SocialChorus Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

SocialChorus Reviews

Updated 17 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
64%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
SocialChorus Chief Executive Officer Gary Nakamura
Gary Nakamura
12 Ratings
Pros
  • "Rewarded for hard work and able to be yourself(in 9 reviews)

  • "A lot of good people outside of upper management(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "It's a company that's growing and there are some growing pains(in 5 reviews)

  • "Demanding work-life balance is not for those who want a 9-5 job; but that trains you to carve out time for yourself(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Been here 4 years and not going anywhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Current Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SocialChorus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People are amazing Solving a real problem Management listens People own their careers

    Cons

    Most employees are remote, so miss out on some of the camaraderie that local offices may have.

    SocialChorus2020-03-10
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Churn & Burn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SocialChorus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's a source of income.

    Cons

    The culture as a whole at the HQ office in SF is very negative, egotistic, and apathetic. The problem is that they hire whoever they possibly can just to fill the role, creating an environment that is uncomfortable to show up to everyday. - SDRs are also considered the janitorial staff - every week they have to clean the office kitchen (no other SC members have to do this, just SDRs) - SDRs are not allowed to leave their desk (unless they have a meeting, or have to go to the bathroom) - No career growth (they primarily hire externally, rather than promote from within) - No Work / Life / Balance

    SocialChorus2020-03-17
  3. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 

    I have been working at SocialChorus full-time

    Pros

    SC is a good place to work.

    Cons

    There's nothing that comes to mind

    SocialChorus2019-11-25
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Would avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SocialChorus

    Pros

    Some decent honest people at the business

    Cons

    No work/life balance Bad “if you don’t like it leave” attitude mean onus on employees to suck it up. Rather than the business to actually try improving the way people feel. Nobody seemed happy at to work there.

    Continue reading
    SocialChorus2019-10-10
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Pros and cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Development Representative 

    I have been working at SocialChorus full-time

    Pros

    Good company, room for growth

    Cons

    To many changes in management Competitive landscape

    SocialChorus2019-05-29
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Thoughtful and ambitious company and team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SocialChorus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    More thoughtful than a lot of start-ups. Very intentional with moves the business makes and how we approach problems/processes

    Cons

    Seem to struggle with recruiting enough people to fill head count. May need to be more aggressive with candidate pipeline.

    Continue reading
    SocialChorus2019-01-25

    SocialChorus Response

    March 16, 2019Co-Founder

    Thank you for your feedback. Yes, we do need to be thoughtful about how we lead the industry. And, you are right, we must continue to empower and trust our employees as they are the backbone of our company's continued success! We do have many open positions to fuel our rapid growth and, as you know, are committed to be a remote team in order to have the largest pipeline of talent, wherever the talent may be. We look forward to adding many incredible new members to the SC team!

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Incredible leadership, culture and product"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SocialChorus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It all starts with the product. SC has the best engineers developing a solution light years ahead of the competition. The leadership is passionate, exceptionally smart and committed. The culture is collaborative and supportive at every level. Do you best work everyday and you will be rewarded professionally and personally.

    Cons

    SC is a typical late stage start up. Lots of growth and with that comes change. Mistakes will happen and be ready to learn from them and even lead the change. Leave your ego and negativity at home and you will be successful.

    Continue reading
    SocialChorus2018-11-14

    SocialChorus Response

    March 16, 2019Co-Founder

    Thank you for the feedback and for helping us to live our value of We Lead. You are right, it does all start with product and we DO have the best engineers developing a solution that is transforming an industry and making a meaningful impact on employees. As the market leader, we do need to be nimble as we grow quickly! And you are right - our collective passion and culture will continue to unite us as we steer the ship!

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Motto is "Every Worker Matters," but in reality, you don't"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at SocialChorus full-time

    Pros

    Beautiful view of the bridge, snacks are plentiful, lunch on Wednesday, massages on Thursday, commuter benefits

    Cons

    As some of the other reviews mentioned, HR is terrible. They have no idea what they are doing. Only upside of HR is that they are friendly, but that is to make up their lack of skills and abilities. Socialchorus is a communication platform, but there is clearly a communication issue within the company. If the company cannot communicate with other departments, imagine how their platform is. It's interesting that their motto is "every worker matters," but if that was the case, employees would get paid on time or even paid at all, ensure that the benefits are completed when they said it would be completed, ensure every new employee is aware of policies and procedures (by having every new employee read and agree to the terms), etc. With every startup, of course there are ups and downs, but Socialchorus is just one big mess. The cons definitely outweigh the pros. Find yourself another startup that stays true to their word.

    Continue reading
    SocialChorus2018-12-14

    SocialChorus Response

    January 4, 2019Co-Founder

    Thank you so much for your feedback. We completely agree that an investment in employees is critical. We strive to provide an incredible employee experience for every member of the SocialChorus team and are hopeful that our value of ‘we succeed together’ is present from day one. As you know, we are leading an exciting industry and growing very quickly – we have increased the size of the team by 50% this year. With this rapid growth, some bumps in the road are inevitable and we address them immediately. We have done our best to ensure that we hire the best and retain the best as everyone at SocialChorus is held accountable for the work they do and are compensated as such. We work hard to deliver a top-notch employee experience that spans on-boarding, training and resources for new hires. We are not perfect, and do not profess to be. If you would be willing to share specific feedback with me, I would be very open to a conversation with you. Thank you for helping us to get better.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (5)

    "A Great Startup with real focus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SocialChorus full-time

    Pros

    Moving fast, with an amazing product

    Cons

    If you understand how a small growing company works, then you're good. Change is everyday. It's whatever works to get to where we need to go. If you're not the kind of person who can manage change, then it's not for you.

    SocialChorus2018-10-04

    SocialChorus Response

    March 16, 2019Co-Founder

    Thank you for your feedback! Indeed we DO have an amazing product. Leading the industry does require a lot of innovation at a rapid pace, and we're thrilled to have you and to be growing our team!

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (14)

    "Watch your back"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SocialChorus full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Tons of remote work opportunities Little micromanagement Interesting industry

    Cons

    HR will withhold feedback, thus robbing you of improvement opportunities, until it's too late People smile to your face as they stab you in the back, then get promoted Zero collaboration, everyone does what they think the product should be No desire to actually push clients Leadership team loves to play favorites CEO loves to tell the home office that they're B players and that he only pays for snacks because he has to Founder loves explicit lyrics rap music and frequently exposes company to it without consequences Leadership is tone deaf when it comes to morale or EQ

    Continue reading
    SocialChorus2018-09-25

    SocialChorus Response

    January 4, 2019Co-Founder

    Thank you so much for your feedback. We agree that consistent feedback is critical to supporting our employees in their career at SocialChorus and beyond. We have implemented a formal review and feedback process so every employee knows their strengths and where they can improve. In addition to just providing feedback, we are very interested in the professional development of every employee. Every employee has an allotted amount of money every year to spend how she/he wants to pursue specific professional development. This, of course, is on top of the training and coaching we offer from industry experts like Decker and Stoa Partners. We are deeply committed to partnership and collaboration – not only with our customers (our longest standing customer has been with us for 8 years!) – but within our teams. We invest in team collaboration starting with our leadership team, then cross-functionally, then within each team, and company-wide. One of our core values is ‘we succeed together’ and I am proud of the many ways I see these values lived every day. If you would be willing to share additional feedback with me, I would be happy to have a conversation. Thank you for helping us to be better.

    Continue reading
Found 71 reviews