Southwest Airlines Reviews

Updated 21 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
82%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Southwest Airlines Chairman, President & CEO Gary C. Kelly
Gary C. Kelly
1,331 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits, great company with a heart(in 219 reviews)

  • "Flight benefits, 9% 401k company match, build your own paycheck(in 171 reviews)

Cons
  • "Also you will be the first to get mandatory overtime(in 94 reviews)

  • "There is no cons for who works hard(in 60 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company with strong work ethics"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Southwest Airlines full-time

    Pros

    A great family of coworkers. Good pay and retirement benefits

    Cons

    Strict regulations and work ethics

    Southwest Airlines2020-05-21
  2. "Better than you know!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Incredible culture, excellent benefits and travel privileges, growth opportunities and rewards for hard work and dedication!

    Cons

    Pay was limited earlier, but got better as I grew.

    Continue reading
    Southwest Airlines2020-05-18
  3. "Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pilot in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great coMpany to work for

    Cons

    Need more locations outside us

    Continue reading
    Southwest Airlines2020-05-17
  4. "Excellent Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Specialist in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great health benefits at this company.

    Cons

    There are no cons working for this company.

    Southwest Airlines2020-05-16
  5. "Good Company Through and Through"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, 401k matching at 9%, Profit Sharing is usually 8-10% of salary, and free flights

    Cons

    Behind the curve on technology, and even though it isn't that bad, work place politics do exist.

    Southwest Airlines2020-05-15
  6. "Last Company You'll Interview For."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Agent in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing Healthcare benefits, Record Profitsharing program along with generous 401k match. Flight benefits, etc.

    Cons

    Working in a Union/ Employer dynamic. Pay to begin with is tough, but top out is great.

    Southwest Airlines2020-05-14
  7. "Ramp Agent"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Southwest Airlines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I work enytime AirPort my last Flaship, Everett, Washington

    Cons

    I like to work for the Airlines because all Services are turned on in ramp areas, to give a bette service

    Continue reading
    Southwest Airlines2020-05-13
  8. "SWA Family"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time

    Pros

    great culture, awesome benefits, interesting work

    Cons

    i have zero cones to share

    Southwest Airlines2020-05-07
  9. "Don’t Believe The Hype"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ground Operations in Bwi Airport, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent medical benefits. Great ground and airport coworkers. Get paid for doing absolutely nothing.

    Cons

    Pay definitely doesn’t match the responsibilities of the job. Management does A LOT of knit picking. Highly mismanaged company. Company is not proactive at all and instead is reactive. Technology challenged in the worst way. Management is sneaky & dishonest. Company waste a lot of money. Management places greed and deception over EVERYTHING.

    Continue reading
    Southwest Airlines2020-05-18
  10. "Flight attendant"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Dallas, TX

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time

    Pros

    Great money and travel benefits

    Cons

    Away from home a lot

    Southwest Airlines2020-05-01
Found 1902 reviews