Cover image for Southwest Airlines
Logo

Southwest Airlines

Engaged Employer

Southwest Airlines

Add a Review

Southwest Airlines Reviews

Updated 1 Dec 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 3,506 of over 4K reviews
4.2
80% Recommend to a Friend
Southwest Airlines CEO Robert E. Jordan
86% Approve of CEO

Found 3,504 of over 4K reviews

4.2
80%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Southwest Airlines CEO Robert E. Jordan
Robert E. Jordan
261 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free flights great benefits work with planes(in 329 reviews)

  • "The flight benefits are amazing(in 246 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work life balance can be challenging at times(in 53 reviews)

  • "Mandatory overtime for ground employees(in 122 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year
      Featured Review

      The Best Company I've Ever Worked For!

      29 Jul 2022 - Learning Developer in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Southwest Airlines practices the element of inclusion more than any other company I've worked with. Everyone has a voice, and the element of respect is unconditionally present at all times. NO WORDS will ever describe how indebted I feel to be apart of this company. It's a priceless feeling!

      Cons

      Honestly, there are no cons currently.

      2 people found this review helpful

      Southwest Airlines Response

      We’re so glad to have you as part of the Southwest Family! Inclusion has always been at the Heart of who we are at Southwest, and we're committed to evolving our hiring, training, and development processes to drive progress and change. By engaging, understanding, and drawing on a variety of perspectives we can continue to celebrate our People and further enrich our Culture. We’re proud you're part of that enrichment!

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Amazing Job

      1 Dec 2022 - Customer Service Agent (CSA) 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Schedules Travel amazing benefits Flexible Customer contact Benefits Friendly staffs

      Cons

      Odd schedules Mandatory overtime Union Low pay rate

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. Join the Southwest Airlines team
      See Our Latest Jobs
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Great Company

      30 Nov 2022 - Lead Inspector 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun. Pays well with lots of time off

      Cons

      Seem to react to situations instead of proactive

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Good place to work

      1 Dec 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people great company great pay

      Cons

      Getting too big, loosing culture

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Interviewing

      28 Nov 2022 - School Social Worker 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Quick and very efficient process.

      Cons

      None. I had a great experience.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Best Airline

      28 Nov 2022 - Customer Service Supervisor in Oakland, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flight Benefits for you and your family

      Cons

      You get Mandatory Over Time

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      I love it!

      26 Nov 2022 - Flight Attendant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It’s all about our People 💙❤️💛

      Cons

      Weather disruptions but we can’t control that!

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Awesome Company to work for

      24 Nov 2022 - Systems Engineer Tech Lead in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The benefits are awesome and the people are fantastic to work with.

      Cons

      none, none, none, none, none

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Company

      23 Nov 2022 - Finance Manager in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company culture is amazing - it wins awards for a reason. One of the best in the nation and certainly the best in industry.

      Cons

      No cons come to mind.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    11. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Excellent

      23 Nov 2022 - Ramp Agent 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Travel reliability stable fun exciting

      Cons

      None that I have found.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 3,504 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Southwest Airlines Reviews FAQs

    Southwest Airlines has an overall rating of 4.2 out of 5, based on over 3,974 reviews left anonymously by employees. 80% of employees would recommend working at Southwest Airlines to a friend and 74% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -2% over the last 12 months.

    According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Southwest Airlines employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.3 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Southwest Airlines. This rating has decreased by -1% over the last 12 months.

    80% of Southwest Airlines employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Southwest Airlines 3.7 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.2 for culture and values and 4.1 for career opportunities.

    Popular Careers with Southwest Airlines Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Southwest Airlines? Share Your Experiences

    Southwest Airlines logo
    or

    Reviews by Job Title

    Southwest Airlines Photos

    + Add Photo
    Southwest Airlines photo of: Without a Heart, it's just a machine.
    Southwest Airlines photo of: Not just a Career, a Calling
    Southwest Airlines photo of: Take your Career to new heights
    Southwest Airlines photo of: A Company with Heart
    Southwest Airlines photo of: A Company with Heart
    Southwest Airlines photo of: A Company with Heart
    Southwest Airlines photo of: Ramp up your Career
    See All Photos

    Southwest Airlines Job Seekers Also Viewed

    United Airlines Logo
    United Airlines

    4.1

    5,649 reviews
    Compare

    Glassdoor has 3,974 Southwest Airlines reviews submitted anonymously by Southwest Airlines employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Southwest Airlines is right for you.