Southwest Airlines Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Southwest Airlines Reviews

Updated 28 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
81%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Southwest Airlines Chairman, President & CEO Gary C. Kelly
Gary C. Kelly
1,296 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Also you will be the first to get mandatory overtime(in 89 reviews)

  • "No cons that aren't true of any corporate job(in 55 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Real Estate Intern in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people. Culture. Take care of employees

    Cons

    Labor Relations needs to support managers

    Advice to Management

    Support Managers

    Southwest Airlines2020-01-27
  2. "Best job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ramp Agent in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits and pay Travel Flexible

    Cons

    Working a lot of hours

    Advice to Management

    Better managers

    Southwest Airlines2020-01-26
  3. "Top place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agile Developer in Las Vegas, NV
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Southwest beloved if you take care of your employees, they will take care of your customers.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up good work

    Southwest Airlines2020-01-24
  4. "A fun, respectful work environment where I am tasted with respect and my skills and personality are truly valued."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Oakland, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Southwest provides a fun working environment with a fair and equitable compensation package

    Cons

    Frequently being away from home

    Southwest Airlines2020-01-24
  5. "Best Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Aircraft Navigator in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture, People, and Profit Sharing

    Cons

    Career advancement and Lack of Innovation

    Southwest Airlines2020-01-23
  6. "Fun internship, not much internal opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Intern 

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time

    Pros

    Great company, awesome perks (free flights),

    Cons

    Low pay for interns, little opportunity to become full time

    Southwest Airlines2020-01-22
  7. "Southwest Airlines is the best!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agile Developer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Amazing company to work for.

    Cons

    Absolutely none to speak of.

    Southwest Airlines2020-01-21
  8. "Great company with Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service & Support in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Southwest Airlines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good atmosphere, good benefits, decent pay with opportunities to advance.

    Cons

    Not a con, but a reality.... Must be ready for a fast-paced environment in a competitive airline industry and occasional situational negativity from customers who may not understand the safety measures SWA takes to keep EVERYONE safe, especially its employees.

    Advice to Management

    The organization moves forward with a Great CEO in Gary C. Kelly after years of leadership and growth with Herb Kelleher. Keep building upon valuing each employee for their contributions at every level that makes SWA the “world’s most loved, most flown, and most profitable airline.”

    Southwest Airlines2020-01-21
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Medical/Dental Benefits 401 match profit sharing travel benefits

    Cons

    stressful at times during weather delay

    Southwest Airlines2020-01-12
  10. "Great Job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ramp Agent in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you love to move around, stay busy and love working outdoors then youll love this Job! Also Since I've had this job I've done plenty of traveling something that I have never done since it is ofcourse free! (If within the U.S)

    Cons

    Apart from your regular schedule you may be asked to stay a few extra hours for mandatory overtime or you may get called in on your day off for mandatory overtime. With more time that you have in the company you'll either see less of that or none at all.

    Southwest Airlines2020-01-14
Found 1849 reviews