Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Director in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Spiceworks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Spiceworks pays its salespeople by performance. Work hard, achieve a high level of success, and you’ll be paid pretty handsomely for it.

    Cons

    It’s a mid-size company that has experienced some growing pains over the past few years. The right infrastructure is not always in place to help you get you work done efficiently/effectively - often times, you have to create it yourself.

    Spiceworks2018-06-11
Found 131 reviews