Southwest Airlines "great benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Southwest Airlines Employee Reviews about "great benefits"

Updated 17 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
83%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Southwest Airlines Chairman, President & CEO Gary C. Kelly
Gary C. Kelly
1,490 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Also you will be the first to get mandatory overtime(in 88 reviews)

  • "No cons that aren't true of any corporate job(in 55 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Flight Attendant for 12 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Flight Attendant in Los Anglin, WV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, good pay, great benefits.

    Cons

    If you don't fit in to the "culture" you can feel out of place.

    Advice to Management

    I was with Southwest 12 years. Most people honestly love the company, for me that wasn't necessarily the case. It was pretty good working for them, but I found the work envirnoment to be somewhat cult like. They encouraged you to be about of the "culture" as they called it at Southwest, but it's more like you having to be and act a certain way to fit in, or else you will definitely feel out of place. There is even a running joke within Southwest about whether you have drank the kool-aid. I would definitely never discourage anyone from working here, honestly out of all of the airlines you will probably be treated best here, and receive the best pay and benefits. I just personally never felt like it was a fit for me. The overal "culture" to me was a bit fake and overdone. It was a good experience nonetheless.

    Show More
    Southwest Airlines2020-01-18
  2. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Team Leader Customer Service in Oakland, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great leadership, room for growth, great benefits!

    Cons

    Pay is so-so. Must be willing to move for career growth.

    Southwest Airlines2019-12-30
  3. "Great place to work, but micromanage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Relations in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are great, but with any airline is pretty industry standard.

    Cons

    Working in Customer Relations, you must keep up with your stats, and the customer always comes first regardless how wrong the customer is.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Southwest Airlines2020-01-08
  4. "Great compnay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ramp Agent Superviros 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, room for growth, and people to work with!

    Cons

    Long hours at times but lots of time off to offset this

    Advice to Management

    Keep inspiring and investing in your people you're doing great!

    Southwest Airlines2019-12-05
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Love it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ramp Agent 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great benefits! Flights, medical, profit sharing and employee matching!

    Cons

    Irregular Operations but this is just the airline industry!

    Southwest Airlines2019-11-10
  6. "Awesome Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Specialist in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits all around, medical, 401k match, profit sharing, annually raises, contract positions, fly perks, flexible schedule after probation, we’re one team all heart, exceptional career advancement opportunities, organizations throughout the company to be apart of and its always some type of gratitude being shown to us rather its a free hat or t shirt down to lunch being provided or just a kick tail! Working for a company that make you feel appreciated goes along way.

    Show More

    Cons

    Slow working software and entry level pay

    Advice to Management

    None

    Southwest Airlines2019-10-14
  7. "Accounting Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Intern in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines for less than a year

    Pros

    The company culture and flight benefits are great

    Cons

    No opportunity to come back as full time for interns unless position is open

    Southwest Airlines2019-09-25
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Best job I've ever had, especially after coming back to work after 20 years of raising my kids"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Oakland, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great flexibility, great benefits, fabulous co-hearts who work together to make our jobs fun and our customers happy!

    Cons

    You do start at the bottom and gain more benefits like better flexibility in schedules etc with seniority, but that's to be expected.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for encouraging and allowing new hires to come from different ethnicities, older people coming back to work or after retiring from other jobs to continue their careers.

    Southwest Airlines2019-09-13
  9. "Great company! Horrible management and pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Services Agent in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Southwest Airlines part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This company has great benefits. The work environment is amazing. The job itself and what it calls for you to do is great. I loved coming to work. Excellent work atmosphere at LAX.

    Cons

    The pay is horrible! They lie to you in your interview by saying you will l get a dollar raise once a year but it’s not a dollar it’s a couple cents. They micromanage you and treat you like children. When you have a concern they always cross reference your attendance and management rarely takes your side or does anything about it. Management shows favoritism to the employees that they like.

    Advice to Management

    Do more to make your employees feel appreciated. And not by giving those cheap plastic things as recognition gifts.

    Southwest Airlines2019-09-05
  10. "I Love It here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Oakland, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture. Family orientated. Seamless process from the phone interview to the face to face interview. Great quality of life. Great benefits. Great pay. Great company who cares about their employees

    Cons

    There are no cons for me!

    Southwest Airlines2019-08-31
Found 214 reviews