SolarWinds Software Developer Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

SolarWinds Software Developer Reviews

Updated 5 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.8
96%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
SolarWinds President, CEO, and Director Kevin B. Thompson
Kevin B. Thompson
10 Ratings
  1. "Great opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Software Developer in Brno
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SolarWinds full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Experienced professionals, flexible working time, stock option plan

    Cons

    Questionable and slow upper management decisions

    SolarWinds2019-08-05
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Engineering Community"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Dundee, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SolarWinds full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    We have a great team here in Dundee, our senior management is great and they care about our future in the company.

    Cons

    The management in Canada and the US do not trust out local management and seem to need to be on every call on every project

    Continue reading
    SolarWinds2018-04-04
  3. "Great Technical People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Software Developer in Chennai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SolarWinds

    Pros

    A company with great technical people

    Cons

    Employees need training in the Networking domain before they can get started

    SolarWinds2017-02-05
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in Brno
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SolarWinds full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * a lot of really talented engineers you can learn from * nice environment * flexible hours * open and direct communication

    Cons

    Sometimes too dynamic - projects can be canceled anytime and priorities change really quickly (probably good for business, but not pleasant for developer)

    SolarWinds2016-12-05
  5. Helpful (9)

    "Solarwinds Now Employes a Misogynistic Bully!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SolarWinds full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Overall a fairly good team. You get free lunches a couple of times a week. Now that they've gotten rid of the old, corrupt LogicNow management things seem to be running much better. Lots of opportunities for advancement in the company.

    Cons

    I won't go into the details here. Go read the Logicnow reviews. The misogynistic bully has made the transition to Solarwinds. However, all is not lost. The bully's supporters in upper management are gone. The other bully supporter will be leaving after the conference in November. So, thankfully, the bully doesn't have much time left. The Solarwinds staff are sharp cookies and they'll figure out the bully's game soon enough. If you worked at Logicnow and you're not in sales or a developer, get the hell out. Otherwise you're just fooling yourself. You can't say you haven't been warned.

    Continue reading
    SolarWinds2016-08-12
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Order Entry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Web Software Developer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SolarWinds full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Friendly environment -Free Lunch 1 day out of the week -Room to grow within the company -Progressive company, socially

    Cons

    -We would work super long hours, especially at end of the month. -The method for entering the orders was outdated -Many errors can happen and you will be blamed for it

    Continue reading
    SolarWinds2016-05-31
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Sr Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in Kraków
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at SolarWinds full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working time flexibility, Fruits, Good location

    Cons

    Chaos Driven by R&D in Brno Rookie management Non market salaries Low code quality -legacy code Maintanace duties US & Czech Management making stupid decision related to products & teams

    Continue reading
    SolarWinds2016-05-15
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Disappointed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SolarWinds full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice work environment. Amazing colleagues. CEO sends out hilarious religious emails on Easter. Ok, maybe this is rather sad...

    Cons

    The lower management repeatedly made promises in order to keep the top performers but hasn't delivered. In retrospective it feels like they kept dangling a carrot in front of my face. I gave the company my best and received only a mediocre reward for my services. The high management of engineering (pre-acquisition, to be fair to the current folks) openly lied in the recent past, repeatedly. And not because telling the truth would compromise a business goal, strategy etc. There is simply no excuse for such behavior!

    Continue reading
    SolarWinds2016-04-19
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Brno
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SolarWinds full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Interesting job where you meet mostly smart and nice colleagues. There is no fixed work time nor timesheets.

    Cons

    The company is going through an acquisition, so the future is rather uncertain. The regular employees do not know much about it. Parking place is very limited, but it is a problem of the whole area.

    Continue reading
    SolarWinds2015-12-04
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Software Developer in Austin, TX
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SolarWinds for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting work, and some great people to work with.

    Cons

    Questionable leadership, focused more on sales and the bottom line than product.

    Continue reading
    SolarWinds2015-10-11
Found 17 reviews