Cover image for Southwest Airlines
Logo

Southwest Airlines

Engaged Employer

Southwest Airlines

Add a Review

Southwest Airlines Reviews

Updated 1 Feb 2023

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 3,613 of over 4K reviews
4.2
78% Recommend to a Friend
Southwest Airlines CEO Robert E. Jordan
82% Approve of CEO

Found 3,610 of over 4K reviews

4.2
78%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Southwest Airlines CEO Robert E. Jordan
Robert E. Jordan
300 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free flights great benefits work with planes(in 329 reviews)

  • "The flight benefits are amazing(in 246 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work life balance can be challenging at times(in 53 reviews)

  • "Mandatory overtime for ground employees(in 122 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year
      Featured Review

      The Best Company I've Ever Worked For!

      29 Jul 2022 - Learning Developer in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Southwest Airlines practices the element of inclusion more than any other company I've worked with. Everyone has a voice, and the element of respect is unconditionally present at all times. NO WORDS will ever describe how indebted I feel to be apart of this company. It's a priceless feeling!

      Cons

      Honestly, there are no cons currently.

      2 people found this review helpful

      Southwest Airlines Response

      We’re so glad to have you as part of the Southwest Family! Inclusion has always been at the Heart of who we are at Southwest, and we're committed to evolving our hiring, training, and development processes to drive progress and change. By engaging, understanding, and drawing on a variety of perspectives we can continue to celebrate our People and further enrich our Culture. We’re proud you're part of that enrichment!

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      It's the Company Culture For Me

      30 Jan 2023 - Flight Attendant in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The best co-workers you will ever have. Everyone has a story and everyone wants to genuinely help. Any jobs has a couple bad eggs but they don't last long here.

      Cons

      In contract negotiations and waiting for pay increase and a change to the RSV system.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. Join the Southwest Airlines team
      See Our Latest Jobs
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Company Culture and Warrior Spirit

      1 Feb 2023 - Sr. Scrum Master in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      SWA embraces employees like family from day one. You are always encouraged to be all you can be in the SWA company.

      Cons

      Not really a CON but if you are not a people person or like to work in a silo doing your own thing this is not a place for you.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Iife on the ramp

      30 Jan 2023 - Ramp Agent 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits with the airline.

      Cons

      Can work long shifts time to time.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Pay at 5 years

      29 Jan 2023 - Ramp Agent in Fort Lauderdale, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Travel for free and flight benefits health benefits rental car discounts

      Cons

      Work hours can be longer than 8

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Nice company

      27 Jan 2023 - Assistant Controller in Portland, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I enjoyed my work here

      Cons

      It was a great experience

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      awesome

      27 Jan 2023 - Ramp Agent in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      i love everything about southwest

      Cons

      none for now. Do your job and go home.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Company

      27 Jan 2023 - Flight Attendant in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Awesome place to work. Very flexible

      Cons

      Not much money to start off with

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Name Sandeep giri,My dream my job

      26 Jan 2023 -  in Lucknow
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My dreem was found airport jobs and security job and,my study line skeeld and Body works best

      Cons

      No chalanage any jobs to airport job

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    11. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Luv the Luv Airline

      26 Jan 2023 - N A 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      LUV THIS COMPANY. Amazing people, amazing benefits, great culture.

      Cons

      Do not have any cons to share

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 3,610 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Southwest Airlines Reviews FAQs

    Southwest Airlines has an overall rating of 4.2 out of 5, based on over 4,093 reviews left anonymously by employees. 78% of employees would recommend working at Southwest Airlines to a friend and 73% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -1% over the last 12 months.

    According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Southwest Airlines employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.3 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Southwest Airlines. This rating has decreased by -1% over the last 12 months.

    78% of Southwest Airlines employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Southwest Airlines 3.7 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.2 for culture and values and 4.2 for career opportunities.

    Popular Careers with Southwest Airlines Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Southwest Airlines? Share Your Experiences

    Southwest Airlines logo
    or

    Reviews by Job Title

    Southwest Airlines Photos

    + Add Photo
    Southwest Airlines photo of: Without a Heart, it's just a machine.
    Southwest Airlines photo of: Not just a Career, a Calling
    Southwest Airlines photo of: Take your Career to new heights
    Southwest Airlines photo of: A Company with Heart
    Southwest Airlines photo of: A Company with Heart
    Southwest Airlines photo of: A Company with Heart
    Southwest Airlines photo of: Ramp up your Career
    See All Photos

    Southwest Airlines Job Seekers Also Viewed

    United Airlines Logo
    United Airlines

    4.0

    5,796 reviews
    Compare

    Glassdoor has 4,093 Southwest Airlines reviews submitted anonymously by Southwest Airlines employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Southwest Airlines is right for you.